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CHILD SUPPORT OVERVIEW 
 
 
 
 

Under Delaware law, both parents have a duty to support their child until the 

child is 18 years of age, or, if the child is still in high school, until the child 

graduates or turns 19 years of age, whichever comes first. 
 
 

A support action begins when one parent files a support petition, requesting 

the Court to order the other parent to pay child support. After the petition is 

filed, the Court may order genetic testing to establish paternity, if necessary. 

Most parents seeking support are represented by the Division of Child 

Support Enforcement (DCSE). In those cases, DCSE files all actions and 

pursues administrative remedies also. The Court encourages all parents 

seeking support to explore the services of DCSE. 
 
 

After filing a Petition for Child Support, the first time that individuals come to 

Family Court for a child support order, they must attend a mediation 

conference, unless it is a petition for child support from an out-of-state 

agency, which will be scheduled directly with a Commissioner. A Family 

Court mediator will use the Delaware Child Support Formula to calculate the 

support amount and try to help the parents reach an agreement as to a 

support amount. If parents cannot reach an agreement at the mediation 

conference, a temporary order may issue and a hearing before a 

Commissioner will occur either on the same day or on a future date. 
 
 

The amount of child support is set using the Delaware Child Support For- 

mula, sometimes called the “Melson Formula”. The formula considers both 

parents’ incomes and the needs of the child in arriving at a monthly figure. 

The formula is used in every case to ensure that the amount is fair and that 

children receive enough support. 
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CHILD SUPPORT OVERVIEW, cont’d 
 
 
 
 
 
 

If a parent fails to pay support as ordered, DCSE or the person entitled to 

receive support may file a petition for “arrears”. At the hearing, an additional 

amount may be added to the order and remedies such as license 

suspension or incarceration may be considered. Attachment of wages is the 

most common remedy and will occur upon identification of an employer. An 

arrears petition is not required for a wage attachment. 
 
 

Upon a substantial change in circumstances, either parent may file a Petition 

for Child Support Modification. 
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THE CHILD SUPPORT PROCESS 
 
 
 

The Petitioner or DCSE starts the 
Child Support Process by filing a 

Petition for Support with the Court. 

  

 

The Respondent must be served with 
the Petition for Support and has the 

option of filing an Answer within 20 
days after service. 

  

 
 

The case will be scheduled for Mediation or 
Commissioner’s hearing upon positive service, unless 

Mediation is prohibited. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Petitioner and the Respon- 
dent reach an agreement at 

Mediation and a Consent Order is 
signed. 

 
The Petitioner and the Respon- 

dent do NOT reach an agreement 
at Mediation and an Interim 

Order is entered. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Court hearing before a 
Commissioner. This may take 

place directly following mediation, 
or at a later scheduled date. 
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Chapter 1: General Information 
 
 
 

What is the Delaware law regarding child support? 
 
 

Both parents have a duty to support a child until the child is 18 years of age; or, 
if the child is still in high school until the child graduates or attains age 19, 
whichever occurs first. This is true regardless of whether the parents are, were, 
or never married. 

-The Delaware  law regarding support can be found in the Delaware 
Code, Title 13, Chapter 5. 

 
 

How is the amount of the support order calculated? 
 

The Delaware Child Support Formula is used to set the amount of the support 
order. It is based on both parents’ incomes and the needs of the child. The 
Formula calculation must be performed for every case to ensure that the 
amount will be fair and the children will receive enough support. However, it 
may be challenged if there are special circumstances, and a different amount 
may be ordered. 

- Specific instructions for child support calculations are found in chapter 9 
of this packet and Family Court Civil Rules 500-509. 

 
What factors are taken into consideration in calculating  the 
child support amount? 

 
1. All earnings and income of both parents. 
2. Support of other children. 
3. The child’s health care needs through health insurance or other means. 
4. Child care/school expenses (daycare expenses necessary for the parents to 

work, but private school expenses only under limited circumstances). 
5. Whether the child lives with both parents equally or primarily resides with one 

parent. 
 
 

Will a wage attachment be ordered? 
 
 

Yes, in most cases. If the parent is working, a wage attachment must be 
ordered by law and sent to the employer. DCSE issues all wage attachments. 
The employer must honor the wage attachment. If the parent changes jobs, the 
Court must be notified by the parent. The Court will direct DCSE to transfer the 
wage attachment to the new employer. Wage attachments are the best way to 
get regular payments for the child since the payments are made on the same 
schedule that the wages are paid (monthly, weekly, bi-weekly, etc.). 
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Chapter 1: General Information cont’d 
 
 
 
 
 

If the parent who pays support is not allowed visitation, must 
he/she continue to pay support? 

 
Yes, visitation and child support are two separate issues. Support is for the 
child, and his/her needs do not end if visitation stops. If a Court order for 
visitation is not followed, the non-custodial parent may file a separate Rule to 
Show Cause Petition to enforce the order. Similarly, nonpayment of child sup- 
port is not a justification for withholding visitation. 

 
 
 

Where else can I find support regarding child support services? 
What kind of services would they provide? 

 
 
 

The Division of Child Support Enforcement provides a full range of child support 
services to any individual who applies for services and pays an application fee. 

 
The Division will file petitions in Family Court for child support, modification of 
support orders, and enforcement of support orders. The Division also may 
enforce support orders administratively by intercepting tax refunds and 
suspending licenses. 
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Division of Child Support Enforcement 
Information 

 
 
 
 

The Division of Child Support Enforcement provides a full range of child support 

services to any individual who applies for services and pays an application fee. 

The Division will file petitions in Family Court for child support, modification of 

support orders and enforcement of support orders for its clients. The Division 

may also enforce support orders administratively by intercepting tax refunds and 

suspending licenses. 

Below is contact information for the Division of Child Support Enforcement: 

Customer service: Automated Assistance Lines– Toll Free 
 

New Castle County: (302) 577-7171 
 

Kent County: (302) 739-8299 
 

Sussex County: (302) 856-5386 
 
 
 
 

Office Locations 
 
 

New Castle County Kent County Sussex County 

Churchman’s Corporate 
Center 
84A Christiana Road 
New Castle, DE 19720 

Carroll’s Plaza 
1114 S. DuPont Hwy. 
Suite # 101 
Dover, DE 19901 

9 Academy Street 
Georgetown, DE 19947 

6  



Chapter 2: Petition for Child Support 
 
 

What do I file to ask for child support? 
 
 

If the parents are not living together, either parent may ask the Court for a child 
support order. This is done by filing a Petition for Child Support. 

-Sample Petition for Child Support may be found on page 8. 
-When filling out the Petition for Support please note the following: 

-Only check the first box if you are seeking spousal support 
(support before a divorce is pending). 

-Check the second box if you are requesting the Respondent pro- 
vide medical support (health insurance/out of pocket expenses) 
for the child(ren). 

-Check the third box if you want the child support to be retroactive 
(you want the court to order child support prior to the date of 
filing the Petition). 

 

 
Is there a fee associated with the filing of a petition? 

 
There are no filing fees in cases where either parent is a client of DCSE. In all 
other cases, the Court charges a fee for filing petitions. However, the fee may 
be waived if an individual is unable to pay it. To request that the fee be waived, 
you must complete the Application to Proceed In Forma Pauperis. 

 
 
 

What happens after a Petition for Support is filed? 
 

After a Petition for Support is filed, the Respondent will receive a copy of the Pe- 
tition and has the option of filing an answer within 20 days after being served. 
Both parties will then receive notice of a scheduling date for a mediation confer- 
ence or hearing before a Commissioner. 

 
 

Do I need to attach any evidence to my Petition for Support? 
 

No. Evidence such as pay stubs, child care bills, etc. will be reviewed at the 
mediation conference and/or hearing, if one is necessary. You do not need to 
attach any documentation to the Petition for Support. 

 
 

Do I need to state how much child support I want on my Peti- 
tion? 

 
No. Child Support is calculated based on a formula that considers many factors 
including, but not limited to the incomes of both parties and expenses for the 
child. 
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(pe 

y without just cause. 

Form 329 
(Rev. 5/07) 

 
 

The Family Court of the State of DelawaCrheeck the 
county in which 

 
 
 
 

DCSE # 

In and For New Castle Kent Sussex County 
 

PETITION FOR SUPPORT 
Fill in information about the Petitioner 
(person requesting support) and Respondent 

Respondent 

you are filing. 

Petitioner 
Name 

Nrasmone being aske d to pay support). File Number 

Sarah Smith Michael Jones CK04-0221 
Street Address Street Address 

111 South Oak Street 555 Main Street 
Apt. or P.O. Box Number Apt. or P.O. Box Number Petition Number 

 
City State Zip Code City State Zip Code 

Dover DE 19901 Dover DE 19901 
Social Security Number Date of Birth Social Security Number Date of Birth 

111-22-3333 2/25/1973 444-55-6666 3/14/1977 
Attorney Name and Phone Number Attorney Name and Phone Number 

n/a n/a 
Driver’s License #:    345678 State: DE Driver’s License #:    987654 State: DE 
Employer: ABC Corporation Employer: DEF Corporation 
Employer Address:    123 South Street Employer Address:   456 North Street 

Dover, DE 19901 Dover, DE 19901 
 

IN THE INTEREST OF the following child(ren): 
Name Date of Birth Name Date of Birth 

 

Shawn Jones 5/25/1995 
Social Security Number: Social Security Number: 
Name Date of Birth Name 

 
 

Social Security Number: Social Security Number: 

 

Fill in child(ren) information here.  
If you are asking for support for 
children withDadteifofef Breirntht fathers, you 
must file a separate petition for each 
child. 

Name Date of Birth Name Date of Birth 
 
 

Social Security Number: Social Security Number: 
 

RESPONDENT owes legal duty of support to PETITIONER. 

 
Only check this box if you are 
requesting spousal support. 

 
 
 
 
 

Check 
this box 
to 
request 
child 

1. PETITIONER requires the sum of $ per  for spousal support. 

RESPONDENT owes legal duty of support to Children. 
1. PETITIONER requests that the Delaware Child Support Formula be used to determine the 

appropriate obligation. 
 

