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Report Summary 
Federal law requires states to enact statewide child support guidelines for setting child support 
awards.  45 CFR 302.56 requires the state to review the child support guidelines every four 
years.  The quadrennial review is intended to ensure that application of the guidelines results in 
appropriate child support award amounts and that deviations are limited. 

In 1988, the Washington State Legislature established a schedule for determining child support 
amounts that was codified at Chapter 26.19 RCW (Chapter 275, Laws of 1988).  Child support 
may be awarded through the court system or through administrative proceedings1  by the 
Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS), Division of Child Support (DCS).  The 
Washington State Child Support Schedule (WSCSS) is based on the “income-shares” model.  
The child support obligation is based on the parents’ combined monthly net income (CMNI), and 
is then divided between the parents according to their proportionate share of total net income as 
defined by the WSCSS.2 The WSCSS instructions also allow adjustments for various factual 
scenarios.  The sum of the basic child support obligation with the adjustment calculations 
establishes the presumptive amount of the child support order. Unless a deviation is granted, this 
presumptive amount is the child support order amount. 

In accordance with recommendations of the Joint Legislative Audit & Review Committee 
(JLARC)3 and the quadrennial review requirements of federal and state law (RCW 26.19.025), 
DCS completed a review of child support orders by sampling administrative and court orders 
entered during the four year period from August 2018 to July 2022.  This order review is 
intended to estimate the deviation rate of the child support orders and to identify the major 
reasons for the deviation. 

The major findings of the 2022 DCS Order Review are: 

• Out of the overall 1,038 randomly selected orders, there are 398, or 38.3%, administrative 
orders and 640, or 61.7%, court orders.  The majority of the orders are IV-D orders4 
(85%) and the father is the noncustodial parent (NCP) on the order (81.1%).  

• The median NCP monthly net income is $2,313.84 and the median order amount is $400, 
representing 17.3% of the noncustodial parent’s income. 

• As the number of children on the orders increases, the ratio of median order amount to 
income increases gradually, and it exceeds one fifth of the noncustodial parent’s income 

                                                           
1 Under RCW 74.20A.055,  74.20A.056 or 74.20A.059. 
2 See Appendix I – Order Review Definitions 
3 JLARC, January 5, 2010, – Review of Child Support Guidelines - Report 10-1, at Page 19 
4 IV-D orders are support orders enforced by the Division of Child Support (DCS) due to the payment of public  
assistance monies or application for services from either party. Also see Appendix I – Order Review Definitions 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=74.20A.055
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=74.20A.056
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=74.20A.059
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for more than one child – 17.3% for one child, 21.6% for two children, 28.8% for three 
children, 32.8% for four children, and 31.6% for five children. 

• The sample shows that 89.9% of the parties to these orders have combined monthly net 
incomes that fall in the income range of the revised WSCSS Economic Table.5  However, 
there are only 447 cases, or 43.1%, of the overall sample where actual NCP and custodial 
parent (CP) income were used to determine the combined monthly net income.  The other 
orders were based on the imputed6 or median net income of one or both parents. 

• Out of the total 1,038 orders, 299 orders were found that deviated from the WSCSS for 
reasons that were part of the statutorily-recognized deviation standards, which results in a 
28.8% deviation rate. Deviations in non-IV-D7 orders were more common (34.6%) than 
deviations in IV-D orders (27.8%).  Court orders have a similar deviation rate (28.9%) as 
administrative orders (28.6%). 

• The majority (96%) of deviations were downward, reducing the child support obligation 
from the presumptive amount, with the average downward amount being $283.97 per 
month. 

• The majority of deviations found in Washington orders were because of the existence of 
children from other relationships or shared residential schedules.  These two reasons 
account for 89% of the deviations. The remainder of the deviations are for other reasons 
such as other sources of income, tax planning, and nonrecurring income, etc. 

• For the overall sample, 402 out of the 1,038 orders, or 38.7%, apply adjustments to 
determine the presumptive order amounts.  Administrative orders (41.2%) are more likely 
to apply adjustments than court orders (37.2%). 

• Low income limitations were found to be the major reasons for order adjustments 
(57.5%).  For those adjustments due to low income limitations, most of the orders in the 
sample were adjusted either due to the Self-Support Reserve (52%) or presumptive 
minimum obligation (40.3%). 

                                                           
5 RCW 26.19.020. 
6 The definition of imputed income, and the methods of calculating imputed income, have changed over the years.  
7 Ibid. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.020


Page | 5  

 

1 Introduction 
Federal law (45 CFR 302.56) requires states to enact statewide child support guidelines for 
setting child support awards, in order to standardize the amount of support orders among those 
with similar situations.  All court and administrative proceedings must use their state’s child 
support guidelines in setting child support orders unless there is a written, specific finding to 
deviate from the presumptive amount.  In addition, federal law requires review of the guidelines 
at least every four years to ensure that application of the guidelines results in appropriate child 
support award amounts and that deviations are kept at a minimum.  

Starting in 1990, RCW 26.18.2108 required parties to complete the Child Support Order 
Summary Report Form and file it with the county clerk in any proceeding where child support 
was established or modified.  The 2005 Child Support Schedule Workgroup found that parties 
and courts did not always comply with this requirement, and found that those who did comply 
often completed the form incorrectly.9  As a result of the 2005 Workgroup’s recommendation, 
the Legislature adopted 2SHB 1009 (Chapter 313, Laws of 2007), which in §4 amended RCW 
26.18.210 to make changes to the form and to require DCS to collect information from these 
Summary Report Forms and prepare a report at least every four years. The completion of the 
Child Support Order Summary Report Form is no longer required. 

Section 6 of 2SHB 1009 created RCW 26.19.026, which directed the Joint Legislative Audit & 
Review Committee (JLARC) to review and analyze: 

• The data collected from the Order Summary Report; 
• The recommendations of the 2007 Child Support Schedule Workgroup; 
• The current child support guidelines; 
• Relevant  research and data on the cost of raising children; and  
• Research and data on the application of, and deviations from, the child support 

guidelines. 

After the review, RCW 26.19.026 directed JLARC to prepare a report on the application of the 
current child support guidelines and the recommendations of the Workgroup. JLARC staff did 
so, and submitted a final report in January 2010.10  The JLARC review determined that the 
Summary Report forms were “inadequate for reaching valid conclusions about deviations from 
state guidelines or for conducting the federally required review of deviations.”  The report 
recommended that the “workgroups convened under RCW 26.19.025 should use data obtained 
directly from court and administrative orders to conduct the federally required quadrennial 
review.” 

                                                           
8 RCW 26.09.173 and RCW 26.10.195 contain the same requirement. 
9 Report of the 2005 Workgroup, page 15. 
10 JLARC, January 5, 2010, Review of Child Support Guidelines – Report 10-1.  

http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/cfr_2009/octqtr/pdf/45cfr302.56.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.18.210
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2007-08/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/1009-S2.SL.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2007-08/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/1009-S2.SL.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/dispo.aspx?cite=26.19.026
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/dispo.aspx?cite=26.19.026
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.025
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/ESA/dcs/documents/jlarcreport.pdf
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Starting in 2011 and every four years thereafter, the Department of Social and Health Services 
(DSHS) Division of Child Support (DCS) was directed to convene a workgroup “to review the 
child support guidelines and the child support review report prepared under RCW 26.19.026 and 
determine if the application of the child support guidelines results in appropriate support 
orders.”11  

1.1 Washington State Child Support Schedule 
In compliance with federal requirements, the Washington State Legislature established a state 
schedule for determining child support amounts that was codified as Chapter 26.19 RCW.12  
Child support may be awarded through the court or through administrative proceedings by DCS.  

