Adult Family Home (AFH) Information Sheet

Orientation Class 


What is the prospective provider orientation class? 
· The adult family home orientation class provides information to help you decide if you are ready and able to operate an adult family home.
· The adult family home provider will follow all Washington State laws and applicable federal statutes.  The provider is responsible to follow all rules reflected in Washington Administrative Code.
Who needs to attend the orientation class? 
see WAC 388-76-10060
Orientation is required by the adult family home regulation WAC 388-76-10060 which says:

· If you did not have a adult family home license within the last twelve months, you must attend orientation class before completing an application; and

· If you did not get an adult family home license within 12 months of turning in your application, you must take orientation again.

What information is presented/discussed in orientation class?  
· What it is like to operate an adult family home;

· The laws and regulations that apply to operating an adult family home;

· Your responsibility to meet the needs of residents in your home;

· The potential impact on you and your family; 

· Your home is now the residents’ home where they have the right to make their own personal decisions;
· Operating an adult family home is a 24-hour business that requires hard work; and
· You are responsible to have dependable, trained staff to care for your residents when you are not in the home or need time off.

AFH on-line orientation class registration:

http://www.adsa.dshs.wa.gov/professional/afh.htm
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