PETITIONER requests that the RESPONDENT be ordereCdhteockprthoevside eboMxesdtiocatel lSl uthpepcoorut ritn the form 
of health insurance for the child(ren); to provide the PETITifIOyoNuEwRanwt iRthescpuornredennt tintosubreance 
documents; and to provide unreimbursed health care expreenspsoenssaibslerefoqruhireeadlthbyintshueraDnceelaware Child 

support. Support Formula. and/or if you want support 
PETITIONER requests that the RESPONDENT be orderepdaytmo epnatsy tsoubpeproerttroreactrtoivaec. tive to 

   1/1/2006 (up to a maximum of two years prior to the date of filing), with credit given 
for support provided, if any. 

 

2. PETITIONER alleges the following: 
RESPONDENT has refused or failed to comply with said dut Check one of these boxes to explain 

to the Court whether Respondent 
RESPONDENT has been providing some support. has been paying any support. 

WHEREFORE, PETITIONER prays that a Summons be issued to RESPONDENT. 
 
 

3/1/2008 Sarah Smith 
Date Petitioner/Attorney 
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Chapter 3: Mediation Conference 
 
 
 

What happens at a mediation conference? 
 

The first time parties come to Court for a child support order, they must attend a 
mediation conference. A Family Court mediator will use the Delaware Child 
Support Formula to calculate the support amount, and help the parents to come 
to an agreement. 

 
 
 

Do parties have to go to a mediation conference to get a child 
support order? 

 
Yes, a mediation conference is the first step, unless mediation is prohibited by 
statute or Court Rule. Most parents reach an agreement during the mediation 
conference, and a child support consent order is signed. If the parents cannot 
agree, an interim or temporary order may be issued. Then a hearing before a 
commissioner will be scheduled to determine the amount of child support and 
issue a permanent order. 

 
 
 
 

What do I need to bring to the mediation conference? 
 

You must to bring any evidence of your income and expenses for your 
child(ren). 

 
Adequate documentation of income includes, but is not limited to: 

-recent tax returns 
-W-2 Forms 
-a party’s three most recent pay stubs 
-documentation of payments from Social Security 
-documentation of payments from Unemployment Compensation 
-documentation of payments from Worker’s Compensation 
-a recent physician’s statement as to any claimed disability 

 
Self-employed individuals must also bring a “Schedule C” tax form and 
supporting documentation for significant expense categories. 

 
Adequate documentation of child care expenses may include, but is not limited 
to: 

-cancelled checks used as payment for childcare 
-childcare contracts 
-receipts of payment for childcare 
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Chapter 3: Mediation Conference cont’d 
 

 
 
 
 

What happens if a party does not bring documentation of in- 
come and expenses to the mediation conference? 

 
Failure to bring documentation of income may result in the Court “attributing 
income” to that party. This means that the Court will determine how much 
income the party should be earning based on their education, training and 
experience and will use that number in the calculation. If this number is more 
than the party actually makes, it will result in a higher child support payment. 
Therefore, it is in each party’s best interest to bring documentation of income. 

 
Failure to bring documentation of expenses may result in the dismissal of your 
petition or a result contrary to your interests. 

 
What happens if the parties cannot agree at mediation? 

 
If the parties cannot agree on a support amount at the mediation conference, an 
interim or temporary order may be issued. A hearing then will be scheduled 
before a Commissioner. 
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Chapter 4: Inter-state registration 
 
 
 

If I relocate to another state, do I still have to pay child support orders 
from the state that originally issued them? 

 
Yes. The Uniform Interstate Family Support Act (“UIFSA”) requires states to 
enforce child support orders entered by other states. 

 
If I register my out-of-state child support order in Delaware, can it be 
modified in Delaware? 

 
UIFSA prohibits states from modifying child support orders from other states 
unless certain jurisdictional requirements are met. Modification of the order can 
only occur under very strict circumstances. An existing support order can be 
registered as often as needed when an obligor relocates from state to state. 

 
If I have a support order against me from another state and I move to Dela- 
ware, is this order still binding? 

 
Yes. Under UIFSA, a support order or income-withholding order issued by 
another state may be registered in this State for enforcement. 

 
How do I go about registering a child support order from another state in 
Delaware? 

 
To register your out-of-state child support order in Delaware, you must complete 
an Affidavit and Request to Register a Foreign Support Order. You must file 
this form, along with two copies of the most recent foreign support order, one of 
which must be certified by the Court that issued it. 

-a sample of this form may be found on page 12-13. 
 

What happens after I file the Affidavit and Request to Register the Foreign 
Support Order? 

 
The Court will register the foreign support order and send a letter to the other 
party informing them that the order has been registered in Delaware. The other 
party may oppose the registration within 20 days. The Court will then hold a 
hearing. If the other party does not oppose the registration of the order, the 
order will remain registered in Delaware. 

 
 
 

It is strongly recommended that anyone seeking to enforce an out of state 
child support order enlist the services of the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement. 
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Check the The Family Court of the State of Delawacrouenty in which 
In and For New Castle Kent Sussex County you are filing. 

 
 

AFFIDAVIT AND REQUEST TFOill Rin EinfGorImSatTioEn aRboAut thFeOPeRtitiEonIeGr (NperSsoUn PPORT ORDER 
reqsupeosntidnegnt (atht ethoethsuerp poartyorindetrhebeorieggiinsatel roerdd)ear)n.d 

Petitioner ReRespondent 
Name Name File Number 

Sarah Smith Michael Jones CK04-0221 
Street Address Street Address 

111 South Oak Street 555 Main Street 
Apt. or P.O. Box Number Apt. or P.O. Box Number Petition Number 

 
City State Zip Code City State Zip Code 

Dover DE 19901 Dover DE 19901 
Social Security Number Date of Birth Social Security Number Date of Birth 

111-22-3333 2/25/1973 444-55-6666 3/14/1977 
Attorney Name and Phone Number Attorney Name and Phone Number 

n/a n/a 
 

BE IT REMEMBERED, that on this date, April 17, 2008 
Sarah Smith                   (“Petitioner”), who, being duly sworn by me according to 

The law personally appeared before me, a Notary Public for the State and County declared above, 
did depose and say: 

 

 
1. I hereby request that the Family Court of the State of Delaware register the attached support 

order issued by a court of another state. 
 

2. I have attached two (2) copies of said Order, at least one (1) of which is a certified copy. 
 

3. To the best of my knowledge and belief, the arrearages owed are: $ 2,400 . 
 

4. I have provided below the name, address and social security number of the obligor, listed as 
Respondent, above. 

 

5. The name and address of the obligor’s employer is: 
 
 

Name 

DEF Corporation 
Street Address 

456 North Street 
Apt. or P.O. Box Number 

Fill in the amount of arrears 
currently owed. 

 
 
 
 

Fill in information about the 
Respondent’s employer. 

 
City State Zip Code 

Dover DE 19901 
 

6. If the obligor owns property in Delaware that is not exempt from execution, that property is 
located at the following address: 

 
 
 
 

Fill in information about any 
property that the Respondent owns. 
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Street Address 
 555 Main Street  
Apt. or P.O. Box Number 

City State Zip Code 
 Dover  DE  19901  

 
 

7. ve simultaneously filed a petition or comparable pleading seeking enforcement of this 
Order. Sign in the presence of 

a notary. 
 

In order to request that the Court register your foreign 
support order, you must also be asking that the Court 
enforce that support order. Therefore, you must also file a 
separate pleading requesting enforcement. 

 
 

Sarah Smith 
Affiant 

 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me this date April 17, 2008 
 
 

This portion will be 
completed by a 
notary/court staff. 

Donna King 
Notary Public 
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Chapter 5: Genetic Testing 
 
 
 

I am not sure of the paternity of my child. What can be done? 
 
 

The Court may order genetic testing to establish paternity. 
 

If the father denies paternity, what can be done? 
 
 

The Court may order genetic testing. An appointment will be made for the man, 
mother, and child at a laboratory. Samples of blood or other genetic matter will 
be taken and tested. The tests can prove that the man is not the father, or they 
can provide evidence that he is the father. 

 
What is the process for genetic testing? 

 
Genetic testing may be ordered by the Court or requested by one or both 
parties. If a party wishes genetic testing to be performed, the party may file a 
Petition for Parentage Determination. The case will then be scheduled for a 
mediation conference where the court mediator will have the parties sign a 
Consent Order for Genetic Testing, or will be scheduled for a hearing with a 
Commissioner. The parties will then have 30 days to provide the Court with the 
genetic testing fee of $108 for mother, father, and child and an added $36 for 
each additional person tested (prices may be subject to change). It Once the 
Court receives payment, an appointment will be made for the parties at Lab- 
corp. 

 
How long does it take to get results? 

 
Results of genetic testing are usually received by the Court within 30 days of the 
date that ALL parties are tested. 

 
How will I be notified of the results? 

 
The Court will notify you of the results of the genetic test by mail. Results will 
not be given over the telephone due to confidentiality. 

 
What will happen after paternity is determined? 

 
After the genetic testing is completed, the parties will be scheduled for their next 
court proceeding, unless paternity was the only issue. 
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Chapter 6: License Suspension & Restoration 
 
 
 

Who can suspend my license if I don’t pay child support? 
 

Both the Division of Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) and the Family 
Court can suspend your driver’s license. 

 
 
 

How does DCSE suspend my license? 
 

If you owe $1,000 or more in past due child support and have not made a 
complete payment in the past 30 days, DCSE may send you a notice that it may 
suspend your driver’s license. After you receive the letter, you may avoid 
suspension by: 

1) your arrears in full OR 
2) a payment plan agreement* OR 
3) in writing, a DCSE administrative hearing. 

 
* If a consent plan is agreed upon, one missed payment will result in suspension. 

 
 
 
 

How can I get my license back if it is suspended by DCSE? 
 

If DCSE suspended your license, you must either pay off your balance or enter 
into a payment agreement with DCSE. 

-If those options are not available and it has been more than 2 ½ years 
since current support was established or modified, you can file a petition for 
child support modification. If it has been less than 2 ½ years, your child support 
modification petition must state a substantial change of circumstances not 
caused by your own voluntary or wrongful conduct and unrelated to license 
suspension. During the resulting mediation and hearings, license restoration 
can be addressed. 

 
 
 

When can Family Court suspend my license? 
 

License suspension occurs automatically when Family Court issues a capias for 
failure to appear at any paternity or child support proceeding. Upon resolution 
of the capias you must apply for reinstatement of your license at the Department 
of Motor Vehicle. 