The Washington State Child Support Schedule (WSCSS) is based on the “income-shares” model. 
This model, with some variation, is currently employed in 38 states.  It is based on the concept 
that children should receive the same proportion of income that they would have received if their 
family was intact.  The child support obligation is based on the parents’ combined monthly net 
income and is then divided between the parents according to their proportionate share of income.  
The Schedule’s instructions also allow for adjustments in various factual scenarios. The sum of 
the Basic Support Obligation with adjustments establishes the presumptive amount of the child 
support order.  Generally, this presumptive amount is the child support order amount (also 
known as the transfer payment) unless the presumptive amount is rebutted or a deviation is 
granted.13  The procedure for setting child support order amounts in Washington was 
summarized into five main steps in the JLARC report: 

(1) The process starts with determining the combined monthly net income14 of the parents.  

(2) The economic table contained in RCW 26.19.020 is used to determine a Basic Support 
Obligation for each child based on the parent’s combined monthly net income and other factors 
such as the number of children.  

(3) Each parent’s share of the Basic Support Obligation is determined by the parent’s 
proportionate share of the combined income.  

                                                           
11 RCW 26.19.025(1) 
12 (Chapter 275, Laws of 1988) 
13 E.g., the court in  N.R. v Soliz  (W.D. Wash. February 7, 1994) ruled that the presumptive minimum obligation is a 
rebuttable presumption, and that it was subject to downward deviation under proper circumstances, consistent with 
45 CFR 302.56(g) in federal law.  The N.R. v Soliz  ruling applied only to administrative support orders, but the 
Legislature codified this by amending RCW 26.19.065 in the 1998 session (§1 of SB 6581, Chapter 163, Laws of 
1998). 
14 “Net Income” and “Gross Income” are defined in RCW 26.19.071. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/1997-98/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Law%201998/6581.SL.pdf


Page | 7  

 

(4) The law provides for some adjustments to this amount for shared expenses for the children 
(health care and special costs),15 low income limitations,16 and child support credits.17  

(5) The court or administrative officer may deviate from the presumptive amount only for 
reasons set forth in state statute and must provide a written basis for the deviation.  

1.2 Changes in Washington’s Child Support Schedule 
Several changes were made to the WSCSS based on legislation adopted after the 
recommendations of the 2005 Child Support Schedule Workgroup.18  In 2009, the Legislature 
passed ESHB 1794 (Chapter 84, Laws of 2009), which made changes to the Child Support 
Schedule and adopted many of the recommendations of the 2007 Child Support Schedule 
Workgroup.19 

Until October 1, 200920 the Washington State Child Support Schedule provided that a parent’s 
support obligation should not reduce his or her net monthly income below the one person need 
standard found in WAC 388-478-0015, except for the presumptive minimum obligation of $25 
per month per child.  The Child Support Schedule Economic Table began at a combined monthly 
net income (CMNI) of $600 and continued to a CMNI of $7,000.  The support obligation from 
the Economic Table was presumptive for CMNIs between $600 and $5,000 but only advisory for 
CMNIs above $5,000. 

Effective October 1, 2009, two bills adopted by the Washington Legislature based on 
recommendations of the 2007 Child Support Schedule Workgroup made significant changes to 
the WSCSS.  ESHB 1794 made changes to the sections containing the Economic Table21, 
limitations22, income determination23, deviations24, and the allocation of health care 25costs.  
SHB 1845 (Chapter 476, Laws of 2009) made changes regarding the requirements for medical 
support obligations in child support orders. 

RCW 26.19.065 provided that the support obligation shall not reduce a parent’s net income 
below the Self-Support Reserve of one hundred twenty-five percent (125%) of the Federal 
Poverty Level.  Also, ESHB 1794 increased the presumptive minimum obligation to $50 per 
month per child.  The Support Schedule Economic Table now starts at a combined monthly net 

                                                           
15  RCW 26.19.080. 
16  RCW 26.19.065 
17WSCSS-Instructions 6/2010, Part V re Line 16 (Page 8)  
18 You can find the Report of the 2005 Workgroup at http://www.dshs.wa.gov/esa/division-child-support/reports 
19 ESHB 1794 (Chapter 84, Laws of 2009) 
20 The effective date of ESHB 1794. 
21 RCW 26.19.020 
22 RCW 26.19.065 
23 RCW 26.19.071 
24 RCW 26.19.075 
25 RCW 26.19.080 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2009-10/Pdf/Bills/House%20Passed%20Legislature/1794-S.PL.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=388-478-0015
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2009-10/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/1794-S.SL.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2009-10/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/1845-S.SL.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.065
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2009-10/Pdf/Bills/House%20Passed%20Legislature/1794-S.PL.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.065
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2009-10/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Law%202009/1794-S.SL.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2009-10/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Law%202009/1794-S.SL.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.065
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.071
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.075
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.080
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income (CMNI) of $1,000 and continues to a CMNI of $12,000.  The Schedule is presumptive 
for all incomes between these amounts. 

Additional changes were made in the calculation of health care expenses.  Under previous law,26 
both parents were responsible for a proportional share of health care expenses exceeding 5% of 
the Basic Support Obligation (BSO).  Under ESHB 1794, health care costs are no longer 
included in the economic table and all health care costs are divided between the parents based on 
their proportional share of the BSO. 

In 2018, the Washington Legislature adopted Substitute Senate Bill 6334 (SSB6334, Chapter 
150, Laws of 2018), which made several changes to the statutes dealing with child support. In 
Parts III and IV of SSB6334 changes were made in Chapter 26.19 RCW and the Washington 
State Child Support Schedule, both of which took effect on January 1, 2019. 
 
Part III (§301 of the bill) amends RCW 26.19.020 and adopts a new Economic Table that is 
based on more recent economic data and no longer distinguishes different age categories for 
children. Part IV (§401 of the bill) amends RCW 26.19.065 (2) and provides that the self-support 
reserve is based on one hundred twenty-five percent of the federal poverty level for a one-
person family. 
 
In 2020, the Legislature enacted SHB 2302 (Chapter 227, Laws of 2020). This bill clarified the 
standards for determination of a parent’s income when voluntarily unemployed or 
underemployed. Courts are directed to consider assets, residence, employment and earnings 
history, job skills, literacy, criminal record, dependency court obligations, and other employment 
barriers. The bill also established that when a parent is determined to be voluntarily unemployed 
or underemployed, a rebuttable presumption that income should be imputed at 32 hours per week 
at minimum wage if the parent is recently coming off specified public assistance programs, has 
recently been released from incarceration, or is a recent high school graduate. RCW 26.19.071 
(6). 

1.3 Purpose of DCS Order Review 
In 2005, the federal government expressed concern regarding the completeness of Washington’s 
reviews of its guidelines.  In response, the Washington Legislature established in statute a 
process for its reviews to be conducted by workgroups (2SHB 1009, Chapter 313, Laws of 
2007).  The first review under the statute was conducted in 2007, the second review was 
conducted in 2011, and the most recent review occurred in 2019.  Section 6 of 2SHB 1009 was 
codified as RCW 26.19.026, and directed JLARC to: (1) review the efforts of the 2007 Child 
Support Schedule Workgroup; (2) summarize research on the cost of raising children; and (3) 
analyze the current child support data collected by DCS in order to review child support orders 
                                                           
26 Former RCW 26.19.080 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2009-10/Pdf/Bills/House%20Passed%20Legislature/1794-S.PL.pdf
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2017-18/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/6334-S.SL.pdf
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2017-18/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/6334-S.SL.pdf
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=26.19
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=26.19.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.065
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2302&Year=2019&Initiative=false
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.071
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.071
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2007-08/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/1009-S2.SL.pdf
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that deviate from the state’s guideline. The JLARC report was to be submitted by July 1, 2010, 
and it was submitted to the Legislature in January 2010.27 

Two recommendations were made in JLARC’s final report: (1) the Workgroups convened under 
RCW 26.19.05 should use data obtained directly from court and administrative orders to conduct 
the federally required quadrennial review; and (2) the Legislature should eliminate all statutory 
references to the Child Support Order Summary Report. 

