
 

RULE-MAKING ORDER CR-103P (May 2009) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Department of Social and Health Services, Aging and Long-Term 
Support Administration Permanent Rule Only 

Effective date of rule: 
 Permanent Rules 

 31 days after filing.  
 Other (specify)              (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be 

stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 
   Yes          No          If Yes, explain:  

Purpose:    
 
WAC 388-96-381 will increase the time a facility has to return resident funds from one week to thirty days and will align with a 

similar WAC in chapter 388-97 WAC.  
WAC 388-96-738 and WAC 388-96-739 will update references in the WAC to minimum data set (MDS) 3.0 to reflect the 

currently used terminology and clarify the department’s position on who will be counted as a Medicaid resident.  
WAC 388-96-718 will update the language to allow for notifications to be sent via email in addition to USPS mail. 
WAC 388-96-585 will address unallowable expenses on the Nursing Facility cost reports used to determine the Nursing 

Facility Medicaid Rates. Currently, travel expenses outside of Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and British Columbia are 
generally not allowed. This would remove that restriction to allow travel expenses on the cost reports.  

WAC 388-96-809 will allow a security held pursuant to this section to be released to the contractor if the new contractor 
assumes all liability. Previously, it was not clear what the proper and allowed course was in these situations.  

 
Citation of existing rules affected by this order: 
    Repealed: None 
    Amended: WAC 388-96-381, WAC 388-96-738, WAC 388-96-739, WAC 388-96-718, WAC 388-96-585, WAC 388-96-809 
    Suspended: None 

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 74.46.431(9) 

Other authority:  

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR    15-05-017              on   02/06/15          (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version:  None 

 

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting:   

 Name:      
Address:      

phone  (   )                  
fax       (   )                  
e-mail                        
 
 
 Date adopted: 

 April 6, 2015 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 

 

NAME (TYPE OR PRINT) 
Katherine Vasquez 

SIGNATURE 

 

TITLE 
DSHS Rules Coordinator 

(COMPLETE REVERSE SIDE)



 

Note:    If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category.   

 
The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

 
Federal statute:  New        Amended        Repealed        

Federal rules or standards:  New        Amended        Repealed        

Recently enacted state statutes:  New        Amended 6  Repealed        

           

           

 
 
 
The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 
 

  New        Amended        Repealed        

 
 
 
 
 
The number of sections adopted in the agency’s own initiative: 
 

  New        Amended        Repealed        

 
 
 
 
 
The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 
 

  New        Amended        Repealed        

 
 
 
 
The number of sections adopted using: 
 

Negotiated rule making:  New        Amended        Repealed        

Pilot rule making:  New        Amended        Repealed        

Other alternative rule making:  New        Amended 6  Repealed        

 
 
 
 
 
 

 