 
Family Court can suspend your license if it is found that you are in contempt in a 
child support arrears action. The Court can suspend a license but defer the 
suspension for six (6) months on condition of regular payments. At any time 
during the six-month period or within 30 days, DCSE can file a motion to 
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Chapter 6: License Suspension & Restoration 
Cont’d 

 
suspend the license or extend the deferral.  DCSE cannot suspend your license 
during the period of deferral. 

 
 

How can I get my license back if it is suspended by Family Court? 
 

If you disagree with the Court’s decision to suspend your license, you can file 
either: 

1) A Motion for Re-argument to be considered by the Commissioner who 
ordered the suspension OR 
2) A Review of a Commissioner’s Order to be reviewed by a Family 
Court Judge upon payment of a filing fee and the costs associated with 
preparation of the transcript of the Commissioner’s hearing, if any, 
provided it is filed within 30 days of the Commissioner’s Order. 

 
 

How can I get my license back when I’ve paid the arrears? 
 

If you do not appeal the decision but believe later that you have done all that the 
Court required in its order of suspension, then you can file a Motion to Lift the 
Suspension. 

 
 
 
 

If the Family Court or DCSE directs my license to be restored, can I start 
driving again? 

 

No. You must go to the Department of Motor Vehicles and pay a reinstatement 
fee. Additionally, your license may not be reinstated if you have other 
restrictions unrelated to child support (i.e. unpaid traffic fines, DUI, etc.) 
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Chapter 7: Arrears & Contempt 
 
 
 

What is arrears? 
 

Arrears is the legal term for a type of debt that occurs after missed payments. 
In the case of child support, arrears refer to the accumulation of missed child 
support payments by the non-custodial parent. 

 
If the non-custodial parent has accumulated arrears, what may the custo- 
dial parent file? 

 
The custodial parent (or DCSE on their behalf) may file a Petition for Child Sup- 
port Arrears. Respondent will then have the opportunity to file an Answer and a 
hearing may be held to allow Respondent to explain to the Court why the 
payments have not been made. 

-A sample form may be found on page 19. 
 

If the non-custodial parent has accumulated arrears, what may the Court 
do? 

 
When arrears have accrued for 90 days under a support order, and the existing 
support order does not include payment on arrears, the amount of the order 
may be increased by 10 percent of the current support order or $5.00, 
whichever is greater. 

 
The Court may order the defendant to pay such support in accordance with a 
plan approved by the Court. 

 
When does the obligation for payment of arrears terminate? 

 
Obligation for payment of arrears or past due support shall terminate by 
operation of law when all arrears or past due support have been paid. 

 
What are the penalties for accumulating and failing to pay arrears? 

 
Any person who owes $1,000 or more in arrears or retroactive support and is 30 
or more days delinquent in payment of a child support order from either Family 
Court or  the Division of Child Support Enforcement may have their license 
suspended as defined in Title 13 Delaware Code section 516. Additional 
penalties may include sanctions such as fines and, ultimately, jail. 
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Chapter 7: Arrears & Contempt 
 
 
 
 
 
 

If incarceration is a possibility, will the Respondent be represented by an 
attorney? 

 
If the possibility for incarceration for failure to pay support exists, the Respon- 
dent will receive the paperwork to request the appointment of an attorney. This 
request may be granted if the Court determines that the Respondent is indigent. 

 
 
 

If I do not think that the custodial parent is using the support payments 
properly, what may I file? 

 
You may file a Petition for Accounting of Support. In this Petition, you must es- 
tablish good cause for the Court to order an accounting. If the Court finds good 
cause to believe that the support payments are not being used properly, they 
may order an accounting. This would require the custodial parent to 
demonstrate what they are using the support payments for. However, if you ask 
for an accounting and no good cause is shown, costs and fees will be assessed. 
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456 North Street 

Form 343 
(Rev. 5/07) 

 
 

The Family Court of the State of Delaware 
In and For New Castle Kent Sussex County 

 
 

PETITION FOR CHILD SUPPORT ARREARS 

Check the county in 
which you are filing. 

 
 

 
DCSE NUMBER 

Fill in the requested information about yourself (Petitioner) 
and theFRILeEspNoUndMeBntE. R CK04-0221 PETITION NUMBER     

 

Petitioner Respondent 
Name DOB Name DOB 

 

Sarah Smith 2/25/1973 Michael Jones 3/14/1977 
Street Address Street Address 

 

111 South Oak Street 555 Main Street 
Apt. or P.O. Box Number Apt. or P.O. Box Number 

 
City State Zip Code City State Zip Code 

 

Dover DE 19901 Dover DE 19901 
Home Phone # (302) 555-0099 Home Phone # (302) 467-9908 
Work Phone # (302) 255-0000 Work Phone # (302) 565-0707 
Cell Phone # (302) 999-9999 Cell Phone # (302) 575-1111 
Attorney Name and Phone Number Attorney Name and Phone Number 

 

n/a n/a 
Employer: ABC Corporation Employer: DEF Corporation 
Employer Address: 123 South Street Employer Address: 

Enter the information about the child 
Dover, DE 19901 support order that Respondent has noDtover, DE 19901 

made payments on. 
 
 

The prior Court order dated 4/5/2006 required the respondent to pay $  400.00 current 
support plus $ 50.00 arrears/back support per month : 
The Petitioner seeks the Court to direct the Respondent to appear in this Court to show cause why RESPONDENT 
should not be held in contempt for the following: Check the appropriate boxes to 

explain to the Court why the 
respondent has not complied 

RESPONDENT has failed to comply with the Support Order mentiownitehdthaebOovrdeear nanddiswihnaat ryroeuars as of this date 
in the amount of $ 2,400 and is therefore in contempt wofisshatihdeOCroduerrt.toThdeo.last payment was 
received on 10/1/2007 . 

 

RESPONDENT has failed to comply with the medical provisions of this Order. 
 

Basis for medical claim:     

Establish arrears and enter a judgment that can be recorded as a lien in the Office of the Prothonotary 

Other     
 
 
 
 

Therefore, the Petitioner requests the child support obligation be enforced and that the Court impose such sanctions, 
penalties or other relief as deemed appropriate. 

 
 
 

3/1/2008 Sarah Smith 
Date Petitioner/Attorney 
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Chapter 8: Calculating Child Support 
 
 
 

The instructions found on pages 25-28 for child support calculation are a very 

detailed explanation of the factors that the Court will consider when determining 

the appropriate amount of child support to be paid. The following 3 pages offer 

some key points to remember. For a comprehensive list of factors that can af- 

fect your child support calculation, please review section XVII of the Family 

Court Civil Rules which are available online at 

http://courts.delaware.gov/rules/FCSectionXVII2010.pdf 
 
 
 
 

Page 24 is a blank child support calculation that you may use to estimate the 

amount of child support that may be owed. An automated version of this 

calculation is available online at http://courts.delaware.gov/family/. 
 
 
 

The Family Court of the State of Delaware has established the Delaware Child 

Support Formula under Family Court Civil Rule 52(c). This formula outlines the 

procedure for determining a child support obligation in the State of Delaware. 

The formula is found in the Family Court Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 500 et 

seq. The formula is based on the following principles pursuant to 13 Delaware 

Code §514: 
 

o Each parent is entitled to keep a minimum amount of income for their 

basic needs. 

o Each child's basic needs are taken care of before the parents may 

retain any additional income. 

o If income is available after the primary needs of the parents and each 

child are met, the child(ren) is (are) entitled to share in any additional 

income of the parents. 
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Chapter 8: Calculating Child Support cont’d 
 
 
 
 
 

Things to keep in mind for child support calculations 
 

The specific instructions for calculating child support are found on pages 
25-28. The following are a few key points to remember: 

 
 

The Melson Formula is a Rebuttable Presumption 
 

-The Delaware Child Support Formula serves as a rebuttable presumption for 

establishing child support obligations in the State of Delaware. This means that 

the Court will use the Formula unless it finds that the results would not be in the 

best interest of the child(ren) or would be unfair to the parties involved. 
 
 

Income Attribution 
 

- Each party is attributed with their actual income, as shown on pay stubs, tax 

returns or other similar documents. The Court will attribute income to either 

party in the following situations: 

-voluntary unemployment or unemployment due to misconduct 
 

-underemployment (not working up to one’s earning capacity 

based on training, education and experience) 

-failure to provide sufficient evidence of income 
 

-failure to appear at a mediation conference or court hearing 
 

-The Court may use the Department of Labor wage surveys to estimate a 

party’s earning capability. 

-Every parent will be presumed to have an earning capacity of at least minimum 

wage, or $1,478 per month. 

-If a party receives unemployment or disability compensation, they must present 

evidence of this income at the mediation conference or hearing. 
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Chapter 8: Calculating Child Support cont’d 
 
 
 
 
 

Child Care Expenses 
 

The Melson Formula allows for the fair allocation of all expenses for child care 

required for the parent(s) to work. Child care expenses must be documented 

and presented at the mediation conference/hearing.  Cancelled checks, 

childcare contracts and receipts are acceptable forms of documentation. 

 
Private School 

 

Private school expenses will only be included as primary expenses where: 
 

1) the parties have adequate financial resources 
 

2) Consideration of the specific case, including whether: 
 

-the parents previously agreed to pay for private school 
 

-the child has special needs that cannot be accommodated in a 

public school setting 

-immediate family history indicates that the child would likely have 

attended private school but for the parties’ separation. 

 
Shared Equal Placement 

 

Shared equal placement of a child(ren) is determined by the number of annual 

overnights the child(ren) spends in each household.  If the number of overnights 

is at least 175 per year, the parties are considered to have shared equal 

placement and each child(ren) will be counted at one-half in each household for 

purposes of the calculation.  Be advised that failure to contribute to shared inci- 

dental expenses can lead to denial of shared placement status. 

 
Parenting Time Adjustment 

 

If a child spends an average of more than 109, but less than 175 annual 

overnights in the household of the parent from whom support is sought, the 

calculation shall be adjusted to reflect the amount of extra time spent with the 

parent. 
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Chapter 8: Calculating Child Support cont’d 
 
 
 

Adjustment for Support of Other Children 
 

The child support calculation will consider the number of other children not of 

this relationship supported by each parent. 