In accordance with the recommendations of JLARC and in support of the 2011 Child Support 
Schedule Workgroup, the DCS completed a review of child support orders by sampling 
administrative and court orders entered during the period of August 2006 to July 2010.  The 
Final Report of the 2011 Child Support Schedule Workgroup was delivered to the Legislature on 
September 30, 2011.  

The 2022 order review was conducted by sampling administrative and court orders entered from 
August 2018 to July 2022. This 2022 order review is intended to satisfy the review requirements 
of 45 CFR 302.56.  

2 Overview of the Order Sample 

2.1 Sampling 
The sampling frame for this study includes a total of 93,662 Washington court and 
administrative orders entered during the four year period from August 1, 2018 through July 31, 
2022. This universe consisted of imaged order documents for child support cases in the active 
DCS caseload, imaged orders maintained by the Washington State Support Registry (WSSR) for 
payment processing only, and imaged non-WSSR orders for Federal Case Registry.  A simple 
random sample of 1,056 orders was selected from the sampling frame. The sample size was 
determined to give an estimated average income of NCPs at 95% confidence interval with 
marginal error within 3%.  It is also good enough to have the estimated order deviation rate at 
95% confidence interval with marginal error within 5%. 

The 1,056 sample orders were assigned to volunteer Support Enforcement Officers (SEOs).  An 
on-line tracking tool was developed to allow these SEOs to input their responses to the 
questionnaire (see Appendix II for the detailed questionnaire). The SEOs completed 1,038 valid 
reviews by the end of the review period.  

                                                           
27 JLARC, January 5, 2010, Review of Child Support Guidelines – Report 10-1. 

http://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/ESA/dcs/documents/finalreportofworkgroup2011.pdf
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2.2 WSCSS Guideline Usage 
The WSCSS Worksheet Pamphlet effective January 1, 201928 contains Definitions and 
Standards, Instructions, the Economic Table and a blank Worksheet; having that pamphlet 
available will assist greatly in understanding this section. 

Part I of the Worksheet29 is used to calculate the monthly gross and net income of each parent 
according to RCW 26.19.071.  After calculating the combined monthly net income of the 
parents, one finds the Basic Support Obligation (line 5) for each child in the Economic Table.  
The Basic Support Obligation is divided between the parents based on their proportional share of 
the income (line 6).  

Line 7 of the Worksheet shows each parent’s Basic Support Obligation without consideration of 
any low income limitations.  Line 8 allows the application of low income limitations when 
appropriate, and then Line 9 shows each parent’s Basic Support Obligation.  In some cases, the 
Basic Support Obligation will equal the Standard Calculation on line 17, but if there are health 
care, day care, and/or special child rearing expenses for the children, the Standard Calculation 
may be different.  The Standard Calculation is the amount that is obtained by applying the 
guideline standards.   

In certain cases, the presumptive transfer payment which is reflected by the Standard Calculation 
has been changed because of a deviation, which must be granted by the judge and must be 
supported by findings of fact.  In those cases, the Transfer Payment ordered will be higher or 
lower than the Standard Calculation. 

In some cases, the limitations contained in RCW 26.19.065 may result in a Standard Calculation 
which is different from the Basic Support Obligation found on Line 7.  This is not considered a 
deviation, because the limitation is part of the process of arriving at the Standard Calculation. 

2.3 Exploratory Data Analysis 
Out of the overall 1,038 orders, there are 398, or 38.3%, administrative orders and 640, or 
61.7%, court orders (Table 1). The majority of the orders are IV-D orders (85%) and the father is 
the NCP on the order (81.1%). 

For the overall sample, the median NCP monthly net income is $2,313.84 and the order amount 
is $400, representing 17.3% of the noncustodial parent’s income. 

The income levels and the monthly order amount are different depending upon whether the order 
is an administrative order or a court order, a IV-D order or a non-IV-D order, a father as an NCP 
or a mother as an NCP (Table 1). NCPs with IV-D orders earn about half amount (54.4%) of 

                                                           
28 Available online on the 2019 Workgroup’s webpage at 2019 Child Support Schedule Materials | DSHS (wa.gov)  
29 The Worksheet is developed by the Administrative Office of the Courts under RCW 26.19.050. 

https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/ESA/dcs/documents/WSCSS-PAMPHLET.pdf
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/esa/division-child-support/2019-child-support-schedule-materials


Page | 11  

 

NCPs with non-IV-D orders, but pay relatively higher proportion of their income towards child 
support obligations (18.6% vs. 11%).  

Table 1. NCP Median Net Income and Child Support Order Amount 

  Number 
of Cases 

Percent 
of Cases 

Median NCP 
Monthly Net 

Income 

Median CP 
Monthly Net 

Income 

Median 
Monthly 

Order Amount 

Percent of Order 
Amount in NCPs' 

Income 
Overall Sample 1,038 100.0% $2,313.84 $1,977.00 $400.00 17.3% 
Admin Order 398 38.3% $1,871.88 $1,768.00 $335.00 17.9% 
Court Order 640 61.7% $2,820.89 $2,321.50 $436.63 15.5% 
IV-D Order 882 85.0% $2,152.16 $1,920.88 $400.00 18.6% 
Non-IV-D Order 156 15.0% $3,954.90 $3,125.71 $436.05 11.0% 
Father as NCP 842 81.1% $2,593.00 $2,048.00 $430.50 16.6% 
Mother as NCP 196 18.9% $1,768.00 $1,696.00 $255.71 14.5% 

 

About 66.2% of the sample orders have only one child on the order and about one fourth of the 
orders (24%) have two children (Figure 1). The Economic Table incorporates the concept that 
additional children entail additional costs, while at the same time recognizing that two children 
are not always twice as costly as one. Figure 2 shows that the monthly child support obligation 
increases as the number of children increases from one to four and then drops as it reaches five. 
For the overall sample, the median award amount for one child is $367; for two to four children, 
the award amount is $609, $778, and $884 respectively, and for five children, the amount is 
$601.  As the number of children on the orders increases from one to five, the ratio of median 
order amount to  median NCP income increases gradually from around 17% to over 30%  
(17.3% for one child, 21.6% for two children, and 28.8% for three children, 32.8% for four 
children, and 31.6% for five children). 

