WAC 182-511-1150

Effective December 1, 2011

WAC 182-511-1150 Healthcare for workers with disabilities (HWD) -- Disability requirements.

This section describes the disability requirements for the two groups of individuals that may qualify for the healthcare for workers with disabilities (HWD) program.  

  1. To qualify for the HWD program, a person must meet the requirements of the Social Security Act in section 1902 (a) (10) (A) (ii):
    1. (XV) for the basic coverage group (BCG); or
    2. (XVI) for the medical improvement group (MIG).
  2. The BCG consists of individuals who:
    1. Meet federal disability requirements for the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) program; or
    2. Are determined by the division of disability determination services (DDDS) to meet federal disability requirements for the HWD program.
  3. The MIG consists of individuals who:
    1. Were previously eligible and approved for the HWD program as a member of the BCG; and
    2. Are determined by DDDS to have a medically improved disability. The term "medically improved disability" refers to the particular status granted to persons described in subsection (1) (b).
  4. When completing a disability determination for the HWD program, DDDS will not deny disability status because of employment.

This is a reprint of the official rule as published by the Office of the Code Reviser. If there are previous versions of this rule, they can be found using the Legislative Search page.