 
Military Allowances 

 

The Formula currently exempts from income cost of living stipends paid to offset 

assignments to high income locations.  Military Housing Allowances (BAH) vary 

depending upon both rank and location. BAH shall be limited to no more than 

the entitlement of a service member stationed at Dover Air Force Base. The 

BAH tables (“with dependents”) for Dover AFB will need to be readily available 

to mediators and Commissioners and linked to the on-line calculation. Addition- 

ally, military allowances for clothing shall be excluded from income. 

 
Incarcerated Parents 

 

Service of a term of incarceration that exceeds or is anticipated to exceed one 

year may be considered as evidence of a diminished earning capacity unless 

the individual: 

• Has independent income, resources or assets with which to pay an obliga- 

tion of support consistent with their pre-incarceration circumstances; or 

• Is incarcerated for the nonpayment of child support or for any offense of 

which his or her dependent child or a child support recipient was a victim. 

• However, incarceration is not a ground for modification of a current support 

obligation last calculated within the last two and one-half years. 
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children  % children primary SOLA minimum overnights % 
0 100 1 500  17 130 110 – 132 10 
1  82 2 810  24 200 133 – 150 20 
2  73 3 1080  29 270 151 – 164 30 

3+  67 EA +250  +4 +60 165 – 174 40 
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Form 509 
(01/13) 

 
 

The Family Court of the State of Delaware 
CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATION 

Case Name:    
Petition #:_   

Calculation Date:    
Period Covered:    

 
1 GrossIncome Wages 2d Job self taxable nontax Father Mother 

Father 

Mother 
2 Taxes Federal FICA self State local 

Father 

Mother 
3 Deductions Health Pension Union Disability other 

Father 

Mother 
4 Self Support Allowance* 4 $ 1110 $ 1110 
5 Net Income after Self-Support (Line 1 – Lines 2, 3 & 4) 5 
6 Number of Children not of this union supported by each party 6 
7 Adjustment for Support of Dependent children (Table A) 7 % % Total 
8 Net Available for Primary Support (Line 5 x Line 7) 8 
9 Share of Total Net Available (Line 8 ÷ Line 8 Total) 9 % % 100% 
10 Number of Children of this union in each household 10 
11 Primary Support Allowance (Table B) 11 
12 A – Child Care expenses necessary for parent to work 12A 

B – Health Insurance Allocable to children 12B 
C - Private School Tuition | other primary expenses 12C 

13 Primary Need (Line 11 Total + Lines 12A & B Totals) 13 
14 Primary Support Obligation (Line 9 x Line 13) 14 
15 Net Available for SOLA (Line 8 minus Line 14) 15 
16 Standard of Living Adjustment Percentage (Table B) 16 % % 
17 A – SOLA Obligation (Line 15 x Line 16) 17A 

B – SOLA per child (Line 17A Total ÷ Line 10 Total) 17B 
18 Gross Monthly Obligation (Line 14 + Line 17A) 18 
19 Primary/SOLA retained(Line 10 x per child SOLA + Line 11) 19 
20 Other primary paid by each parent (Lines 12A, B & C) 20 
21 A - Parenting Time Percentage (Table C) 21A % % 

B – Parenting Time Adjustment (L21A x other party’s L19) 21B 
22 Maximum Allowable Obligation (Line 7 x Line 8) 22 

(Line 18 minus Lines 19, 20 & 21B 
23 Net Monthly Obligation but not more than Line 22) 23 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

*Effective January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2014. 
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The Family Court of the State of Delaware 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATIONS (2012-2014) 
 

Effective January 1, 2013 the Family Court revised the Delaware Child Support Formula as stated within Family Court 
Civil Rules 500 through 509. The formula is intended to comply with 13 Delaware Code §514 which states: 

 

 Each parent is entitled to keep a minimum amount of income for their basic needs. 
 Each child's basic needs are taken care of before the parents may retain any additional income. 
 If income is available after the primary needs of the parents and each child are met, the child(ren) is (are) entitled 

to share in any additional income of the parents. 
 

All allowances and percentages are indexed to designated elements of the Consumer Expenditure Survey published 
annually by the U.S. Department of Labor. These values are adjusted every two years based upon the most recent available 
expenditure information on single parent households for food, clothing, shelter and utilities as the leading indicators of basic 
household need. The current values apply to both prospective and retroactive calculations and will be updated again in 
January of 2013. The entire formula will be reviewed again in 2014. 

 

The Delaware Child Support Formula serves as a rebuttable presumption for establishing child support obligations in 
the State of Delaware. The Court will use the Formula unless it finds that the results would not be in the best interest of the 
child(ren) or would be inequitable to the parties involved. Dalton v. Clanton, Del. Supr., 55 A.2d 1197 (1989). 

 

An automated version of the Child Support calculation is available online at http://courts.delaware.gov/family/. 
 

INCOME ATTRIBUTION 
 

The Court will use each parent’s actual income if the parent is fully employed in a manner commensurate with their 
training and experience. A Rule 16A Financial Report Form is required to be submitted with supporting documentation at 
the mediation and before trial. Adequate supporting documentation usually is the parent’s most recent tax returns, W-2 
Forms, and three most recent pay stubs but may also include documentation of Social Security, unemployment 
compensation, workers’ compensation, medical disability, child care and medical insurance. Self employed individuals and 
persons employed through a closely held corporation should be prepared with recent tax returns with all schedules, 1099 
forms, documentation of significant expenses categories, and recent bank statements. 

 

Parents who are unemployed or underemployed either voluntarily or due to their own misconduct, and parents who fail 
to provide adequate documentation or to appear for the hearing or mediation may be "attributed" income. The Court will 
examine earnings history, employment qualifications and the current job market. Wage surveys for individual occupations 
compiled by government agencies can be used to estimate earning capacity. Parents who qualify for unemployment 
compensation will be presumed to have lost their employment by no fault of their own. Qualification for Social Security 
disability-type benefits is proof that a person has a disability which may impede their ability to work and pay support. A 
parent receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) will not be assessed a child support obligation unless the Court finds 
the person has additional income or income capacity with which to pay support. Absent adequate information, a parent may 
be attributed at least as much income as the other party and every parent is presumed to have an earning capacity of no 
less than $1,508 per month. Parents who suffer a loss of income due to their own misconduct may have their support 
obligation calculated upon actual current earnings where over a reasonable period of time they have earnestly sought to 
achieve maximum income capacity. Additionally, incarceration or anticipated incarceration for more than one year may be 
considered as evidence of a diminished earning capacity BUT incarceration is not a ground for modification. 

 

NET AVAILABLE INCOME 
 

Net available income is determined by taking gross income and subtracting taxes, other important payroll deductions 
and a self support allowance. All amounts must be monthly. To convert from weekly, multiply by 52 and then divide by 12. 
For biweekly, multiply by 26 and then divide by 12. All amounts are rounded to the nearest whole number. 

 

Line 1--Monthly Gross Income--Generally, all income must be included in the child support calculation. The Court can 
exclude second job income upon consideration of its history, purpose, amount and effect on visitation. Expense 
reimbursements or in-kind payments received in the course of employment, self-employment, or operation of a business 
should be counted as income if they are significant and reduce personal living expenses. However, a cost of living 
stipend paid as compensation for working in a high cost location will not be included as income as long as it is clearly 
identified on pay documents. Monthly Gross Income is the combination of the following: 
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Wages: This includes salaries, wages, commissions, bonuses and any other income (other than self-employment income) 
that is subject to Federal Retirement and/or Medicare taxes. For child support purposes, it also includes all income and 
benefits identified by an employer as “pre-tax”. 

 

Self: All income earned as an independent contractor and subject to federal self-employment tax. 
 

Unearned: All other taxable income including but not limited to dividends, severance pay, pensions, interest, trust income, 
annuities, capital gains, workers' compensation, unemployment compensation, disability insurance benefits, prizes, and 
alimony or maintenance received. 

 

Nontax: All other income not subject to income taxation. This includes most Social Security Disability (SSD) or retirement 
benefits and some private pension/disability benefits. Benefits paid to a child on account of a parent's disability are 
included in that parent's income but offset the Net Monthly Obligation dollar for dollar. Benefits paid to a child due to the 
child's own disability are included as income to the household in which it is received. All military allowances (except 
clothing) are included as nontaxable income. However, no military service member shall be attributed a housing 
allowance (BAH) that exceeds BAH (with dependents) provided to service members stationed at Dover AFB. 

 

2013 Dover Air Force Base BAH with dependents 
Rank $ Rank $ Rank $ Rank $ 
E01 1374 E07 1704 W04 2043 O2 1542 
E02 1374 E08 1878 W05 2109 O3 1980 
E03 1374 E09 2028 O1E 1737 O4 2133 
E04 1374 W01 1548 O2E 1956 O5 2241 
E05 1479 W02 1773 O3E 2055 O6 2262 
E06 1545 W03 1989 O1 1488 O7 2286 

 

Line 2--Taxes: Utilizing IRS and Delaware Department of Revenue income tax withholding tables or the Family Court tax 
estimation worksheets, record each parent’s income tax liability based upon a single tax status with one (1) exemption. 
Delaware State income tax shall be utilized for all persons regardless of State of residence. 

 

Line 3--Allowable Deductions (add the following across the line and enter the result in the appropriate column): 
 

Medical Insurance--Monthly medical insurance premiums (including COBRA payments) paid by either parent 
regardless of persons covered by the policy. 

 
Medical insurance premiums allocable to children can be included as an element of primary support at Line 12B rather 
than as a deduction from income with adequate documentation. The amount allocable to a child is the difference between 
the cost for the parent alone and the parent with minor dependents. Where the parent has multiple children in multiple 
households, the amount allocable to children must be multiplied by the number of children on Line 6 and then divided by the 
total number of children on Lines 6 and 10. Documentation is REQUIRED. 

 
Pension--Mandatory contributions and some voluntary contributions are deductible. If any mandatory amount is less 
than 3% of gross income, voluntary contributions to a 401(k) or similar IRS approved retirement plan of up to 3% 
(including mandatory) of gross income may also be deducted. 

 

Union Dues--Enter the average monthly union dues. 
 

Disability Insurance--Enter Disability insurance premiums withheld from pay or purchased privately for purposes of 
income replacement (but not to cover credit card or mortgage obligations). 