Figure 1. Number of Children on the Order 
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Figure 2. Monthly Order Amount vs. NCP Net Income by the Number of Children 

 

 

Figure 3 shows the distribution of combined monthly net income (CMNI) of the overall sample 
(excluding the four orders without income information).  For the overall sample, 52.9% of orders 
have CMNI between $1,000 and $5,000 and about 43.1% of orders have CMNI more than 
$5,000.  Before October 2009, the WSCSS Economic Table began at a CMNI of $600 and 
continued to a CMNI of $7,000 per month.  The support obligation was presumptive for CMNI 
between $600 and $5,000 and was advisory above that level. The pre-October 2009 Economic 
Table did not provide a presumptive support amount for cases with CMNI over $5,000.30  

The Child Support Schedule under ESHB 1794,31 which took effect on October 1, 2009, updated 
the Economic Table. It provides presumptive support amounts for CMNI from $1,000 to 
$12,000. The new Child Support Schedule effective January 1, 2019 under RCW 26.19.020 
retained the same presumptive support amounts for CMNI from $1,000 to $12,000. The sample 
shows that 89.9% of orders have CMNI falling within the income range of the new Economic 
Table.  About 10.1% of the orders have CMNI of less than $1,000 or greater than $12,000.  

                                                           
30 The prior version of RCW 26.19.065 provided the following guidance for income above five thousand and seven 
thousand dollars: “In general setting support under this paragraph does not constitute a deviation. The economic 
table is presumptive for combined monthly net incomes up to and including five thousand dollars. When combined 
monthly net income exceeds five thousand dollars, support shall not be set at an amount lower than the 
presumptive amount of support set for combined monthly net incomes of five thousand dollars unless the court finds 
a reason to deviate below that amount. The economic table is advisory but not presumptive for 
combined monthly net income that exceeds five thousand dollars. When combined monthly net income exceeds 
seven thousand dollars, the court may set support at an advisory amount of support set for combined monthly net 
incomes between five thousand and seven thousand dollars or the court may exceed the advisory amount of support 
for combined monthly net income of seven thousand dollars upon written findings.” 
31  (Chapter 84, Laws of 2009). 
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However, only 447 cases, or 43.1%, of the overall sample, derive the CMNI using actual income 
for both the NCP and CP. The other cases in the sample use imputed or median net income for 
one or both parents.32  

 

Figure 3. Distribution of Combined Monthly Net Income 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

                                                           
32 Section 3 of ESHB 1794 amended RCW 26.19.071(4) and set out for the first time a hierarchy of imputation 
methods to be used when records of a parent’s actual earnings were not available.  Prior to October 1, 2009, the 
WSCSS did not contain specific guidance for imputing income.  The term “imputation” covered a wide variety of 
methods for determining a parent’s monthly income, some of which would not fit the current definition or method.   
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3 Order Deviation 

3.1 Deviation Criteria in the Washington State Child Support Schedule 
Since 1989, federal law has required statewide guidelines for child support.  Each state has the 
authority to determine its own specific guidelines.  All court and administrative orders that 
establish or modify child support must be based upon the guidelines, and a deviation is allowed 
only for a reason set forth in state statute and must be based on a written justification.  As part of 
the federally mandated quadrennial review, each state must review child support award data to 
determine the frequency of deviations from the state’s guidelines and to ensure that deviations 
from the guidelines are limited. 

The WSCSS provides a non-exclusive list of standards for deviation from the Standard 
Calculation in RCW 26.19.075, including: (1) sources of income and tax planning (including 
nonrecurring income); (2)  debt and high expenses; (3) residential schedule; (4) Costs incurred in 
reunification efforts; (5) children from other relationships; (6) unjust to apply the presumptive 
minimum payment; and (7) unjust to apply the self-support reserve. Appendix III sets out RCW 
26.19.075 in full. 

3.2 Deviation Rate 
For purposes of the DCS 2022 Order Review, “deviation” is defined as a child support amount 
that differs from the Standard Calculation in an amount greater than $10 (to allow for rounding) 
with one or more reasons for deviation that meet the standards set forth in RCW 26.19.075.  

Out of the total 1,038 orders reviewed, 299 orders deviated from the Standard Calculation 
resulting in a 28.8% deviation rate.  Figure 4 shows that deviations in non-IV-D orders were 
more common (34.6%) than deviations in IV-D orders (27.8%). Court orders have a similar 
deviation rate (28.9%) as administrative orders (28.6%).   

Figure 4. Deviation Rates 
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Figure 5 displays the detailed distribution of deviation amounts in the 299 orders deviated from 
the Standard Calculation. The majority (96%) of the deviations were downward, reducing the 
child support obligation from the presumptive amount.  Downward deviations average $283.97 
per month. Over half of the deviations (53.5%) reduce the order amount from the presumptive 
amount in the range of $0 to $200. There are 51 orders, or 17.1%, deviating downward from the 
Standard Calculation by more than $500. 

Figure 5. Distribution of Deviation Amount 
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3.3 Deviation Reasons 
 

Figure 6 describes deviation reasons for the overall sample.  Nearly two-third of the deviations 
(62.5%) are due to children from other relationships.  The order amount may deviate from the 
Standard Calculation when either or both of the parents have children from other relationships to 
whom the parent owes a duty of support.  About one-fourth of the deviations (26.4%) are due to 
the residential schedule. If the child spends a significant amount of time with the noncustodial 
parent, the court may consider a deviation from the Standard Calculation.33  Therefore, two 
major reasons of deviation in Washington orders are children from other relationships and 
residential schedules, which account for about 88.9% of the deviations.  The rest of the 
deviations are for a variety of reasons such as sources of income and tax planning, extraordinary 
debt and high expenses, etc. 

Figure 6. Deviation Reasons 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                           
33 A deviation for the child’s residential schedule is not allowed if it will result in insufficient funds in the custodial 
household or if the child is receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF). RCW 26.19.075. 
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Figure 5A displays the detailed distribution of deviation amounts in the 187 orders due to 
children from other relationships.  About three-fourth of the deviations (73.3%) reduce the order 
amount from the presumptive amount in the range of $0 to $200. While most downward 
deviation amounts are in the range of $0 to $400 (95.7%), there are five orders (2.7%) with 
downward deviation amount in the range of $400 to $600. One order deviates downward from 
the Standard Calculation by more than $1,000 for children from other relationships. There are 
only two orders (1.1%) deviating upward from the Standard Calculation by more than $200. 

 

Figure 5A. Distribution of Deviation Amount due to 
          Children from Other Relationships 
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Deviation reasons vary between administrative orders and court orders (Figure 7).  The existence 
of children from other relationships is the dominant reason (93%) for deviations in 
administrative orders.  The rest of the administrative orders deviate due to the criterion of 
residential schedule or debt and high expenses (3.5% respectively). For court orders, children 
from other relationships (43.8%) and residential schedule (40.5%) are the two major deviation 
reasons. Other deviation reasons in court orders are sources of income and tax planning (7.6%), 
debt and high expenses (7%), and unjust to apply the presumptive minimum payment (1.1%). 

Figure 7. Deviation Reasons by Order Type 
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4 Adjustments and Limitations 

4.1 Adjustments and Limitations Under the WSCSS 
The WSCSS Worksheet is used to calculate each parent’s child support obligation by proceeding 
through a series of steps, represented by the different parts of the Worksheet. 

Part I of the Worksheet is used to calculate the combined monthly net income (CMNI) of the 
parents (Line 4).  Using the CMNI and the number of children for whom support is being set, the 
Economic Table provides the monthly Basic Support Obligation in a per child amount and in a 
total monthly amount (line 5).   Line 6 is used to calculate each parent’s proportional share of the 
CMNI. 

Part II of the Worksheet is then used to find each parent’s “Basic Child Support Obligation 
without consideration of low income limitations” (Line 7 of the Worksheet).   Lines 8a, 8b and 
8c are used to apply any relevant adjustments to establish the “Basic Child Support Obligation 
after calculating applicable limitations” (Line 9 of the Worksheet).   The amount on Line 9 is the 
presumptive support amount for each parent.   

