
Private Duty Nursing (PDN) Frequently Asked Questions 

What is the process to become a Private Duty Nurse? Contact the Program Manager, 
privatedutynursing@dshs.wa.gov  and express interest in obtaining a PDN contract. You will then sign 
up for the PDN Pre-Contract Education Class, Private Duty Nursing Program: Classes for all PDN 
Applicants | DSHS (wa.gov). After you have taken the class and been given the quiz, you will request 
your application to contract along with a certificate of completion for attending the mandatory class. 
Once you receive the application packet and complete all necessary forms you can email, fax or mail 
documents to the Program Manager. Program manager will determine if all requirements have been 
met and forward application to contracting department. The contracting department will finalize the 
process and email the new contract to the applicant. 

*Please note that we do ask for up to three weeks to process your application. If there are items that 
are missing, then these will need to be corrected before your application is processed. We also ask for 
you to send all required documents at one time to ease processing.  

What are the requirements to becoming a PDN? You must be an RN or LPN with a valid, unrestricted 
license in the state of Washington and have at least 1 year of nursing experience. LPNs must have 
written documentation from an RN, with a PDN contract that agrees to provide supervision. You must 
submit to a background check and not have any disqualifying convictions. You must have professional 
liability insurance and a business license. We also award PDN contracts to Adult Family Homes and 
Home Health Agencies. However, all contracts require that an RN oversee the PDN contract.  

What types of health conditions can I expect to care for as a private duty nurse? PDN clients are at 
least 18 years of age or older and require in-home skilled nursing care. Clients typically require the 
assistance of a ventilator, have a tracheostomy and require frequent suctioning. They may also have a g-
tube for medication administration and nutrition. These clients require at least 4 hours of continuous 
nursing care per day. 

What is my work schedule? Each client has different needs and is authorized for the number of hours 
appropriate to meet their needs. The client you are working with will determine your work schedule. A 
PDN client may receive between 4 to 16 hours of PDN services per day depending on assessed needs.  

How many hours can I work per week? We always encourage a healthy work-life balance but there is no 
limit on the number of hours PDNs can work per week. There is a daily limit of no more than 16 hours 
per day for safety reasons.  

Can you help me find a new client? Due to privacy policies, we cannot share client information. The PDN 
program manager can help put you in contact with field staff to let them know you are looking for a PDN 
client. Please use the HCS Office Locator to locate your local field staff. All individual PDN contractors 
can opt in and be listed on the PDN website for clients to view. 
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How much do I get paid? The Washington Legislature determines the hourly rate for PDNs. The current 
rate can be found on the Rates link on the PDN website. If you would like to discuss pay increases, 
please reach out to your local representative about the process.  

Am I eligible for any benefits? Contracted providers do not receive any benefits. Vacation and other 
leave time should be negotiated directly with the client you are serving. Please note that you are eligible 
for holiday pay for the following days:  

(1) The first day of January (New Year's Day); 
(2) The third Monday of January (Martin Luther King, Jr.'s birthday); 
(3) The third Monday of February (Presidents' Day); 
(4) The last Monday of May (Memorial Day); 
(5) The nineteenth day of June (Juneteenth); 
(6) The fourth day of July (Independence Day); 
(7) The first Monday in September (Labor Day); 
(8) The eleventh day of November (Veterans Day); 
(9) The fourth Thursday in November (Thanksgiving Day); 
(10) The Friday immediately following the fourth Thursday in November (Native American Heritage Day); 
and 
(11) The twenty-fifth day of December (Christmas Day). 
 
Am I responsible for anything other than providing care to the client I serve? Yes, there are several 
requirements stated within the contract. Requirements that are frequently overlooked are creating care 
plans, preparing a disaster plan and daily documentation etc. Please consult the Program Manager for 
further details.  

I’m interested in additional training, where can I find this? There are many in person and online classes 
available. You may also visit the WABON and the Washington State DOH for additional information. You 
may also reach out to the PDN PM for additional resources.  

Also, quarterly PDN PM holds contractor meetings, and these are a great opportunity to learn and 
connect with other PDN providers and find out if any updates. It is important to be aware of all updates. 
You can always find these located on the PDN website under the contractor meetings hyperlink.  

I am an AFH owner and an RN who lives in my home. Can I provide 24 hours of nursing if I have only 1 
PDN client? No. The daily limit for one PDN provider is 16 hours per day. This is due to safety reasons. 
You must hire additional RN’s or LPNs to work and cover the needs of the PDN client. PDN AFH’s receive 
an increased daily all-inclusive rate so they can provide all care needed for a PDN client 24 hours a day.  

I am PDN nurse, and my client asks if I can work less hours today but move my hours to another day 
later in the week. Is this allowed? PDN clients are assessed and may receive between 4 to 16 hours PDN 
hours per day. If a client chooses to not receive PDN nursing services on a particular day, these hours 
cannot be moved and added to another day.  

*** Always be familiar with PDN WACs, contract requirements and special terms and conditions. If you 
have any questions about this, please reach out to the PDN PM. It is your responsibility to ensure that 
you understand and follow.  

 