 

Other--Enter the monthly amount of any court ordered alimony payments to the other parent, or other allowable 
business expenses (such as supplies required by the employer to be purchased). Alimony paid must also be subtracted 
from taxable income when calculating Federal and State income tax liability (but not “FICA”). 

 

Line 4--Self Support Allowance: The self-support allowance is the minimum amount of income necessary for a parent to 
remain productive in a workplace. Each parent is given a self support allowance of $1110. 

 

Line 5--Net Income after Self Support: Subtract taxes, deductions & self support from gross income. 
 

Line 6--Number of Children Not of this Union Supported by each Parent: Enter the number of children of other 
relationships to whom a duty of support is owed either in or out of each parent's household. Children outside a parent's 
household should only be counted if there is a court order for support or proof of a pattern of support. 
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Line 7--Adjustment for Support of Other Children: Enter the appropriate percentage as determined by the number of 
children on Line 6 and the table below (but not less than 67%): 

 

Number of Children Percentage Number of Children Percentage 
0 100% 2 73% 
1 82% 3 or more 67% 

 

Line 8--Net Available for Primary Support: Multiply each parent’s Net Income after Self Support (Line 5) by the Line 7 
percentage. Add the figures for Father and Mother to get the total available income. Enter the result in the total 
column. 

 

Line 9--Share of Total Net Available: Divide the Net Available for Primary Support for each parent (Line 8) by the Total Net 
Available for Primary Support (Line 8 Total). Enter the result for each parent. 

 
Medical Expenses — The child support recipient is responsible for the first $350 of unreimbursed medical expenses 
incurred each calendar year. “Incurred” is when medical services are actually provided except for orthodontic payment plans 
for which are “incurred” as each payment becomes due. Additional amounts are allocated according to the Share of Total 
Net Available (Line 9). The $350 threshold does not apply to shared or split placement cases. Parents should attempt to 
manage medical reimbursement issues privately. A petition for reimbursement should be filed no later than December 31 in 
the 2nd year after the expense is incurred. Later applications may be considered for good cause shown. 

 

PRIMARY SUPPORT 
The Court has established minimum levels of income needed to support one or more children. This primary support 

allowance is added to any work related child care expenses, medical insurance allocable to the children, private school 
expenses (under some circumstances), and any other expenses for any ongoing special needs of a child. 

 

Line 10--Number of Children of this Union in each Household: Enter the number of children of this union who reside in 
each parent's household. If a child resides equally (more than 174 overnights) in both households, assign ½ child or “.5” 
to each household. Do not include children from other relationships. 

 

Line 11--Primary Support Allowance: Enter the Primary Support Allowance that matches the number of children in Line 10 
for each household (see tables below). Add the columns and enter the result in the Total column. 

 

Primary Placement      
Number of Children Primary Support Allowance Number of Children    

1 $500  .5  
2 810  1.5  
3 1080  2.5  

each additional +250  each additional ½  
 

Line 12A--Child Care Expenses necessary for parent to work: Enter the actual Monthly Child Care Expenses for the 
children of this support action required for the parent to work or seek work. No hypothetical or attributed childcare costs 
are permitted. 

 

Line 12B—Medical Insurance Allocable to Children: As described at Line 3, medical insurance premiums allocable to the 
children of this union can be an element of primary support. If a parent believes available insurance is not reasonable in 
cost, the parent will not be compelled to acquire or maintain it if the cost to cover the parent and their children exceeds 
10% of the individual parent’s gross income OR if the parents’ combined net income at Line 8 is insufficient to meet the 
children’s primary needs as included on Lines 11, 12A and 12B. Additionally, Medical insurance acquired through a 
step-parent’s employment can be included on this line if the step-parent has no other dependent children and to the 
extent the amount allocable to the children can be determined. 

 

Line 12C--Other Primary Expenses: Other necessary monthly expenses incurred due to special needs of the child(ren). 
Private or parochial school expenses may be included if the parents have adequate financial resources and upon 
consideration by the Court of all of the equities especially: 

a. Previous agreement to pay for child(ren)s’ attendance in private; or 
b. The child has special needs that cannot be accommodated in a public school setting; or 
c. Immediate family history indicates that the child likely would have attended private or parochial school.. 

 

Line 13--Total Primary Need: Add the totals from Lines 11, 12A, 12B and 12C. 
 

Line 14--Primary Support Obligation: Multiply Line 9 (Share of Net Available) by Line 13 Total (Total Primary Need). 
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STANDARD OF LIVING ADJUSTMENT (SOLA) 
If there is income available after the parents have met their own and their child(ren)’s primary support needs SOLA is 

designed to give the child(ren) a share in each parent's economic well being. 
 

Line 15--Net Available for SOLA: Subtract the Primary Support Obligation (Line 14) from the Net Income Available for 
Primary Support (Line 8) for each parent. Enter the result for each parent (but not less than “0”). 

 

Line 16--SOLA Percentage: Enter the SOLA percentage that corresponds to the Number of Children Due Support in this 
Support Action (Line 10 Total) but not more than 50 percent. 

 

Number of Children SOLA Percentage Number of Children SOLA Percentage 
1 17% 3 29% 
2 24% each additional +4% 

 

Line 17A--SOLA Obligation: Multiply the Net Available for SOLA (Line 15) by the SOLA Percentage (Line 16). Enter the 
result for each parent, and then combine the parents’ individual SOLA obligations for the total. 

 

Line 17B—SOLA per child: Take total SOLA obligation (Line 17A total) and Divide by the Total Number of Children of this 
Union in each Household (Line 10 Total). Enter the result in the third column as the “per child” SOLA. 

 

Line 18--Gross Monthly Obligation: Line 14 (Primary Support Obligation) plus Line 17A (SOLA Obligation). 
 

CREDITS AND THE NET MONTHLY OBLIGATION 
The Net Monthly Obligation is the Primary Support obligation plus the SOLA obligation minus applicable credits and 

subject to certain limitations. In simple cases, the “custodial” parent merely keeps their own obligation and the obligated 
parent pays the amount on Line 18. However if the parent from whom support is sought has the children more than 109 
overnights per year, has limited income, or incurs daycare or tuition expenses, further adjustments may be necessary. 

 

Line 19--Retained Primary and SOLA: Multiply the number of children in each household (Line 10) by the “per child” 
SOLA on Line 17. Then add that to the Primary Support Allowance claimed by each party on Line 11. 

 

Line 20--Child Care / tuition paid by each parent: Enter the total of Lines 12A and 12B for each parent. 
 

Line 21--Parenting Time Adjustment: When a court order or written agreement entitles the parent from whom support is 
sought contact of more than 109 overnights per year, that parent retains a percentage of both the primary support 
allowance and the parents’ combined SOLA. Enter on Line 21A the percentage from the following table corresponding 
to the number of annual overnights. Then multiply the percentage by Line 19 of THE OTHER PARENT and enter the 
result on Line 21B. The credit on Line 21B cannot exceed Line 17A. 

 

Annual Overnights Percentage Annual Overnights Percentage 
110 to 132 10% 151 to 164 30% 
133 to 150 20% 165 to 174 40% 

 

Line 22—Maximum Allowable Obligation: Multiply the percentage used on Line 7 by the Net Available for Primary Support 
on Line 8 and enter the result on Line 22. This represents the maximum support obligation that can be ordered and 
preserves the self support allowance of individuals with multiple children in multiple households. 

 

Line 23--Net Monthly Obligation: For each parent, subtract Primary/SOLA retained (Line 19), Childcare/tuition retained 
(Line 20) and the Parenting Time adjustment (Line 21B) from Gross Monthly Obligation (Line 18). Enter the result but 
not more than the amount on Line 22. 

 

Minimum Orders: Unless the children reside in shared or split placement or the obligated parent is disabled, the Court will 
not impose an obligation of less than a presumptive minimum order. The obligation, if any, of a disabled person with 
limited resources will be determined on a case by case basis. The current minimum orders are: 

 

1 child $ 130 3 children $ 270 
2 children 200 each additional +60 

Modification: Petitions for modification filed within two and one-half years of the calculation of a current support obligation 
must allege “with particularity" a substantial change of circumstances not caused by the Petitioner’s voluntary or 
wrongful conduct. Incarceration is not a ground for modification. Additionally, no modification will be ordered unless the 
new calculation produces a change of more than 10%. Beyond 2½ years, neither the "particularity" nor the "10%" 
requirement applies. 
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What is a medical support order? 
 

A medical support order requires one or both parents to provide health 
insurance and requires both parents to pay a portion of medical expenses that 
is not covered by health insurance for their children. 

 
Which parent will be ordered to provide medical support? 

 
If both parents have affordable health insurance available through employment, 
the parents will usually agree if one, the other or both should maintain the insur- 
ance for the child. If they can’t agree a Commissioner will decide after a hear- 
ing. Whenever insurance is not in place, both parents have a continuing duty to 
acquire it if it becomes available at a reasonable cost. 

 
What about expenses not covered by insurance? 

 
Under the child support formula the first $350 usually of unreimbursed medial 
expenses incurred each calendar year must be paid by the support recipient. 
Any additional expenses are divided by percentages found in the child support 
calculation. Unless reimbursement is requested by December 31 of the second 
year following the year in which the expense was incurred, reimbursement is 
presumed to have been waived. 

 
If the children are on Medicaid will the parents be ordered to provide medi- 
cal support? 

 
Yes. Federal law requires that child support orders include medical support if 
the children are receiving cash public assistance or Medicaid. When children 
are receiving Medicaid, the insurer reimburses the Medicaid agency for the cost 
of medical services provided to the children. 

 
Will wages be attached for medical insurance? 

 
Yes, if the parent is employed. Federal and state laws require a medical sup- 
port attachment, known as a National Medical Support Notice, unless the Court 
determines the insurance available through the employer is either inaccessible 
to the child or unreasonable in cost. 

 
When is insurance accessible and reasonable in cost? 

 
Insurance is accessible to a child if primary medical services are available within 
a reasonable distance from the child’s residence. Generally, cost is reasonable 
if the premium to cover both the parent and parent’s dependant children is less 
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than 10% of a parent’s gross income.  Cost may also be found “not reasonable” 
if the Court determines the parents have insufficient net income to cover insur- 
ance, day care and the child’s primary needs. 

 
Will the wage attachment tell the employer what insurance plan to select? 

 
No. The parent(s) may select an insurance plan if the employer offers more 
than one. The employer will receive a notice telling him/her to deduct  the 
amount of the insurance premium and send it to the insurance company. 