Part III of the Worksheet is used when there are Health Care, Day Care, and Special Child 
Rearing Expenses.  This Part allocates each parent’s proportional share of the expenses, and the 
result on Line 14 is each parent's obligation for Health Care, Day Care, and Special Expenses. 

Part IV of the Worksheet determines the Gross Child Support Obligation on Line 15, which is 
the sum of line 9 (Basic Support Obligation) and line 14 (Obligation for Health Care, Day Care, 
and Special Expenses). 

Part V of the Worksheet is used to calculate any credits that may be due for amounts actually 
being paid at the time of the calculation.  Line 16d provides the Total Support Credits. 

Part VI of the Worksheet provides the Standard Calculation, also known as the Presumptive 
Transfer Payment.  Unless a deviation is granted, this presumptive support amount is the child 
support order amount. 

As illustrated by the above description, “deviations” are distinguished from “adjustments” in that 
adjustments are made because of a limitation, and the application of an adjustment happens 
during the calculation of the Basic Support Obligation.  A deviation is granted only after the 
calculation of the Standard Calculation, resulting in a Transfer Payment (also called the order 
amount) that is different from the Standard Calculation. 
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4.2 Low Income Limitations  
The WSCSS contains several low income limitations, which operate to adjust the Basic Support 
Obligation so that the parent is allowed to retain a certain amount of his or her monthly net 
income, subject to the presumptive minimum obligation (currently $50 per month per child; $25 
per month per child prior to October 1, 2009).  The application of these limitations is subject to a 
determination that it would be unjust to apply the limitation, based on a consideration of the best 
interests of the child.  Prior to the October 1, 2009 changes,34 the determination of “unjust to 
apply” was not a part of the law. 

When the combined monthly net income (CMNI) of both parties is less than $1,000, each 
parent’s presumptive support obligation is $50 per child per month.35  Prior to October 1, 2009, 
the WSCSS provided that when the parents’ CMNI was less than $600, each parent’s 
presumptive support obligation was $25 per child per month. 

Other low income limitations are based on the Self-Support Reserve.36  Before October 1, 2009, 
this was called the Need Standard, based on the TANF cash assistance need standard for one 
person.37  RCW 26.19.065(2) now provides that when a parent’s monthly net income is below 
the Self-Support Reserve of 125% of the federal poverty level for a one-person family, his or her 
presumptive support obligation is no less than $50 per month per child.  Prior to October 1, 2009, 
the WSCSS provided that when a parent’s monthly net income was less than $600, his or her 
presumptive support obligation was $25 per child per month. 

In addition, RCW 26.19.065 provides that the Basic Support Obligation, excluding health care, 
day care, and special child rearing expenses, shall not reduce the NCP’s net income below the 
Self-Support Reserve, except for the presumptive minimum obligation of $50 per child per 
month.  Prior to October 1, 2009, the law provided that the NCP’s support obligation should not 
reduce his or her income below the one person need standard, except for the presumptive 
minimum obligation of $25 per child per month. 

The final low income limitation usually applies to noncustodial parents with many children, or at 
least with many families. RCW 26.19.065(1) provides that neither parent’s child support 
obligation owed for all his or her biological or legal children may exceed 45 percent of his or her 
net income except for good cause (good cause includes, but is not limited to, possession of  
substantial wealth, children with day care expenses, special medical need, educational need, 
psychological need, and larger families).  ESHB 1794 amended this section to provide that each 

                                                           
34 The changes under ESHB 1794 took effect on October 1, 2009. 
35 RCW 26.19.020. 
36 RCW 26.19.065. 
37 See discussion supra in Section 1.2.  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.065
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.065
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2009-10/Pdf/Bills/House%20Passed%20Legislature/1794-S.PL.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2009-10/Pdf/Bills/House%20Passed%20Legislature/1794-S.PL.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.065
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child “is entitled to a pro rata share of the income available for support, but the court only applies 
the pro rata share to the children in the case before the court.” 

4.3 Other Adjustments 
Other reasons that the Standard Calculation may differ from the Basic Support Obligation are: 

• Health Care, Daycare, Or Special Expenses 
• Child Support Credits 
• Income above the Economic Table amounts 

RCW 26.19.080 provides that health care costs, day care and special child rearing expenses, such 
as tuition and transportation costs for visiting purpose, are not included in the Economic Table. 
These expenses are to be shared by the parents in the same proportion as the Basic  Support 
Obligation.  Prior to October 1, 2009, the WSCSS provided that the amounts in the Economic 
Table were considered to include an amount for “ordinary medical expenses,” but that 
“extraordinary medical expenses,” defined as medical expenses that exceed five percent of the 
basic support obligation, were to be shared by the parents.  ESHB 1794 did away with the 
distinction between ordinary and extraordinary medical expenses. 

Child support credits are provided in cases where parents make direct payments to third parties 
for the cost of goods and services which are included in the Standard Calculation support 
obligation.  When the WSCSS Worksheet contains these direct payments in Part III, the parent 
who pays for the shared expenses will receive credit by means of a lower transfer payment. 

Finally, for parents with a combined monthly net income that exceeds $12,000, the WSCSS 
provides that the court may exceed the maximum presumptive amount of support upon written 
findings of fact.  See Section 2.3 and Footnote 31, supra, for a discussion of the way higher 
incomes were treated before October 2009. 

4.4 How Adjustments and Low Income Limitations are Applied in Washington State 
For the overall sample, 402 orders out of the 1,038 orders, or 38.7%, apply adjustments to 
determine the presumptive order amounts.  Administrative orders (41.2%) are more likely to 
apply adjustments than court orders (37.2%). 

When reasons for adjustments were reviewed, it was found that 60.4% of adjustments were due 
to a single reason and 39.6% of adjustments were due to two to three reasons.  Figure 8 shows 
that the primary reason for adjustments are low income limitations.  231 orders (57.5%) are 
adjusted for this reason.  Extraordinary expenses and the application of child support credits in 
part III and part V of the WSCSS Worksheet are also commonly used, accounting for 40.3% and 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.080
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36.6% of adjustments, respectively.  Only five orders, or 1.2%, are adjusted due to a combined 
monthly net income above $12,000.38 

 

Figure 8. Distribution of Adjustment Reasons 

 

The application of the Self-Support Reserve (post October 2009) (52%) and presumptive 
minimum obligation (40.3%) are the major reasons for the low income limitation adjustments 
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Only three orders (1.3%) were adjusted due to combined income less than $1,000.  On average, 
6.7 orders per month were adjusted due to the application of the Self-Support Reserve for the 
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2.5 orders per month were adjusted due to the application of the Self-Support Reserve from 
August 2018 to July 2022. There are 93 out of 231 orders with low income limitation 
adjustments (40.3%) that set support at the presumptive minimum order amount ($50 per month 

                                                           
38 The percentage does not add up to 100% because some orders are adjusted for more than one reason. 
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per child) for reasons other than the  Self-Support Reserve, 45% net income limitation, or 
combined monthly net income less than $1,000. 
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APPENDIX I - Order Review Definitions 
 
Adjustment:  A child support amount that differs from the Standard Calculation, not because of a 
Deviation, but because of the application of one or more Limitation Standards under the WSCSS 
applicable as of the date of the order.  Adjustments differ from deviations as they are applied during the 
determination of the Standard Calculation / Presumptive Transfer Payment. They are in effect an expected 
application of the established guidelines. 

Average:  Arithmetic mean, unless otherwise noted. 

