Health & Safety

Apple Health Core Connections (AHCC)

Automatic Enrollment into Apple Health Core Connections Started April 1, 2016

In 2013, the Washington State Legislature directed the Health Care Authority (HCA) to "…transfer children receiving medical care provided through fee-for-service to medical care provided through managed care."* Through a competitive bidding process, HCA selected Coordinated Care of Washington as the successful bidder to operate a single managed care plan that will provide physical and behavioral health care services to:

  • Children and youth in the placement and care authority of DSHS
  • Youth participating in Extended Foster Care up to age 21
  • Youth who age out of foster care up to age 26
  • Children and youth in the Adoption Support program up to age 21

Note: Children in the care and custody of a federally recognized tribe in Washington State are not automatically enrolled into AHCC; however these children may choose to enroll in Coordinated Care, another Apple Health managed care plan, or remain fee-for-service.
*http://leap.leg.wa.gov/leap/budget/lbns/1315Omni5034-S.SL.pdf

Children Missing from Care

Find a Medicaid Provider

The Medicaid Purchasing Agency (MPA)and ProviderOne has a website for caregivers who need to locate a Medicaid provider for the children placed in their home. Just enter the town/county/clinic name and enter search. You will also be able to search by specialty. Go to the website to find a provider...

CHILD Profile

  • CHILD Profile is Washington State's Health Promotion and Immunization Registry system. The system helps ensure Washington's kids get the preventive health care they need.
  • The CHILD Profile website has links to age specific health and developmental materials. These materials can be printed and shared with foster parents and caregivers.

Have You Heard About EPSDT/Well-Child Exams?

Children and youth may go to the doctor whenever there is a need or they are sick. However, taking the child/youth to the doctor when they are sick is not the same as an EPSDT examination.

What is an EPSDT/Well-Child examination?

The purpose of the EPSDT is to prevent and identify conditions that may interfere with a child/youth's natural growth and development. The EPSDT examination should include:

  • A complete physical examination
  • A current health/developmental history
  • Appropriate vision and hearing tests
  • Developmental and nutritional assessment
  • Substance abuse screening
  • An oral health assessment and referral for dental care for children 1 year of age and older
  • Appropriate lab tests
  • Health education and counseling
  • Immunizations

When does my child/youth need an EPSDT/Well-Child Exam?

Every child/youth in out-of-home placement should receive an EPSDT examination within 30 days of entering any foster or relative placement. Once the child/youth has their first EPSDT within 30 days of entering out-of-home placement, please follow the schedule below:

  • Five examinations between 0 and 12 months of age:
    • 1 month
    • 2 - 3 months
    • 4 - 5 months
    • 6 - 8 months
    • 9 - 11 months
  • Three examinations between 1 and 2 years of life:
    • 12 months
    • 15 months
    • 18 months
  • One examination EVERY year between 3 and 20 years of age

What if I have Questions?

If you have any questions about coverage for medical services including the EPSDT/Well-Being examination, please contact the Fostering Well Being Care Coordination Unit (FWBCCU) at: 1-800-562-3022 ext. 59594

Do you use non-sterile gloves as part of daily care?

If the use of non-sterile gloves is part of the day-to-day care of a child placed in your home, the child's Medicaid benefits will automatically pay for 2 boxes (200 gloves) if you have a prescription from the child's medical provider. 

If the use of non-sterile gloves is part of the day-to-day care of a child placed in your home, the child's Medicaid benefits will automatically pay for 2 boxes (200 gloves) if you have a prescription from the child's medical provider. The child may be eligible for additional boxes of gloves but anything beyond the 2 boxes must have prior-approval from Medicaid.

Discuss the additional need for supplies with your child's medical provider. The medical provider will write a prescription that you can take to the pharmacy or medical supply vendor. Any pharmacy or medical supply vendor who accepts Medicaid will know how to request a prior authorization for any medication, service, or equipment.

If you need additional help contact the Foster Care Medical Team (FCMT):

  1. Dial: 1-800-562-3022 (do not include the extension when you dial this number)
  2. Stay on the line - do not say anything unless you need assistance in another language. (The system is very sensitive, so make sure there is not a lot of noise around you.)
  3. The system will tell you to say, "Dial" if you have an extension.
  4. Since you have an extension, say "Dial".
  5. Next, the system will ask if you are a "client, provider, or other". Do NOT respond to this question; just press "3" on your phone.
  6. The system will say it is transferring you and then ask you to dial the extension number.
  7. The FCMT extension number to enter is 15480.

Videos

Fire Safety for Young Children Learn how to keep young children safe in a fire with Ed Burgado (YouTube 9 min). Part of keeping kids safe is making sure that they know what to do in a fire. This video should be viewed, not only by you, but by the children in your home. It could save their life! En Español

Documents

Links