 
Once the wage attachment for medical support is in place, may the parent/ 
employee terminate medical insurance coverage? 

 
No. State law prohibits an employer from terminating coverage unless the Court 
order is no longer in effect, or the child is enrolled in comparable coverage that 
will take effect no later than the date of termination. 

 
Can an employer refuse to deduct health insurance premiums or wait for 
an open enrollment period? 

 
No. An employer must obey the wage attachment for health insurance 
premiums and may not wait for open enrollment. He/she may be ordered to pay 
a fine for refusing to honor the wage attachment. 

 
If the parents are not working will they be ordered to provide health insur- 
ance? 

 
If the parents are not employed, they may be ordered to provide health 
insurance if and when it becomes available at a reasonable cost. 
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What is a wage attachment? 
 

A wage attachment is an order for an employer to deduct child support 
payments directly from the wages of an employee and send the payment to the 
Division of Child Support Enforcement. Wage attachments are sometimes called 
income withholding orders. 

 
Why are wages attached? 

 
Wage attachments are required by Federal and State law because they are the 
best way to be sure that child support payments are made in full and on time. 

 
Are wage attachments only for parents who are delinquent in their child 
support payments? 

 
No. Wage attachments are issued for almost all new child support orders. Wage 
attachments are also issued when existing child support orders are modified. 

 
If I am ordered to pay child support, will my wages be attached? 

 
Yes, most likely. Both Federal and State law require that a wage attachment 
must be issued for every child support order. The only exception is when the 
Court finds that there is good reason not to require immediate wage withholding. 
For example, a wage attachment may not be issued if there is an alternative 
payment arrangement outside the control of the obligor. 

 
Can payments from wage attachments be paid directly to the custodial 
parent? 

 
No. According to Delaware law, all wage attachments must be paid through the 
Division of Child Support Enforcement. The Division keeps an official accounting 
of the payments. After the amount is recorded, a check is sent to the parent or 
deposited in the payee’s account. This helps avoid misunderstandings about 
amounts owed and protects both parents by ensuring that all payments are re- 
corded. 

 
Is there a limit to how much of an employee’s pay may be deducted for a 
child support wage attachment? 

 
Yes. The Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act applies to wage attachments 
for child support. Instructions on the wage attachment tell the employer the 
maximum that may be deducted for that employee. The amount deducted may 
not be more than: 50% if the employee is supporting a second family or 60% if 
the employee does not support a second family. If the employee owes child sup- 
port arrears that are 12 weeks or more past due, an additional 5% is added to 
the limit. 
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Can an employer fire an employee because his/her wages are attached? 
 

No. It is against the law for an employer to fire an employee because his/her 
wages have been attached. In addition, an employer may not refuse to hire an 
individual because of a wage attachment. 

 
Can an employer refuse to deduct child support payments from an em- 
ployee’s wages? 

 
No. An employer may be fined for refusing to obey an order to attach the wages 
of an employee. 

 
If I leave my job, do I have to make payments while I am unemployed? 

 
Yes. You are still responsible for paying child support, even though you are 
unemployed. You may file a petition asking the Court to modify your child 
support order while you are unemployed. You should make your payments to 
the Division of Child Support Enforcement. Do not make payments directly to 
the custodial parent, or you may not get credit for them. As soon as you find 
another job, you must report the name and address of the new employer to 
Family Court so that a new wage attachment can be issued. 
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Chapter 11: Modification 
 
 
 

Can the child support payment amount ever be changed? 
 

Yes, either parent can ask the Court to review an order after 2 1/2 years. A 
parent can ask for a review within 2 years if there is a substantial change in 
either parent’s income or a change in expenses such as day care or medical 
expenses. The Melson Formula will be used again to determine the amount. 

 
 
 

I would like to modify an existing child support order, what do I need to 
do? 

 
You must file a Petition for Modification (form #342). 

-A sample Petition for Modification may be found on page 34. 
 

When is it appropriate to file a Petition for Modification? 
1) more than 2 ½ years have passed since the current support amount was last 
determined or calculated. 
2) less than 2 ½ years have passed since the last support determination and a 
substantial change in circumstances, through no fault of the Petitioner, has 
occurred regarding: 

-income 
-health insurance cost or availability 
-daycare or private school tuition 
-number of minor children ordered to support 
-number of other minor children to support 

3) loss of license and incarceration for nonpayment of child support or incar- 
ceration for any reason are not grounds for modification of child support. 

 
Will a modification be granted? 

 
If the order is less than 2 ½ years old, a child support calculation must show a 
10% increase or decrease to warrant modification.  If the order is greater than 2 
½ years old, the Court will modify the order if warranted. 

-If back support or arrears are owed, the modified order may include a 
reasonable repayment schedule. 

 
Will a modification be retroactive? 

 
The modification may be effective from the date that the other party receives no- 
tification of your intent to modify only if you send notice by registered or certified 
mail. If the petition for Modification is sent by regular mail, the modification will 
be effective from the date of the new order only. 
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which you are filing. 

he 

Form 342 
(Rev. 5/07) 

 
 
 
 
 
 

DCSE NUMBER 

 
 

The Family Court of the State of DelawaChreeck the county in
 

In and For New Castle Kent Sussex County 
 

PETITION FOR CHILD SUPPORT MODIFICATION 
Fill iFnILthEe NreUqMueBsEteRd infCoKrm04a-t0io2n21about yourselfPETITION NUMBER     
(Petitioner) and the Respondent. 

Petitioner Respondent 
Name DOB Name DOB 

 

Sarah Smith 2/25/1973 Michael Jones 3/14/1977 
Street Address Street Address 

 

111 South Oak Street 555 Main Street 
Apt. or P.O. Box Number Apt. or P.O. Box Number 

 
City State Zip Code City State Zip Code 

 

Dover DE 19901 Dover DE 19901 
Home Phone # (302) 555-0099 Home Phone # (302) 467-9908 
Work Phone # (302) 255-0000 Work Phone # (302) 565-0707 
Cell Phone # (302) 999-9999 Cell Phone # (302) 575-1111 
Attorney Name and Phone Number Attorney Name and Phone Number 

 

n/a n/a 
Employer: ABC Corporation Employer: DEF Corporation 
Employer Address: 123 South Street Employer Address: 555 North Street 

Dover, DE 19901 Dover, DE 19901 
 
 

IN THE INTEREST OF: (Include last name.) 
Shawn Jones 5/25/1995     
Name DOB Name DOB Name DOB 

 

Name DOB Name DOB Name Fill in the date of t
DOB 

The Petitioner seeks a modification of the Child Support Order dated 4/5/2006 ansdupaplloergteosrdtehrethfoatllowing: 
you wish to modify. 

1. More than 2 ½ years have passed since the current support amount was last determined or calculated. 
2. Less than 2 ½ years have passed since the last support determination and a substantial change of 

circumstance, through no fault of the Petitioner, has occurred regarding (check all that apply): 
Income or deductions Number of minor children on this Order to support 
Health insurance cost or availability Number of other minor children to support 
Daycare or private school tuition Other      

 

In particular (required if less than 2 ½ years) Shawn has started at a new high school and his tuition has 
Indicate the grounds for 
your request to modify 
ch3il.d suppPoertt.itioner acknowledges the following: 

increased by $10,000 per year. 

• If the petition was filed within 2 ½ years of the last calculation of current support, only modifications of greater 
than 10% will be imposed. 

• Whenever a modification petition is filed, the result may increase or decrease the obligation without regard to who 
filed the petition. 

• If back support or arrears are owed the modified Order should include a reasonable repayment schedule. 
• Loss of license and incarceration for nonpayment of child support are not grounds for modification of child 

support. 
• If a Petitioner sends a copy of the Petition to the Respondent by certified mail, the Order may be effective the date 

of receipt. Otherwise modification Petitions are sent by regular mail and any modification will be from the date of 
the new Order only. 

 

Therefore, the Petitioner requests the child support obligation be recalculated pursuant to the Delaware Child Support 
Formula. 

 

3/1/2008 Sarah Smith 
Date Petitioner/Attorney 
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Chapter 12: Administrative Adjustments & Decisions 
 
 
 
 

What is an administrative adjustment? 
 
 

An administrative adjustment is a change in child support that is done by the 
Division of Child Support Enforcement, rather than the Court. Administrative 
adjustments occur when the change can be made “by operation of law”. This 
means that the change occurs because the law says that it must. 

-For example, the law says that a child support obligation ends when a 
child turns 18, or, if the child is still in high school, when the child graduates or 
turns 19, whichever comes first. Therefore, if a child has graduated high school 
and turns 18, the child support obligation ends “by operation of law” and the 
Division of Child Support Enforcement may enter an administrative adjustment 
terminating child support (unless there are other children on the Order). 

 
What are some things that occur by administrative adjustment? 

 
-Termination of support 
-Repayment of past due support (arrears) 
-Change of payee 
-Date of change of payee 

 
How will I know if the Division of Child Support Enforcement 
has entered an administrative adjustment? 

 
Within 120 days prior to or 30 days after adjusting its accounts, the Division of 
Child Support Enforcement files a Notice of Administrative Adjustment with the 
Court, explaining the action taken. This Notice is also sent to both parties. 

 
What do I file if I disagree with an administrative adjustment? 
You may file a Motion to Contest an Administrative Adjustment.  In this Motion, 
you  must  explain  to  the  Court  why  you  disagree  with  the  administrative 
adjustment.  You must send the other party a copy of this Motion.  The other 
party then has 10 days in which to respond before the Court will make its 
decision. 

-A sample Motion to Contest Administrative Adjustment may be found on 
page 37. 

 
What is an administrative decision and order? 
An administrative decision and order is one entered by the Division of Child 
Support Enforcement due to lack of child support payment and resulting arrears. 
The administrative decision and order imposes sanctions on the payor for failure 
to pay child support. 

-An administrative decision and order are only entered after the payor 
has been notified of the arrears, has had the opportunity to pay and has 
requested and received an administrative hearing. 
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Chapter 12: Administrative Adjustments & Decisions 
cont’d 

 
 
 
 
 

What types of sanctions may be imposed by an administrative 
decision and order? 
The Division of Child Support Enforcement may suspend the payor’s driver’s 
license, deny application to receive a driver’s license, place an administrative 
lien upon property owned by the payor, intercept the payor’s income taxes or 
impose other reasonable sanctions. 

