Advisory Committee

The volunteer Advisory Committee provides input to DSHS LTC on its duties per Chapter 388-03 WAC, Rules and Regulations for the Certification of DSHS Spoken Language Interpreters and Translators.

Advisory Committee Members:

  1. Cynthia E. Roat, MPH, National Consultant on Language Access in Health Care, representing the general public.

  2. Katherine Templet, Interpreter Services Program Manager, representing the Health Care Authority.

  3. LeAnna Sandy, Contract Specialist, representing the Department of Enterprise Services.

  4. Karen Jost, Health Services Analysis Program Manager, representing the Department of Labor and Industries.

  5. Huan Nguyen, Economic Services Administration, LEP Program Manager, representing the Department of Social and Health Services.

  6. Leroy Mould, Freelance Interpreter, representing interpreters and WFSE/AFSCME.

  7. Larysa House, Freelance Interpreter, representing interpreters and WFSE/AFSCME.

  8. Milena Calderari-Waldron, Interpreter, representing interpreters and WFSE/AFSCME.

  9. Yvonne Simpson, Medical Interpreter Supervisor, Harborview Medical Center - Interpreter Services.

  10. Tim Tharp, representing WFSE/AFSCME. 

  11. Ubah Warsame, Somali Health Board, representing refugee advocacy organizations.

  12. Sophia Vackimes, representing interpreters at large.

  13. Yukie, representing refugee/immigrant advocacy organization.

  14. Dr. Hungling Fu, Manager of the Language Testing and Certification Program, representing the Language Testing and Certification program.

  15. Jodi McBride, Interpreter Quality Assurance Coordinator, representing the Language Testing and Certification program.


  • Decertification Request Review Committee (DRRC)

    • Karen Jost, Katherine Templet, Larysa House, Leroy Mould, Tim Tharp, Huan Nguyen, Ubah Warsame, Hungling Fu

  • Professional Development Committee (PDC)

    • Cynthia Roat, Milena Calderari-Waldron, Larysa House, Louise Morehead, Hungling Fu, Jodi McBride

  • Languages of Lesser Diffusion Committee (LLDC)

    • Yvonne Simpson, Ubah Warsame, Katherine Templet, Hungling Fu

Advisory Committee Charter

Meeting Minutes