Informed Choice

At DVR we want to see all of our
customers reach a successful
employment outcome. As a DVR
customer, you make decisions
about your employment goals
and services in partnership with

a DVR counselor. It is important

for you to know your rights

throughout the rehabilitation
process when making these

important decisions.

Other options include submitting
a written request for an exception
to arule

DVR follows rules from the Washington
Administrative Code. You can ask DVR to make
an exception to a rule. By law, there are some
exceptions that DVR is not able to grant.

To ask for an exception to a rule, you can send a
written request to your DVR counselor's supervisor.
You may ask your DVR counselor or another DVR
employee to help you complete a written request.

Your written request should include:

1. A description of the specific rule and the
exception that you are asking for.

2. The reason you are asking for the exception.
3. How long the exception will last.

The DVR supervisor will review the request. They will
respond within 10 business days after they receive
the request. The response will explain the reasons for
approval or denial.

Washington State Department of
Social and Health Services
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
PO Box 45340 - Olympia, WA 98504-5340
1-800-637-5627
Washington Relay: 711
dvrcsr@dshs.wa.gov
www.dshs.wa.gov/dvr

Providing Vocational Rehabilitation Services
Since 1933

State and federal funds are used to deliver DVR services.
The VR program receives approximately 78 percent in federal
funds and 22 percent in state funds. For detailed information

on the dollar amount of federal funds for the program,

please visit https://rsa.ed.gov/fiscal/grant-awards.
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Your Rights as a
DVR Customer




You have options if you disagree
with a decision made by your DVR
counselor

Talk with DVR

Explain the reason you do not agree with your
counselor. Share information you think your
counselor does not have. You may also ask for
assistance from your counselor’s supervisor or the
DVR director, or director’s designee.

Contact the Client Assistance
Program

The Client Assistance Program,

is independent from DVR and
provides information and advocacy
to applicants and customers of DVR.
CAP will help explain your rights
and responsibilities, as well as help
you understand the DVR process.
CAP can also act as your advocate
with DVR. To reach CAP, call or text
206-849-2939. To learn more, Visit
washingtoncap.org or email

Request a fair hearing

You can request a fair hearing any time you do

not agree with a DVR decision that affects the VR
services you receive. You have 45 days from the date
of DVR's decision to request a fair hearing. During

a fair hearing, both you and DVR may present
information, witnesses and documents to support
your individual positions. At your own expense, you
may ask an attorney or another person to represent
you. A judge makes a decision after looking at the
information. The
judge sends a written
decision to you within
30 days of the fair
hearing. The decision
is final. DVR follows
the judge’s decision.

You may request

a fair hearing or
mediation while you
continue to work with
DVR to resolve the
disagreement.

washingtoncap2@gmail.com.

Request formal mediation

Mediation is voluntary. Both individuals must agree
to mediation for it to happen. A mediator meets
with you and your DVR counselor. Both you and
DVR describe the actions taken and the decisions
made about your case. The mediator will try to help
you and DVR reach an agreement. If mediation
does not work, you may still have other appeal
options. To learn more or to request mediation, talk
to your DVR counselor.

| It is important for you to
know your rights throughout

the rehabilitation process. |

To request a fair hearing, mail a written request
within 45 days of DVR's decision to:

Washington State Office of Administrative
Hearings

PO Box 42488

Olympia, WA 98504-2488

Please include:

- Your name, address
and telephone
number.

- The name of the
DSHS program
that the fair
hearing involves
(such as DVR).

- An explanation of why you
disagree with the decision.

- Other information supporting your opinion
(optional).

The fair hearing happens within 60 days after OAH
receives your request.

Note: The services you and DVR agree about

will continue while your fair hearing request is
under review. Services will not continue if you

are receiving them because you shared false
information or you have done something illegal to
get VR services.

If you request a fair hearing, you may still resolve
the issue on your own with DVR. If you reach an
agreement with DVR before the hearing, you must
let OAH know to cancel. Any DVR employee can
provide you with more information, including
how to reach OAH.