 
What do I file if I disagree with an administrative decision and 
order? 
You may file an Appeal of Child Support Administrative Decision and Order. In 
this Appeal, you must explain to the Court why you disagree with the 
administrative adjustment. You must attach a copy of the administrative 
decision and send a copy of the Appeal to the Division of Child Support 
Enforcement. The Division will then have 10 days in which to file a response. 
The Court will then either make a decision or hold a hearing on the matter. 

-A sample Appeal of Child Support Administrative Decision and Order 
may be found on page38. 
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Sarah Smith 
111 South Oak Street Fill in the child 

support recipient’s 
  Dover, DE 19901 information here. 
 

Attorney 
n/a 

Date of Birth 
2/25/1973 

 

Michael Jones 
555 Main Street Fill in the child 

  Dover, DE 19901 information here. 
 

Attorney 
n/a 

Date of Birth 
3/14/1977 

 

Family Ct File No. 

CK04-0221 

Petition No. 

DCSE Account No. 
55562 

 

Form 253 

Date of Termination of Current Support. 

everse of form) and 

 

(Rev. 4/07) The Family Court of the State of Delaware 
FOR NEW CASTLE KENT SUSSEX COUNTY 

MOTION TO CONTEST  AN ADMINISTRATIVE ADJUSTMENT 
Child Support Recipient Child Support Payor 

 
 

Check the 
county in which 
you are filing. 

 
 
 

support payor’s 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Michael Jones (the “Movant”) has received a Notice of Administrative Adjustment filed with the 
Family Court by the Division of Child Support Enforcment (DCSE). The Movant DISAGREES with the: 

 
The movant is the person who believes the 
administrative adjustment is incorrect. 

Balance (amount) of past due child support (back support / arrears). 
Monthly amount ordered to repay past due child support (back support / arrears). 
Change of Payee (The person alleged does not have placement of the child(ren)). 

Explain to the 
Court here why 
you believe the 

Date of Change of Payee (Movant disagrees with the date alleged for the change in placemenatd)m. inistrative 
Because:   The balance of back due support does not include the amount that Payor sent to Payeadejubsytmpenrtsoisnal check. This 

incorrect. 
money was not sent through the Division of Child Support Enforcement, however, Payor has copies of all of the cleared 

checks. This amount totals $2,400 and should be deducted from the amount of arrears owed. 

 

MOVANT AFFIRMS that the above information is true and correct and that a copy of this motion was deposited in the U.S. 
Mail on April 7, 2008 with sufficient postage and addressedYtoou: must mail a copy of this Motion 

the Division of Child Support Enforcement (appropriate county address on r to the opposing party and DCSE. 
 

the opposing party at   111 South Oak Street Dover, DE 19901 . 
 

Sign in the presence of a  Michael Jones  4/7/2008 
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED notary or court staff. Movant / Attorney  Date 
before me this 7th day of April , 2008   Donna King 

NOTARY PUBLIC 
NOTICE:   RESPONDENT HAS THE RIGHT TO FILE A RESPONSE WITHIN TEN (10) DAYS OF THE SERVICE OF THIS MOTION.  IF 
NO RESPONSE IS TIMELY FILED, THE MOTION MAY BE DECIDED WITHOUT OTHER OPPORTUNITY  TO BE HEARD. 

 
Upon consideration of the Motion, the Notice of Administrative Adjustment and the response (or) no response, 
the Court ORDERS the following: 

The motion is DENIED. The Administrative Adjustment was correct and authorized by Family Court Civil Rule 302. 
The motion is GRANTED and: 

Current Support terminated (or shall presumptively terminate) on  . 

The correct arrears balance is $ as of . 

Arrears shall be repaid at the rate of $ per month. 
 

The correct payee is effective . 
 

A hearing will occur on / / at am/pm to consider this motion ( date/time TBD). 
 

Other:    
 

COMMISSIONER Date Written Order Issued:    
PARTIES may appeal a final order of a Commissioner by filing and serving written objection to such Order within ten (10) days of the Order, in accordance with 
10 Del. C. § 915 (d) and Family Court Civil Rule 53.1 (b). 
CC:  FILE  PARTIES  DCSE Counsel  DCSE Accounting  DCSE Operations  Reciprocal Agency     
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Form 217 
(Rev. 1/07) 

Check the county in which you 
are filing. 

 

The Family Court of the State of Delaware 
For   New Castle x Kent  Sussex County 

 

APPEAL OF CHILD SUPPORT ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION AND ORDER 
DCSE # 7559 

APPELLANT APPELLEE 

The Appellant is the File Number(s) 
Michael Jones person filing the appeal. Sarah Smith 

 
Address  Address CK04-0221 

555 Main Street VS  111 South Oak Street 

 
Attorney Employer Name & Address Attorney Employer Name & Address 
N/A DEF CORPORATION N/A ABCCORPORATION 

Petition Number 

456 NORTH STREET 
DOVER, DE 19901 

Hm Ph# (302) 555-0099 Hm Ph# (302) 467-9908 

123SOUTHSTREET 
DOVER,DE19901 

Wk Ph# (302) 255-0000 PH# Wk Ph# (302) 565-0707 PH# 
DOB  2/25/1973 DOB 3/14/1977 

 
Driver License # 35769 State DE Driver License # 65995 State DE 

 
 

Reciprocal # 

 
Nature of Proceeding: License Suspension/Denial  Income Tax Offset Check which type 

 Administrative Lien  Other    
of proceeding you 
are appealing. 

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE THAT Michael Jones does appeal to the Family Court of the State of 
Delaware from an administrative decision entered by Commissioner Jackson and dated 3/6/2007 which 
affirmed the above noted sanction(s).  Reasons for the appeal are: 
 The appellant is not the person named in the underlying child support order. Check why you believe the 
 The appellant does not owe the amount of child support arrears required for the sanction imadpmosineids.trative decision and order 
 Other is incorrect. 
A COPY OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION MUST BE ATTACHED TO THE APPEAL 
APPELLANT AFFIRMS that the above statements are true and that a copy of this appeal was deposited in the U.S.Mail 
on 4/10/2008 with sufficient postage and addressed to  the Division of Child Support Enforcement, P.O.Box  
12831, Wilmington, DE 19850 and/or  _Sarah Smith , at 111 South Oak Street Dover, DE 19901 . BY 
COPY OF THIS APPEAL, APPELLEE IS NOTIFIED OF THE RIGHT TO FILE A RESPONSE WITHIN TEN (10) DAYS OF 
THE FILING OF THIS APPEAL. 

 

4/10/2008 Sign in the presence of a notary. Michael Jones 
Date Appellant/Attorney 

 
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me 

 
This date 4/10/2008 Donna King 

Notary Public 
 AFTER HEARING   UPON CONSIDERATION OF THE APPEAL AND  THE RECORD OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE 
HEARING   NO RECORD OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING FILED BY DCSE, the administrative decision is affirmed 
 reversed. IT IS SO ORDERED.  See discussion attached. 
COMMISSIONER  Date    
Parties may appeal a final Order of a Commissioner by filing and serving written objections of such Order within ten (10) days of the Order. 
Cc:  File    Parties    DCSE Counsel   DCSE    Reciprocal Agency 
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Chapter 13: Termination of Support 
 
 
 

When does child support terminate? 
 

An order of current child support entered by the Court or a court of competent 
jurisdiction in Delaware shall terminate by operation of law when all minor 
children subject to said order have reached 18 years of age and graduated from 
high school. 

 
If the child is over 18 and is still enrolled in high school, then support shall 
terminate when the child receives a high school diploma or turns 19, whichever 
event first occurs. 

 
Support can also terminate if custody of all the child(ren) on the support order is 
transferred to the obligated parent pursuant to an order of a court of competent 
jurisdiction or the written voluntary agreement of the parents. 

 
Do I need to file something to terminate child support? 

 
Usually, if you fall into any of the three above categories, your child support 
obligation terminates by operation of law and you do not need to file anything. 
When this occurs, the parties may receive a Notice of Administrative 
Adjustment. If you do not receive a Notice of Administrative Adjustment and 
you believe that your child support obligation should have terminated, you may 
file a Notice and Motion to revoke Child Support. By filing this Motion, you are 
explaining the change in circumstances to the Court. 

-a Motion to Revoke may only be filed where current support has 
terminated by operation of law for all children included on the support 
order or where arrears have been paid in full. Any other modification of a 
support order must be addressed with a Petition to Modify a Child 
Support Order. 
-a sample Notice and Motion to Revoke Child Support may be found on 
page 40. 

 
What if custody of the child(ren) changes? 

 
If the Court orders a change of primary residential placement, the parent must 
provide a copy of the Court Order to DCSE in order for an administrative 
adjustment to be performed. 
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Check the county in 

obligation should be 

Form 254 
(Rev. 06/07) 

 
 
The Family Court of the State of Delawwahicrheyou are filing. 

In and For New Castle Kent Sussex County 
NOTICE AND MOTION TO REVOKE CHILD SUPPORT 

 
Movant 

 
Michael Jones 

Address 
555 Main Street 

Fill in information about 
the person requesting 
the termination of 
support. 

 
Respondent 

 
Sarah Smith 
Address 
111 South Oak Street 

Fill in information about the party 
currently receiving support. 

 
 

File Number 
CK04-0221 
CPI Number 

 

 
DCSE Number 

Dover, DE 19901 Dover, DE 19901 55527 
DOB 

3/14/1977 
DOB 

2/25/1973 
Other State Number 

Attorney Attorney IV-D STATUS 
N/A N/A  IV-D  NON IV-D 

 

MOVANT ASSERTS that  Michael Jones is under an Order to pay current support in the amount of $  500 per    
month and/or arrears/back support/fees in the amount of $   50 per month , and that: 

 all arrears/back support/fees are paid Check the box that 
 the youngest child on the Order is   19 or  18   and :   was gradueaxtpedlaifnrosmto tohre Coursttopped attending high school 

on ( Documentation attached) why your support 

 all the children on the Order moved from the home of terminattoedth. e home of 
on .  (See custody Order of or  See Documentation Attached) 

WHEREFORE, MOVANT SEEKS an Order terminating the  current support  arrears/back support obligation and modifying any 
Income Withholding Order accordingly. Employer: DEF Corporation 
Address 456 North Street Dover, DE 19901 
 Obligor also wishes payment on arrears/back support to be increased to $ per . 
 Other:   
  MOVANT  AFFIRMS  that  the  above  statements  are  true  and  that  a  copy  of  this  motion  was  deposited  in  the  U.S.  Mail 

on 4/17/2008   with sufficient postage and addressed to  the Division of Child Support Enforcement (appropriate county 
address on reverse of form) and/or  Sarah Smith at 111 South Oak Street Dover, DE 19901 . 

