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DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES ADMINISTRATION 
Olympia, Washington 

 
 
TITLE: ENHANCED RESPITE SERVICES FOR CHILDREN POLICY 4.03 
 
 
Authority: Title 71A RCW   Developmental Disabilities 

Chapter 388-825 WAC Developmental Disabilities Administration Service 
Rules 

Chapter 388-832 WAC  Individual and Family Services Program 
Chapter 388-845 WAC  Home and Community Based Services Waivers 

 
 
Reference: DDA Policy 5.19 Positive Behavior Support for Children and Youth 

DDA Policy 5.20 Restrictive Procedures and Physical Interventions for 
Children and Youth 

 
BACKGROUND 
 
RCW 71A.20.010 prohibits the admission of children under the age of 16 years to a Residential 
Habilitation Center effective July 1, 2012. Additionally, no person under the age of 21 years may 
be admitted unless there are no appropriate service options available in the community to meet 
the needs of the individual.  
 
Legislation related to the closure downsizing, or both, of some RHCs (2SSB 5459) provided new 
resources to develop community capacity for responding to the need for stabilization respite. As 
part of the 2015 legislative Session, the Washington State Legislature passed ESSB 6052 
appropriating funds to develop and implement eight enhanced stabilization respite beds across 
the state for children. Funding was allocated for an additional five beds during the 2022 
legislative session.  
 
PURPOSE 
 
This policy establishes a referral process for enhanced respite services available to 
Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA) enrolled clients. 
 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=71A
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=388-825
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=388-832
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=388-845
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/DDA/dda/documents/policy/policy5.19.pdf
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/DDA/dda/documents/policy/policy5.20.pdf
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SCOPE 
 
This policy applies to DDA case resource managers, and licensed staffed residential providers 
contracted to deliver enhanced respite services. 
 
DEFINITIONS 
 
CARE means the comprehensive assessment and reporting evaluation tool. 
 
Case resource manager means the DDA case resource manager assigned to a child or youth. 
 
Child or Youth means a person age 17 or younger, or a person between ages 18 and 20 who is 
enrolled in school or vocational program. 
 
Children’s Stabilization Behavior Intervention Plan is a DSHS form that enhanced respite provider 
complete and gives to the primary caregiver and legal representative upon discharge. The form 
includes: 
 

• Identified Target Behaviors 
• Instructions and Interventions for Target Behaviors and Replacement Behaviors  

 
Children’s Stabilization Habilitation Plan is a DSHS form that the enhanced respite provider 
completes and gives to the primary caregiver and legal representative upon discharge. The form 
includes: 

 
• The child or youth’s observed strengths; 
• Description of identified target behavior, including frequency and severity;  
• Hypothesis of behavior function and successful interventions; and 
• Habilitative goals identified by the primary caregiver in the collaboration with the 

provider.   
 
DDA means the Developmental Disabilities Administration within the Department of Social and 
Health Services. 
 
DDA Assessment refers to the standardized assessment tool under Chapter 388-828 WAC, used 
by DDA to measure the support needs of a person with a developmental disability. 
 
DCYF means the Department of Children, Youth, and Families.  
 
Developmentally based approaches means structured interventions that focus on each child or 
youth’s individual differences and build healthy foundations of emotional, social, and intellectual 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-828


 
TITLE: ENHANCED RESPITE SERVICES FOR CHILDREN 4.03 
 
 

CHAPTER 4 
DDA POLICY MANUAL PAGE 3 OF 7 ISSUED 08/2024 

 

development by helping all providers, caregivers, and therapists to tailor the approach to the 
child or youth’s unique developmental profile. 
 
Enhanced respite services means stabilization support provided in a DDA-contracted and 
licensed staffed residential setting for DDA-enrolled children and youth and includes 
consultation from a licensed professional who provides data about the child’s identified target 
behaviors and recommends interventions to address those behaviors successfully while offering 
a short-term break in caregiving. 
 
Enhanced Respite Services Committee includes the regional out-of-home services coordinators, 
children’s regional resource managers, and DDA HQ enhanced respite coordinator or designee.   
 