Basic Support Obligation (BSO):  The monthly child support obligation determined from the economic 
table based on the parties' combined monthly net income and the number of children for who support is 
owed.  RCW 26.19.011(1).  For purposes of this review, Basic Support Obligation also means the 
guideline support obligation without consideration of income limitations, extraordinary expenses, or child 
support credits.   

CMNI:  combined monthly net income, Line 4 on the WSCSS Worksheet. 

Deviation:  A child support amount that differs from the Standard Calculation.  RCW 26.19.011(4).  For 
purposes of this review, a support order contains a Deviation when the Final Transfer Payment differs 
from the Standard Calculation / Presumptive Transfer Payment in an amount greater than $10 (to allow 
for rounding) and the reasons for deviation meet standards set forth in the WSCSS guidelines and RCW 
26.19.075.  

Final Transfer Payment:  the amount ordered by the court/ALJ to be paid by the noncustodial parent. 
Most often called “Transfer Payment.” 

IV-D Orders:  Support orders that are enforced by the Division of Child Support (DCS) due to the 
payment of public assistance monies or application for services from either party.  This abbreviation came 
into use because DCS operates its child support program under Title IV-D of the Social Security Act. 

Median:  The median is the middle value of a set of data containing an odd number of values, or the 
average of the two middle values of a set of data with an even number of values. In other words, half of 
data set has values below the median and half of the data set has values above the median. The median is 
a useful number in cases where the distribution has very large extreme values (e.g., income) which would 
otherwise skew the data. 

Non-IV-D Orders:  Support orders that direct the noncustodial parent (NCP) to make child support 
payments either through the Washington State Support Registry (WSSR) or directly to the custodial 
parent (CP), and DCS has no existing case for the parties or no application for services from either party. 

Presumptive Minimum Obligation: When a parent's monthly net income is below one hundred twenty-
five percent of the federal poverty guideline, a support order of not less than fifty dollars per child per 
month shall be entered unless the obligor parent establishes that it would be unjust to do so in that 
particular case. 

http://dcs.esa.dshs.wa.lcl/tools/DCS%20Forms/WSCSS_WORKSHEETS.pdf
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Standard Calculation:  the presumptive amount of child support owed as determined from the Child 
Support Schedule before the court considers any reasons for deviation.  RCW 26.19.011(8).  This is 
sometimes also called the Presumptive Transfer Payment. 

Support Transfer Payment:  the amount of money the court orders one parent to pay to another parent or 
custodian for child support after determination of the Standard Calculation and deviations. If certain 
expenses or credits are expected to fluctuate and the order states a formula or percentage to determine the 
additional amount or credit on an ongoing basis, the term "support  
Transfer payment" does not mean the additional amount or credit.  RCW 26.19.011(9).  This may also be 
called the Final Transfer Payment, or just the Transfer Payment. 
 
WSCSS:  The Washington State Child Support Schedule, codified as Chapter 26.19 RCW. 

 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19
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APPENDIX II - Order Review Questionnaire 
 

A. General Descriptive Information (Washington Orders) 

1) IV-D Number  ___________ 
a) Type of case (Current TANF, Subro-only TANF, Non TANF /Former Assistance, Non 

TANF / Never Assistance, FC-TANF, FC-SO, Medicaid, PSO, Non-IVD alternate 
payer) 

2) Date of Order  ___________ 
3) Order or Cause Number  _______________ 
4) Type of Order   

a. Court  b. Administrative 
• Drop-down list of all SEMS Order Types, both court orders & admin orders 

5) Location (FIP Code) of Order  _______________ 
6) Which Parent is NCP? Father/Mother 
7) Worksheets completed by:  a.) DCS  b.) OAH  c.)  Prosecutor  d.)  Private Attorney  e.) 

Pro Se 

B. Income of Parties 
 
1) Monthly Net Income of Noncustodial Parent  $________ 

a. Actual  Y/N 
b. Imputed  Y/N 
c. Median Net  Y/N 

2) Monthly Net Income of Custodial Parent  $________ 
a. Actual  Y/N 
b. Imputed  Y/N 
c. Median Net  Y/N 

 
C. Child Support  

 
1) Standard Calculation/Presumptive Transfer Payment Amount  $__________ 
2) Parent Ordered to Pay…Mother or Father 
3) Support Amount Ordered  $__________ 
4) Number of Children  _____ 

a. (If only one child, proceed to (5) now) 
b. (If more than one child, Undifferentiated Support?  Y/N) 

i. (If Y – show Ages of Children at time of order) 
ii. (If N – show Ages of Children and Amount Ordered Per Child) 
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5) Ages of Children (at time of order)/Amount per Child 
c. Child 1 age____  Amount Ordered $_______ 
d. Child 2 age____  Amount Ordered $_______ 
e. Child 3 age____  Amount Ordered $_______ 
f. Child 4 age____  Amount Ordered $_______ 
g. Child 5 age____  Amount Ordered $_______ 

D. Deviation from Standard Calculation  

1) Was there a deviation?;   Y/N 
2) Reasons for Deviation from Standard Calculation 

a) Income of a new spouse or new domestic partner of the parent requesting a 
deviation for other reasons Y/N 

b) Income of other adults in the household of the parent requesting a deviation for 
other reasons Y/N 

c) Child support actually paid or received for other child(ren) from other 
relationships Y/N 

 d) Gifts Y/N 
 e) Prizes Y/N 
 f) Possession of wealth Y/N 
 g) Extraordinary income of child(ren) Y/N 
 h) Tax planning resulting in greater benefit to the child(ren) Y/N 

i.) Income from overtime or second jobs that was excluded from income of the 
parent requesting a deviation for other reasons Y/N 

j) A nonrecurring source of income  Y/N 
 k) Extraordinary debt not voluntarily incurred Y/N 

l) A significant disparity in the living costs of the parents due to conditions beyond 
their control Y/N 

 m) Special needs of disabled child(ren) Y/N 
 n) Special medical, educational or psychological needs of the child(ren) Y/N 

o) The child(ren) spend(s) a significant amount of time with the parent who is 
obligated to make a support transfer payment.  The deviation does not result in 
insufficient funds in the receiving parent’s household to meet the basic needs of 
the child(ren).  The child(ren) do(es) not receive public assistance. Y/N 

p) Costs anticipated or incurred in compliance with reunification efforts or 
voluntary placement agreement Y/N 
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q) Child(ren) from Other Relationships  Y/N 
  *  Method Used to Calculate Children Factors 
   i.) Whole Family Formula  Y/N 
   ii.) Blended Family Formula  Y/N 
   iii.) Other Y/N Describe:  __________________ 

r) Costs incurred or anticipated to be incurred by the parents in compliance with 
court-ordered reunification efforts or under a voluntary placement agreement 
with an agency supervising the child(ren) Y/N 

s) The obligor established that it is unjust to apply the presumptive minimum 
payment ($50 pmpc post-10/09)  Y/N 
i.) The court/tribunal found that NCP had rebutted the presumption that s/he 

should pay the presumptive minimum obligation and entered a zero 
support order. 

ii.) The court/tribunal found that NCP had rebutted the presumption that s/he 
should pay the presumptive minimum obligation and ordered that NCP 
should pay an amount which is less than the presumptive minimum but 
more than zero. 

t) The obligee established that it is unjust to apply the Self-Support Reserve (post-
10/09)  Y/N 

u) Agreement of the parties   Y/N   (not by itself adequate reason for deviation - but 
may be found in some orders) 

v) Other reason(s) for deviation  Y/N (describe)  
_______________________________________________________________________ 
w) No reason stated  Y/N 

