Advisory Committee

The volunteer Advisory Committee provides input to DSHS LTC on its duties per Chapter 388-03 WAC, Rules and Regulations for the Certification of DSHS Spoken Language Interpreters and Translators.

Advisory Committee Members:

  1. Cynthia E. Roat, MPH, National Consultant on Language Access in Health Care, representing the general public. cindy.roat@alumni.williams.edu

  2. Katherine Templet, Interpreter Services Program Manager, representing the Health Care Authority. katherine.templet@hca.wa.gov

  3. Connie Stacy, Contract Specialist, representing the Department of Enterprise Services. connie.stacy@des.wa.gov

  4. Karen Jost, Health Services Analysis Program Manager, representing the Department of Labor and Industries. karen.jost@lni.wa.gov

  5. Huan Nguyen, Economic Services Administration, LEP Program Manager, representing the Department of Social and Health Services. nguyehc@dshs.wa.gov

  6. Leroy Mould, Freelance Interpreter, representing interpreters and WFSE/AFSCME. lmouldinterp@comcast.net

  7. Larysa House, Freelance Interpreter, representing interpreters and WFSE/AFSCME. lyalya555@hotmail.com

  8. Milena Calderari-Waldron, Interpreter, representing interpreters and WFSE/AFSCME. milenacw@live.com

  9. Yvonne Simpson, Medical Interpreter Supervisor, Harborview Medical Center - Interpreter Services. simpsony@uw.edu

  10. Megan Parke, Director of Field Services, representing WFSE/AFSCME. meganp@wfse.org

  11. Ubah Warsame, Somali Health Board, representing refugee advocacy organizations. ubahW1@gmail.com

  12. Dr. Nancy Foote, physician, representing physicians. Nancyft52@gmail.com

    • Nancy Foote, MD is a family physician and a certified Spanish medical interpreter. She has working experience in Latin America, Africa, South Asia and the Middle East and with immigrant populations in the US

  13. Dr. Hungling Fu, Manager of the Language Testing and Certification Program, representing the Language Testing and Certification program. FuH@dshs.wa.gov

  14. Jodi McBride, Interpreter Quality Assurance Coordinator, representing the Language Testing and Certification program. jod.mcbride@dshs.wa.gov

Subcommittees:

  • Decertification Request Review Committee (DRRC)

  • Professional Development Committee (PDC)

  • Languages of Lesser Diffusion Committee (LLDC)

Advisory Committee Charter

Meeting Minutes