Habilitative goals means the identified goals intended to assist the client to acquire, retain, and 
improve upon self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills. 
 
Habilitation means services that assist persons with developmental disabilities to acquire, retain, 
and improve upon the self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills necessary to reside successfully 
in home and community-based settings. 
 
Individualized team means the group of people who work together to provide formal and 
informal supports to a client. A typical team includes the client, the client's primary caregiver and 
legal representative, ERS staff, the client’s case resource manager, managed care organization 
care coordinators, and any other service providers working with the client and the client’s 
primary caregiver. 
 
Legal representative means a parent of a client if the client is under age 18 and parental rights 
have not been terminated or revoked, a court-appointed guardian if a decision is within the 
scope of the guardianship order, or any other person authorized by law to act for the client. 
 
License means a permit issued by the Department of Children Youth and Families affirming that a 
home or facility meets the minimum licensing requirements. 
 
Licensing Division means the division in DCYF responsible for licensing group care and foster care 
facilities and responding to allegations of abuse or neglect in such facilities. 
 
Primary caregiver means the client’s parent, legal guardian, or the person who provides the 
majority of the client’s care and supervision and lives with the client. 
 
Provider means the contracted provider of Enhanced Respite Services.  
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Residential Habilitation Center or RHC means a state-operated facility certified to provide 
Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID) services, Nursing 
Facility level of care, or both, for people with developmental disabilities. 
 
Respite care means short-term care for DDA clients to provide relief for people who normally 
provide that care. 
 
Target behavior means action by the child or youth that constitutes a threat to their health and 
safety, the health and safety of others in the environment, a persistent pattern of behaviors that 
inhibit their functioning in public places and integration with the community. These behaviors 
may have been present for long periods of time or have manifested as an acute onset and are 
identified by the provider that needs to be modified or replaced. 
 
POLICY 
 
A. Enhanced respite services are intended to: 

 
1. Enable primary caregivers to participate in the observation and development of 

therapeutic teaching and training techniques that may help support their child 
upon their return home. 

 
2. Deliver developmentally appropriate services to a child in a licensed community-

based setting. 
 

3. Collect data using DSHS 15-595, Children’s Stabilization Behavior Intervention 
Plan, about a child’s target behaviors to develop a baseline, which may be used in 
the development of a functional behavioral assessment (FBA). 
 

4. Enable primary caregivers to participate in individualized team meetings 
(including intake, mid-stay, and discharge meetings) with the licensed provider 
and other team members to review progress towards habilitative goals.   
 

5. Identify any unmet health and welfare needs and explore benefits available 
through their private insurance, Apple Health (Medicaid), or both.  
 

6. Give primary caregivers a short-term break in caregiving for their child. 
 

B. A child may access enhanced respite services for 30 consecutive days total in a calendar 
year. 
 

C. During the school year, the CRM must complete DSHS 10-701, Enhanced Respite Services 
School Notification, to support the primary caregivers or legal representative in notifying 

https://www.dshs.wa.gov/office-of-the-secretary/forms
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/office-of-the-secretary/forms
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their child’s school that they will be using ERS outside of the primary caregiver’s home. 
This notification should include a request that the absence be excused in addition to 
discussing the possibility that school services be provided during the course of their 
child’s stay. CRM must provide copy of form to the primary caregiver and upload to RMT. 

 

D. The facility license will determine any age and gender limitations for children accessing 
ERS. 
 

E. Enhanced respite services are dependent upon availability and may be postponed due to 
DCYF Licensing Division (LD) stop placement actions, available staffing levels, or emergent 
events. 
 

F. If the child or youth is on a home and community-based services waiver before accessing 
enhanced respite services, the child or youth may use their waiver services while 
receiving respite, if appropriate. 

 
PROCEDURES 
 
A. To be eligible for enhanced respite services, a child or youth must meet criteria in WAC 

388-825-206. 
 

