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2016 Fact Sheet: Programs and Initiatives    

Title: Psychiatric Boarding and Single Bed Certification 

Overview  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

In 2014, The Supreme Court of the state of Washington held in the case of 
D.W. et al vs. the Department of Social and Health Services and Pierce County 
that it is illegal to detain individuals under the Involuntary Treatment Act (ITA) if 
adequate evaluation and individualized treatment is not provided.  This ruling 
held that people cannot held under the ITA solely because there is not an 
evaluation and treatment bed available. 
 
Psychiatric boarding happens when a psychiatric patient waits at a hospital for 
an available bed at an Evaluation and Treatment (E&T) facility.  
 
RCW 71.05 permits people to be detained only to E&T facilities certified by the 
state. There is a process for temporary certification of a medical facility when 
the needed services are not available. The facility must attest to their ability to 
provide or arrange for evaluation and individualized treatment during an episode 
of psychiatric boarding if the person is being held on an involuntary basis.  
 
Following the court’s decision, the Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery 
(DBHR) revised and clarified the single bed certification procedures, began 
tracking data specific to inpatient authorizations and certifications, and  is taking 
steps to promote additional evaluation and treatment capacity and improve 
detention processes across the state. 

Eligibility 
Requirements 
 
 

N/A 
 

Authority  
 
 

RCW 71.24 
RCW 71.05 
RCW 71.34 
Single Bed Certifications are authorized as described in WAC 388-865-0500.  

Budget 
 

As a result of the D.W. decision, proviso funding for Single Bed Certification 
related hospitalization activities is: GF-S - $16,631,000 and GF-F - $10,509,000 

 

Rates 
 

Rates for persons under Single Bed Certification vary by facility according to 
their inpatient service rate—ranging from roughly $712 dollars per day to $1800 
dollars or more per day. 

http://www.dshs.wa.gov/bhsia
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Numbers served  In the past year, an average of 127 people were served daily on a single bed 
certification. 

Partners DBHR has ongoing partnership with the Washington State Hospital Association, 
Washington Association of Designated Mental Health Professionals, 
Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys, and Regional Support 
Networks through the Best Practices Workgroup.   

Oversight  
 
 
 

Quality oversight is accomplished through monthly review and reporting 
conducted by DBHR .  The Washington State Institute for Public Policy provides 
annual reports on ITA investigations, detentions and the E&T bed capacity. 
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