  Comment for (q(iii), c., or v. above:  ___________________________________ 

 E. (1)  Adjustments of Support Obligation  Y/N 
 

2) Income Limitations 
 a) Combined income less than $600 (pre-10/09)  Y/N  
 b) Combined income less than $1000 (post-10/09)  Y/N 
 c) NCP Need Standard limitation applied (pre-10/09)  Y/N 

d) NCP Self-Support Reserve applied (125% of federal poverty guideline-- post-
10/09)  Y/N 

 e) 45% net income limitation for NCP applied  Y/N 
 f) Presumptive minimum obligation Ordered  Y/N 
  ($25 pmpc pre--10/09 / $50 pmpc post--10/09) 
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3) Extraordinary Health Care, Daycare, or Special Expenses  Y/N 
 *Health Care  Y/N  NCP ____ CP ____ 
 *Daycare  Y/N   NCP ____ CP ____ 
 *Special Expenses  Y/N  NCP ____ CP ____ 

4) Child Support Credits  Y/N 
*Monthly Health Care Expenses Credit Y/N NCP ____ CP ____ 
*Day Care and Special Expenses Credit Y/N NCP ____ CP ____ 
*Other Ordinary Expenses Credit  Y/N  NCP ____ CP ____ 

5) Combined monthly net income greater than $5,000 but less than $7,000 (pre-10/09)  Y/N 
6) Combined monthly net income greater than $7000 (pre-10/09)  Y/N 
7) Combined monthly net income greater than $12,000 (post-10/09)  Y/N 
 

F. Health Care Provisions 

1) NCP to provide health insurance  Y/N 
2) CP to provide health insurance  Y/N 
3) Both parties to provide  Y/N 
4) CP’s Contribution to NCP Premium Included in Worksheet, and in Standard 

Calculation/Transfer Payment (post-10/09) Y/N 
5) Not Addressed  Y/N 

 General Comments:  _____________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________ 
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APPENDIX III - Relevant Statutes 

 
RCW 26.19.065 
Standards for establishing lower and upper limits on child support amounts. 
     (1) Limit at forty-five percent of a parent's net income. Neither parent's child support obligation 
owed for all his or her biological or legal children may exceed forty-five percent of net income except for 
good cause shown.  
     (a) Each child is entitled to a pro rata share of the income available for support, but the court only 
applies the pro rata share to the children in the case before the court. 
     (b) Before determining whether to apply the forty-five percent limitation, the court must consider 
whether it would be unjust to apply the limitation after considering the best interests of the child and the 
circumstances of each parent. Such circumstances include, but are not limited to, leaving insufficient 
funds in the custodial parent's household to meet the basic needs of the child, comparative hardship to the 
affected households, assets or liabilities, and any involuntary limits on either parent's earning capacity 
including incarceration, disabilities, or incapacity. 
     (c) Good cause includes, but is not limited to, possession of substantial wealth, children with day care 
expenses, special medical need, educational need, psychological need, and larger families. 
     (2) Presumptive minimum support obligation. (a) When a parent's monthly net income is below one 
hundred twenty-five percent of the federal poverty guideline for a one-person family, a support order of 
not less than fifty dollars per child per month shall be entered unless the obligor parent establishes that it 
would be unjust to do so in that particular case. The decision whether there is a sufficient basis to deviate 
below the presumptive minimum payment must take into consideration the best interests of the child and 
the circumstances of each parent. Such circumstances can include leaving insufficient funds in the 
custodial parent's household to meet the basic needs of the child, comparative hardship to the affected 
households, assets or liabilities, and earning capacity. 
     (b) The basic support obligation of the parent making the transfer payment, excluding health care, day 
care, and special child rearing expenses, shall not reduce his or her net income below the Self-Support 
Reserve of one hundred twenty-five percent of the federal poverty level, except for the presumptive 
minimum payment of fifty dollars per child per month or when it would be unjust to apply the Self-
Support Reserve limitation after considering the best interests of the child and the circumstances of each 
parent. Such circumstances include, but are not limited to, leaving insufficient funds in the custodial 
parent's household to meet the basic needs of the child, comparative hardship to the affected households, 
assets or liabilities, and earning capacity. This section shall not be construed to require monthly 
substantiation of income. 
     (3) Income above twelve thousand dollars. The economic table is presumptive for combined 
monthly net incomes up to and including twelve thousand dollars. When combined monthly net income 
exceeds twelve thousand dollars, the court may exceed the presumptive amount of support set for 
combined monthly net incomes of twelve thousand dollars upon written findings of fact. 

 
 
 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.065
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RCW 26.19.071 
Standards for determination of income. 

(1) Consideration of all income. All income and resources of each parent's household shall be 
disclosed and considered by the court when the court determines the child support obligation of each 
parent. Only the income of the parents of the children whose support is at issue shall be calculated for 
purposes of calculating the basic support obligation. Income and resources of any other person shall not 
be included in calculating the basic support obligation. 

(2) Verification of income. Tax returns for the preceding two years and current paystubs shall be 
provided to verify income and deductions. Other sufficient verification shall be required for income and 
deductions which do not appear on tax returns or paystubs. 

(3) Income sources included in gross monthly income. Except as specifically excluded in 
subsection (4) of this section, monthly gross income shall include income from any source, including: 

(a) Salaries; 
(b) Wages; 
(c) Commissions; 
(d) Deferred compensation; 
(e) Overtime, except as excluded for income in subsection (4)(i) of this section; 
(f) Contract-related benefits; 
(g) Income from second jobs, except as excluded for income in subsection (4)(i) of this section; 
(h) Dividends; 
(i) Interest; 
(j) Trust income; 
(k) Severance pay; 
(l) Annuities; 
(m) Capital gains; 
(n) Pension retirement benefits; 
(o) Workers' compensation; 
(p) Unemployment benefits; 
(q) Maintenance actually received; 
(r) Bonuses; 
(s) Social security benefits; 
(t) Disability insurance benefits; and 
(u) Income from self-employment, rent, royalties, contracts, proprietorship of a business, or joint 

ownership of a partnership or closely held corporation. 
(4) Income sources excluded from gross monthly income. The following income and resources 

shall be disclosed but shall not be included in gross income: 
(a) Income of a new spouse or new domestic partner or income of other adults in the household; 
(b) Child support received from other relationships; 
(c) Gifts and prizes; 
(d) Temporary assistance for needy families; 
(e) Supplemental security income; 
(f) Aged, blind, or disabled assistance benefits; 
(g) Pregnant women assistance benefits; 
(h) Food stamps; and 
(i) Overtime or income from second jobs beyond forty hours per week averaged over a twelve-

month period worked to provide for a current family's needs, to retire past relationship debts, or to retire 
child support debt, when the court finds the income will cease when the party has paid off his or her 
debts. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.071
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Receipt of income and resources from temporary assistance for needy families, supplemental 
security income, aged, blind, or disabled assistance benefits, and food stamps shall not be a reason to 
deviate from the standard calculation. 

(5) Determination of net income. The following expenses shall be disclosed and deducted from 
gross monthly income to calculate net monthly income: 

(a) Federal and state income taxes; 
(b) Federal insurance contributions act deductions; 
(c) Mandatory pension plan payments; 
(d) Mandatory union or professional dues; 
(e) State industrial insurance premiums; 
(f) Court-ordered maintenance to the extent actually paid; 
(g) Up to five thousand dollars per year in voluntary retirement contributions actually made if the 

contributions show a pattern of contributions during the one-year period preceding the action establishing 
the child support order unless there is a determination that the contributions were made for the purpose of 
reducing child support; and 

(h) Normal business expenses and self-employment taxes for self-employed persons. Justification 
shall be required for any business expense deduction about which there is disagreement. 

