Individual and Family Services Waiver

The Developmental Disabilities Administration is actively enrolling individuals to the Individual and Family Services Waiver. To request the IFS Waiver, please see the Services Referral and Information Request page.


The intent of the IFS Waiver program is to:

  • Partner with families for children and adults with developmental disabilities who live in the family home;
  • Center on the needs of the person with a developmental disability and the family; and
  • Provide a choice of services and exercise control over the resources available to them.
  • Enroll 6,500 individuals onto the IFS Waiver Program.

Assistant Secretary of DDA Evelyn Perez explains what IFS is in this short YouTube clip.

IFS Waiver Eligibility

We are now enrolling people on the Individual and Family Waiver! If you or a family member is a client of the Developmental Disabilities Administration, you may be eligible to enroll onto the IFS Waiver. To be eligible, individuals must be at least three years old, and living in the same home as a family member, and meet financial and disability eligibility.

IFS Waiver Services

  • Respite Care (Break to the Caregiver)
  • Behavior support and consultation
  • Assistive Technology
  • Community Engagement
  • Speech, Hearing and Language therapy
  • Occupational therapy
  • Physical therapy
  • Environmental accessibility modifications
  • Vehicle modifications
  • Specialized medical equipment and supplies
  • Specialized clothing
  • Therapeutic equipment and supplies
  • Transportation
  • Specialized psychiatric services
  • Staff/Family consultation & training
  • Nurse delegation
  • Skilled nursing
  • Psychosexual evaluation
  • Peer mentoring
  • Person centered planning facilitation
  • Supported parenting service
  • Wellness Education Letter
  • Behavior Health Stabilization Services
    • Behavior support and consultation
    • Specialized psychiatric services

For detailed information about all DDA services, please visit the Informing Families Website.

How to Request IFS Waiver Services

If you have not yet applied to DDA for determination of eligibility please click here to be routed to the DDA eligibility site.  You will need to submit eligibility paperwork before requesting IFS waiver services. If you have applied and been determined eligible for DDA but do not have a Case Resource Manager (CRM), please call the number below corresponding to your county of residence, or see the Service Referral and Information Request Page.

Region 1

Counties: Chelan, Douglas, Ferry, Grant, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens
Toll Free: 1-800-319-7116

Region 1

Counties: Adams, Asotin, Benton, Columbia, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Walla Walla, Whitman, Yakima
Toll Free: 1-866-715-3646

Region 2

Counties: Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, Whatcom
Toll Free: 1-800-567-5582

Region 2

County: King
Toll Free: 1-800-974-4428

Region 3

Counties: Kitsap, Pierce
Toll Free: 1-800-735-6740

Region 3

Counties: Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Skamania, Thurston, Wahkiakum
Toll Free: 1-888-707-1202

If you have a Case Resource Manager assigned to you and you would like to request the IFS waiver Program you may request the program and services through your Case Resource Manager or you may submit a written request. 

Resources and Other Information

Contact Information

For more information about the Individual and Family Services Waiver, contact your case resource manager, local office or the program manager at