B. When prioritizing requests for a child or youth seeking enhanced respite services, the 
Enhanced Respite Services Committee considers the following factors: 
 
1. Whether a child or youth is eligible for the service; 

 
2. Experiences a school placement disruption, a shortened school day, or both, due 

to their behavior; 
 

3. Has a family emergency; 
 

4. Is awake at night, resulting in lack of adequate sleep for the primary caregivers; or  
 

5. Has behaviors or medical needs that affect daily function and impact stability in 
the home. 

 
C. Referral Process  

 
1. The CRM must follow the referral process outlined in DDA Policy 4.01, One 

Referral, and submit the following to the regional designee: 
 
a. DSHS 15-600, Respite, Stabilization, and RHC Support Referral;  

 

https://www.dshs.wa.gov/dda/policies-and-rules/policy-manual
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/office-of-the-secretary/forms
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b.  DSHS 14-012, Consent; 
 
c. The client’s current DDA assessment details and summary;  
 
d. Individualized education plan; and 
 
e.  Any additional information that may be available, such as a psychiatric 

evaluation, hospital discharge paperwork, current medication list, 
documentation from previous respite stays or other stabilization services, 
etc. 

 
2. The regional designee must submit the completed packet to the Enhanced 

Respite Services Committee via the Enhanced Respite Services for Children 
SharePoint for review and approval of services. 
 

3. To ensure the health and welfare of the child or youth accessing enhanced respite 
services, as well as other clients living in the home, designated regional staff must 
work with the contracted agency provider to identify additional, necessary 
safeguards and ensure integrated settings requirements are met.  

 
4. The provider determines whether they can safely meet the youth’s needs and 

that the youth does not pose a risk to the health or safety of themselves, ERS 
staff, or other clients supported by the provider. 

 
5. If before or during the receipt of enhanced respite services, the child or youth 

requires a procedure or intervention that is defined as restrictive under DDA 
Policy 5.19, Positive Behavior Support for Children and Youth, or DDA Policy 5.20, 
Restrictive Procedures for Children and Youth, the CRM must work with the 
contracted agency provider to ensure compliance with DCYF LD regulations and 
DDA policy.  

 
6. The CRM may, if applicable, complete a DSHS 10-427, School District 

Communication, to communicate with the child or youth’s school district. The 
CRM must retain a copy of the completed form in the client record. 

 
7. If a child’s planned enhanced respite services are postponed for any reason, the 

regional designee must notify the CRM and the primary caregiver and legal 
representative to facilitate rescheduling of the service. 
 

8. If the request is denied, the CRM must work with the primary caregiver and legal 
representative to identify alternative options that may be available. 

 

http://forms.dshs.wa.lcl/
https://stateofwa.sharepoint.com/sites/DSHS-DDA-REDP-ERSC/SitePages/Home.aspx
https://stateofwa.sharepoint.com/sites/DSHS-DDA-REDP-ERSC/SitePages/Home.aspx
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/DDA/dda/documents/policy/policy5.19.pdf
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/DDA/dda/documents/policy/policy5.19.pdf
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/DDA/dda/documents/policy/policy5.20.pdf
http://forms.dshs.wa.lcl/
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D. After an enhanced respite services stay is confirmed with the contracted provider, the 
CRM must: 

 
1. Update the child or youth’s person-centered service plan and planned action 

notice, including nurse delegation authorization, if applicable, following the 
directions outlined in the ERS approval email instructions. 
 

2. Complete nurse delegation referral, if applicable, at least ten days before the 
scheduled stay. 
 

3. Work with the primary caregiver or legal representative to ensure all necessary 
information and documentation is sent to the provider at least ten days before 
the scheduled stay. 
 

4. Attend the intake and discharge meetings facilitated by the provider. 
 
EXCEPTIONS 
 
Any exception to this policy must have the prior written approval of the Deputy Assistant 
Secretary. 
 
SUPERSESSION 
 
DDA Policy 4.03 
Issued December 15, 2017  
 
 
 
 
Approved:              Date: August 1, 2024 
  Deputy Assistant Secretary 

Developmental Disabilities Administration 
 


