
 

 
 

Identification and Criminal History Section 
PO Box 42633, Olympia WA  98504-2633 

 

REQUEST FOR CRIMINAL HISTORY INFORMATION 
CHILD/ADULT ABUSE INFORMATION ACT 

RCW 43.43.830 THROUGH 43.43.845 
(Instructions on Reverse Side) 

 

 REQUESTING AGENCY/ADDRESS   PURPOSE 
         Check appropriate box 
 Agency   
        
 Attn   Educational School District (ESD)/School District 

 Volunteer – no fee 

         
 Address  

 Non-Profit Business/Organization – no fee 
 (Excluding Schools & ESD’s) 

          Profit Business/Organization - $35 

 City/State/Zip  
 I certify this request is made pursuant to and for the purpose indicated.    Adoptive Parent - $35 

    Fees:  Make payable to Washington State Patrol by check,  
money order, or business account. 

  Authorized Signature  Date    

         (     )           

  

Title 

 

Area Code/Phone Number 

  
Notary letters certifying the results are available 
upon request.  There is an additional $5.00 
processing fee per notary seal.   
_______  Notarized Letter(s) 

 

 APPLICANT OF INQUIRY  (Please provide as much information as possible; name and date of birth are mandatory.) 

 Applicant’s Name:                    

 Last First Middle 

 Alias/Maiden Name(s):        
  

 Date of Birth:        Sex:        Race:        
 Month/Day/Year 

 Social Security Number:        Driver's Lic. Number/State:       /        
       (optional) 

Secondary dissemination of this criminal history record information response is prohibited unless in compliance with statute. 
 

 WASHINGTON STATE PATROL IDENTIFICATION & CRIMINAL HISTORY SECTION 
  WSP Use Only  

   
 

As of this date, the applicant named below has no record 
pursuant to RCW 43.43.830 through 43.43.845.   

 

          

 Requesting Agency    
     

 Applicant’s Signature    
        Applicant Right Thumb Print (Optional)  

 Applicant’s Name    
          
 Address    
          

   
    

City/State/Zip 
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MAIL COMPLETED FORM TO: 
 

WASHINGTON STATE PATROL 
IDENTIFICATION AND CRIMINAL HISTORY SECTION 

PO BOX 42633 
OLYMPIA WA 98504-2633 

 
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, CONTACT THE WASHINGTON STATE PATROL AT: 

PHONE:  (360) 534-2000 
E-MAIL:  crimhis@wsp.wa.gov 

WSP WEB SITE:  http://www.wsp.wa.gov  
 

Washington State conviction criminal history record information is available on the Internet  
using WATCH (Washington Access to Criminal History).  You may use an account established by mail 

or conduct a search using a credit card (Discover, American Express, Visa, or MasterCard).   
An account application can be printed by accessing WATCH “HELP” files on the Internet.   

A $10 fee is charged for each name and date of birth search, regardless of the outcome.   
WATCH  WEB SITE:  https://watch.wsp.wa.gov 

 

 
CHILD/ADULT ABUSE RECORD SEARCH GUIDELINES 

 
Refer to Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 43.43.830-43.43.845 for complete information.  Child/Adult Abuse 
Information Act background checks may be conducted by Washington State businesses, organizations, or 
individuals.  Other states must conduct searches under the Criminal Records Privacy Act, RCW 10.97. 
 
1. Searches can be conducted only on prospective employees, volunteers, or adoptive parents.  

Background checks can be conducted on prospective employees, volunteers, or adoptive parents who will or 
may have unsupervised access to children under sixteen years of age, developmentally disabled persons, or 
vulnerable adults.  The background check is for initial employment or engagement decisions only.   
Background checks on current employees or volunteers should be done through the Criminal Records 
Privacy Act, RCW 10.97 

 
 
2. Applicants must be notified an inquiry may be made. 

A business or organization shall not make an inquiry to the Washington State Patrol unless the business or 
organization has notified the applicant, who may be offered a position as an employee or volunteer that an 
inquiry may be made. 
 

3. A business or organization must prepare a disclosure statement to be signed by the applicant before a 
background check may be conducted. 
A business or organization shall require each applicant to disclose whether the applicant has been:  
 
(a) convicted of any crime;  
(b)  had findings made against him or her in any civil adjudicative proceeding; 
(c)  has both a conviction and findings made against him or her. 
 

4. Applicants must be notified of the response. 
The requesting agency shall notify the applicant of the Washington State Patrol’s response within ten days after 
receipt.  The employer shall provide a copy of the response to the applicant and shall notify the applicant of 
such availability. 

 
 
 

NOTE:   The requested record information is furnished solely on the basis of  
name and/or description similarity with the subject of your inquiry.  Positive  

identification or non-identification can only be effected upon receipt of fingerprints. 
 

http://www.wsp.wa.gov

	RESET: 
	Button2: 
	Text1: 
	Text4: 
	Text2: 
	Text3: 
	Check Box1: Off
	Check Box2: Off
	Check Box3: Off
	Check Box4: Off
	Text5: 
	Text9: 
	Text6: 
	Text7: 
	Text8: 
	Text19: 
	Text10: 
	Text11: 
	Text12: 
	Text13: 
	Text14: 
	Text15: 
	Text16: 
	Text17: 
	Text18: 
	Text20: 
	Text23: 
	Text21: 
	Text22: 