Items deducted from gross income under this subsection shall not be a reason to deviate from the 
standard calculation. 

(6) Imputation of income. The court shall impute income to a parent when the parent is 
voluntarily unemployed or voluntarily underemployed. The court shall determine whether the parent is 
voluntarily underemployed or voluntarily unemployed based upon that parent's assets, residence, 
employment and earnings history, job skills, educational attainment, literacy, health, age, criminal record, 
dependency court obligations, and other employment barriers, record of seeking work, the local job 
market, the availability of employers willing to hire the parent, the prevailing earnings level in the local 
community, or any other relevant factors. A court shall not impute income to a parent who is gainfully 
employed on a full-time basis, unless the court finds that the parent is voluntarily underemployed and 
finds that the parent is purposely underemployed to reduce the parent's child support obligation. Income 
shall not be imputed for an unemployable parent. Income shall not be imputed to a parent to the extent the 
parent is unemployed or significantly underemployed due to the parent's efforts to comply with court-
ordered reunification efforts under chapter 13.34 RCW or under a voluntary placement agreement with an 
agency supervising the child. 

(a) Except as provided in (b) of this subsection, in the absence of records of a parent's actual 
earnings, the court shall impute a parent's income in the following order of priority: 

(i) Full-time earnings at the current rate of pay; 
(ii) Full-time earnings at the historical rate of pay based on reliable information, such as 

employment security department data; 
(iii) Full-time earnings at a past rate of pay where information is incomplete or sporadic; 
(iv) Earnings of thirty-two hours per week at minimum wage in the jurisdiction where the parent 

resides if the parent is on or recently coming off temporary assistance for needy families or recently 
coming off aged, blind, or disabled assistance benefits, pregnant women assistance benefits, essential 
needs and housing support, supplemental security income, or disability, has recently been released from 
incarceration, or is a recent high school graduate. Imputation of earnings at thirty-two hours per week 
under this subsection is a rebuttable presumption; 

(v) Full-time earnings at minimum wage in the jurisdiction where the parent resides if the parent 
has a recent history of minimum wage earnings, has never been employed and has no earnings history, or 
has no significant earnings history; 

(vi) Median net monthly income of year-round full-time workers as derived from the United 
States bureau of census, current population reports, or such replacement report as published by the bureau 
of census. 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=13.34
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(b) When a parent is currently enrolled in high school full-time, the court shall consider the 
totality of the circumstances of both parents when determining whether each parent is voluntarily 
unemployed or voluntarily underemployed. If a parent who is currently enrolled in high school is 
determined to be voluntarily unemployed or voluntarily underemployed, the court shall impute income at 
earnings of twenty hours per week at minimum wage in the jurisdiction where that parent resides. 
Imputation of earnings at twenty hours per week under this subsection is a rebuttable presumption. 
  
RCW 26.19.075 
Standards for deviation from the standard calculation. 
     (1) Reasons for deviation from the standard calculation include but are not limited to the following: 
     (a) Sources of income and tax planning. The court may deviate from the standard calculation after 
consideration of the following: 
     (i) Income of a new spouse or new domestic partner if the parent who is married to the new spouse or 
in a partnership with a new domestic partner is asking for a deviation based on any other reason. Income 
of a new spouse or new domestic partner is not, by itself, a sufficient reason for deviation; 
     (ii) Income of other adults in the household if the parent who is living with the other adult is asking for 
a deviation based on any other reason. Income of the other adults in the household is not, by itself, a 
sufficient reason for deviation; 
     (iii) Child support actually received from other relationships; 
     (iv) Gifts; 
     (v) Prizes; 
     (vi) Possession of wealth, including but not limited to savings, investments, real estate holdings and 
business interests, vehicles, boats, pensions, bank accounts, insurance plans, or other assets; 
     (vii) Extraordinary income of a child;  
     (viii) Tax planning considerations. A deviation for tax planning may be granted only if the child would 
not receive a lesser economic benefit due to the tax planning; or 
     (ix) Income that has been excluded under RCW 26.19.071(4)(h) if the person earning that income asks 
for a deviation for any other reason. 
     (b) Nonrecurring income. The court may deviate from the standard calculation based on a finding 
that a particular source of income included in the calculation of the basic support obligation is not a 
recurring source of income. Depending on the circumstances, nonrecurring income may include overtime, 
contract-related benefits, bonuses, or income from second jobs. Deviations for nonrecurring income shall 
be based on a review of the nonrecurring income received in the previous two calendar years. 
     (c) Debt and high expenses. The court may deviate from the standard calculation after consideration 
of the following expenses: 
     (i) Extraordinary debt not voluntarily incurred; 
     (ii) A significant disparity in the living costs of the parents due to conditions beyond their control; 
     (iii) Special needs of disabled children; 
     (iv) Special medical, educational, or psychological needs of the children; or 
     (v) Costs incurred or anticipated to be incurred by the parents in compliance with court-ordered 
reunification efforts under chapter 13.34 RCW or under a voluntary placement agreement with an agency 
supervising the child. 
     (d) Residential schedule. The court may deviate from the standard calculation if the child spends a 
significant amount of time with the parent who is obligated to make a support transfer payment. The court 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.19.075
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may not deviate on that basis if the deviation will result in insufficient funds in the household receiving 
the support to meet the basic needs of the child or if the child is receiving temporary assistance for needy 
families. When determining the amount of the deviation, the court shall consider evidence concerning the 
increased expenses to a parent making support transfer payments resulting from the significant amount of 
time spent with that parent and shall consider the decreased expenses, if any, to the party receiving the 
support resulting from the significant amount of time the child spends with the parent making the support 
transfer payment. 
     (e) Children from other relationships. The court may deviate from the standard calculation when 
either or both of the parents before the court have children from other relationships to whom the parent 
owes a duty of support. 
     (i) The Child Support Schedule shall be applied to the mother, father, and children of the family before 
the court to determine the presumptive amount of support. 
     (ii) Children from other relationships shall not be counted in the number of children for purposes of 
determining the basic support obligation and the standard calculation. 
     (iii) When considering a deviation from the standard calculation for children from other relationships, 
the court may consider only other children to whom the parent owes a duty of support. The court may 
consider court-ordered payments of child support for children from other relationships only to the extent 
that the support is actually paid. 
     (iv) When the court has determined that either or both parents have children from other relationships, 
deviations under this section shall be based on consideration of the total circumstances of both 
households. All child support obligations paid, received, and owed for all children shall be disclosed and 
considered. 
     (2) All income and resources of the parties before the court, new spouses or new domestic partners, 
and other adults in the households shall be disclosed and considered as provided in this section. The 
presumptive amount of support shall be determined according to the Child Support Schedule. Unless 
specific reasons for deviation are set forth in the written findings of fact and are supported by the 
evidence, the court shall order each parent to pay the amount of support determined by using the standard 
calculation. 
     (3) The court shall enter findings that specify reasons for any deviation or any denial of a party's 
request for any deviation from the standard calculation made by the court. The court shall not consider 
reasons for deviation until the court determines the standard calculation for each parent. 
     (4) When reasons exist for deviation, the court shall exercise discretion in considering the extent to 
which the factors would affect the support obligation. 
     (5) Agreement of the parties is not by itself adequate reason for any deviations from the standard 
calculation. 
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