 

4/17/2008  Sign in the presence of a notary. Michael Jones 
DATE   MOVANT/ATTORNEY 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me    
this date, 4/17/2008 Donna King 

NOTARY PUBLIC 
NOTICE:   RESPONDENT HAS THE RIGHT TO FILE A RESPONSE WITHIN TEN (10) DAYS OF THE SERVICE OF THIS MOTION.  IF 
NO RESPONSE IS TIMELY FILED, THE MOTION MAY BE DECIDED WITHOUT OTHER OPPORTUNITY  TO BE HEARD. 

PURSUANT TO 13 Del.Code §517, UPON CONSIDERATION OF THE MOTION AND  DCSE account statement  The response 

 No response      
IT IS ORDERED that: 
 Current Support Order is REVOKED effective   Back Support/Arrears Order is REVOKED. 

 Income Attachment is  Cancelled  Modified to $ /mo. 
Continued at $ /mo. on all arrears. 

 RESPONDENT  DCSE REFUND any OVERPAYMENT  DCSE apply any later payments to arrears. 

 The motion is denied   OTHER:      

COMMISSIONER  Date Written Order Issued:   
PARTIES may appeal a final order of a Commissioner by filing and serving written objection to such Order within ten (10) days of the Order, in accordance with 
10 De. C. Sec. 915 (d) and Family Court Rule 53.1 (b). 
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Service on Non-Delaware Residents 
 

In Support and Paternity Proceedings 
 
 
 

FAMILY COURT OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE 
 

http://courts..state.de.us/family 
 

 
 
 

When a Respondent in a Support or Paternity Proceeding 
lives out of state, it is the responsibility of the Petitioner to 
make sure the Respondent is served with the petition. The 
law relating to service of a non-Delaware resident can be 
found at Title 10 of the Delaware Code, Section 3104(d). 

 
 
 
 
What do I file? 

 

Along with your Petition, you must file an Affidavit in Support of Jurisdiction 
Over a Non-Delaware Resident (form #391). On this form, you are explaining to 
the Court why it is that the Respondent has enough contact with Delaware that the 
Delaware Family Court would have the right to hear the petition. 

 
How do I serve the Respondent? 

 
The Court will contact you when your “service packet” is ready. This will include 
the paperwork that you need to serve on the Respondent. You may serve these 
documents by the following methods: 

 
1) By personal delivery in the manner prescribed for service in Delaware 

 
2) In the manner provided by law in the state where the Respondent shall be 

served. 
 
3) By any form of mail addressed to the person to be served and requiring a re- 

ceipt (certified mail, registered mail, FedEx, DHL, etc.) 
 
What happens after I serve the Respondent? 

 
After successful service, you must complete and file an Affidavit of Service (form 
#277). If you served the Respondent by mail, you must attached the receipt show- 
ing proof of service. You must also file an Amended Petition (form #—) 

 

http://courts.state.de.us/family


 
 

When will my case be scheduled? 
 

Your case will not be scheduled until you successfully serve the Respondent and file 
the Affidavit of Service along with the Amended Petition. 

 
How long do I have to serve the Respondent? 

 

You have 90 days from the date that you receive the service packet to serve the Re- 
spondent. If you do not complete service within 90 days, the Court may dismiss 
your Petition. After return of receipt of service, you have 10 days in which to file the 
affidavit of service. If you do not file within 10 days of receipt, the Court may dis- 
miss your Petition. 

 
What if the Respondent will not accept service? 

 

If using a mail service, a receipt marked received or refused will constitute service. 
A receipt marked unclaimed is not valid service. 

 


	TABLE OF CONTENTS
	CHAPTER PAGE NUMBER
	CHAPTER 3: MEDIATION CONFERENCE……………………………..9 CHAPTER 4: REGISTRATION OF FOREIGN SUPPORT ORDER…11

	TABLE OF CONTENTS, cont’d
	CHAPTER PAGE NUMBER
	CHAPTER 12: ADMINISTRATIVE ADJUSTMENTS AND
	Appendix: Service on Non-Delaware Residents

	CHILD SUPPORT OVERVIEW, cont’d
	THE CHILD SUPPORT PROCESS
	Chapter 1: General Information
	What is the Delaware law regarding child support?
	How is the amount of the support order calculated?
	What factors are taken into consideration in calculating  the child support amount?
	Will a wage attachment be ordered?

	Chapter 1: General Information cont’d
	If the parent who pays support is not allowed visitation, must he/she continue to pay support?
	Where else can I find support regarding child support services? What kind of services would they provide?

	Division of Child Support Enforcement Information
	Office Locations
	What happens after a Petition for Support is filed?
	Do I need to attach any evidence to my Petition for Support?
	Do I need to state how much child support I want on my Peti- tion?
	PETITION FOR SUPPORT
	What happens at a mediation conference?
	Do parties have to go to a mediation conference to get a child support order?
	What do I need to bring to the mediation conference?
	What happens if a party does not bring documentation of in- come and expenses to the mediation conference?
	What happens if the parties cannot agree at mediation?
	Chapter 4: Inter-state registration
	If I relocate to another state, do I still have to pay child support orders from the state that originally issued them?
	If I register my out-of-state child support order in Delaware, can it be modified in Delaware?
	If I have a support order against me from another state and I move to Dela- ware, is this order still binding?
	How do I go about registering a child support order from another state in Delaware?
	What happens after I file the Affidavit and Request to Register the Foreign Support Order?
	It is strongly recommended that anyone seeking to enforce an out of state child support order enlist the services of the Division of Child Support Enforcement.

	Chapter 5: Genetic Testing
	I am not sure of the paternity of my child. What can be done?
	If the father denies paternity, what can be done?
	What is the process for genetic testing?
	How long does it take to get results?
	How will I be notified of the results?
	What will happen after paternity is determined?

	Chapter 6: License Suspension & Restoration
	Who can suspend my license if I don’t pay child support?
	How does DCSE suspend my license?
	How can I get my license back if it is suspended by DCSE?
	When can Family Court suspend my license?

	Chapter 6: License Suspension & Restoration Cont’d
	How can I get my license back if it is suspended by Family Court?
	How can I get my license back when I’ve paid the arrears?
	If the Family Court or DCSE directs my license to be restored, can I start driving again?
	What is arrears?
	If the non-custodial parent has accumulated arrears, what may the custo- dial parent file?
	If the non-custodial parent has accumulated arrears, what may the Court do?
	When does the obligation for payment of arrears terminate?
	What are the penalties for accumulating and failing to pay arrears?

	Chapter 7: Arrears & Contempt
	If incarceration is a possibility, will the Respondent be represented by an attorney?
	If I do not think that the custodial parent is using the support payments properly, what may I file?
	PETITION FOR CHILD SUPPORT ARREARS

	Chapter 8: Calculating Child Support
	Chapter 8: Calculating Child Support cont’d
	Things to keep in mind for child support calculations
	The specific instructions for calculating child support are found on pages 25-28. The following are a few key points to remember:
	Income Attribution
	Child Care Expenses
	Private School
	Shared Equal Placement
	Parenting Time Adjustment
	Adjustment for Support of Other Children
	Military Allowances
	Incarcerated Parents
	CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATION
	INSTRUCTIONS FOR CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATIONS (2012-2014)
	INCOME ATTRIBUTION
	NET AVAILABLE INCOME
	PRIMARY SUPPORT
	STANDARD OF LIVING ADJUSTMENT (SOLA)
	CREDITS AND THE NET MONTHLY OBLIGATION



	Chapter 9: Medical Support
	What is a medical support order?
	Which parent will be ordered to provide medical support?
	What about expenses not covered by insurance?
	If the children are on Medicaid will the parents be ordered to provide medi- cal support?
	Will wages be attached for medical insurance?
	When is insurance accessible and reasonable in cost?
	Will the wage attachment tell the employer what insurance plan to select?
	Once the wage attachment for medical support is in place, may the parent/ employee terminate medical insurance coverage?
	Can an employer refuse to deduct health insurance premiums or wait for an open enrollment period?
	If the parents are not working will they be ordered to provide health insur- ance?
	30
	What is a wage attachment?
	Why are wages attached?
	Are wage attachments only for parents who are delinquent in their child support payments?
	If I am ordered to pay child support, will my wages be attached?
	Can payments from wage attachments be paid directly to the custodial parent?
	Is there a limit to how much of an employee’s pay may be deducted for a child support wage attachment?

	31
	Can an employer fire an employee because his/her wages are attached?
	Can an employer refuse to deduct child support payments from an em- ployee’s wages?
	If I leave my job, do I have to make payments while I am unemployed?

	32
	Can the child support payment amount ever be changed?
	I would like to modify an existing child support order, what do I need to do?
	When is it appropriate to file a Petition for Modification?
	Will a modification be granted?
	Will a modification be retroactive?

	33
	PETITION FOR CHILD SUPPORT MODIFICATION

	34
	What is an administrative adjustment?
	What are some things that occur by administrative adjustment?
	How will I know if the Division of Child Support Enforcement has entered an administrative adjustment?
	What is an administrative decision and order?

	35
	What types of sanctions may be imposed by an administrative decision and order?
	What do I file if I disagree with an administrative decision and order?

	36
	MOTION TO CONTEST  AN ADMINISTRATIVE ADJUSTMENT
	For  New Castle x Kent Sussex County
	When does child support terminate?
	Do I need to file something to terminate child support?
	What if custody of the child(ren) changes?

	39
	NOTICE AND MOTION TO REVOKE CHILD SUPPORT

	40
	In Support and Paternity Proceedings
	Along with your Petition, you must file an Affidavit in Support of Jurisdiction Over a Non-Delaware Resident (form #391). On this form, you are explaining to the Court why it is that the Respondent has enough contact with Delaware that the Delaware Fa...





