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Employer’s Guide
to Child Support
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'? Y Department of Social
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As an employer, you are a key partner in Washington State’s child support
program. With your help, over 350,000 children receive child support
services through Washington State. Thank you!

This guide is designed to provide you with the information needed to fulfill
your responsibilities under federal and state law. This includes reporting
newly hired employees, withholding and sending child support payments and
enrolling employees and their children in medical insurance plans.

With your support, we can work together to improve the lives of children.

If you have questions, please contact us.

Toll-Free: 800-591-2760
E-mail: DCS-CRU@dshs.wa.gov
DCS Web: www.childsupportonline.wa.gov
Write: Division of Child Support
PO Box 11520

Tacoma, WA 98411-5520
Send Payments: ~ WSSR

PO Box 45868
Olympia, WA 98504-5868

Child Support Laws:

Each section of this Guide includes legal citations from the Code of Federal Regulations
(CFRY), Revised Code of Washington (RCW), and Washington Administrative Code
(WAQ).

Law Web Sites:
http://www.gpo.gov

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac

Tribal Employers:

Employer instructions differ for tribal enterprises and Indian-owned businesses

located on reservations or trust land. The sovereign status of each Tribe influences
child support procedures. Some Indian tribes have cooperative agreements with the
Department of Social and Health Services, Division of Child Support (DCS), while others
have their own child support programs, laws and policies. Call us and ask for the
Regional Tribal Liaison. Or go to the Tribal Web Site at: www.dshs.wa.gov/esa/division-
child-support/tribal-relations



Contact DCS
DSHS Regions

pooon® A4 Region2 (VN ...

DCS Offices

Everett: Toll-free 800-729-7580 or 425-438-4800
Kennewick: Toll-free 800-345-9981 or 509-374-2000
Olympia: Toll-free 800-345-9964 o' 360-664-6900
Seattle: Toll-free 800-526-8658 or 206-341-7000
Spokane: Toll-free 800-345-9982 or 509-363-5000
Tacoma: Toll-free 800-345-9976 01 253-597-3700
Vancouver: Toll-free 800-345-9984 (1 360-696-6100
Wenatchee: Toll-free 800-535-1113 0 509-886-6800
Yakima: Toll-free 800-441-0859 or 509-249-6000

DCS Headquarters: Toll-free 800-457-6202 or 360-664-5000



New Hire Reporting

Washington State employers must report all newly hired employees to the
Washington State Support Registry (WSSR), which is maintained by DCS. We use
this information to collect child support.

Labor and Industries and the Employment Security Department also use new hire
information to identify fraudulent accident and unemployment claims.

A newly hired employee is defined as one who has never worked for you before, or a
former employee who has come back after a separation of at least sixty consecutive
days.

Report all newly hired or rehired employees:
e Report within 20 days of the hire or rehire date.

e |f this is your first time reporting, report everyone since your last quarterly report
to Employment Security.

e Report even if more than 20 days passed since you hired the employee.
e Report all hires regardless of age, gender or hours worked.

Include in the report

Employee Information:
e Name

e Address

e Social Security Number

e Date of Birth

e Date of Hire (first day the employee works for pay. For a rehired employee, report
the date the employee returned to work for pay.)

Employer Information:

e Business Name

e Business Address

e Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

Reporting Methods:

e Internet: https://secure.dshs.wa.gov/dcsonline/
Provides an E-mail Report Confirmation.

e Fax reports to: 800-782-0624

e Phone reports to: 800-562-0479

Multi-State Employer Registration:

Employers doing business in two or more states must register with the National New
Hire Program and report all new hires to one state.

Registration options:

e Online: https://ocsp.acf.hhs.gov/OCSE/

e Fax: 410-277-9325

e Phone: 410-277-9470

e |nclude: Business name, address, phone number, and Federal Employer
[dentification Number (FEIN)

Law: 45 CFR 303.108, RCW 26.23.040, WAC 388-14A-8200
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Wage Withholding

State and federal law require DCS issue a wage or income withholding notice when
an employee’s child support order contains withholding language.

DCS sends a withholding notice even if the employee (or independent contractor) is
not behind in child support payments.

e Notices are effective the day they are received.

e State and Federal laws do not require DCS to give the employee advance notice.
e DCS sends withholding notices by regular mail, certified mail or personal service.
e You must return the “Answer” form within 20 days after receiving the notice.

Withholding:

e \Withhold the amount asked for on the form and send it to DCS within 7 working
days of each payday.

e State law does not allow withholding of more than 50 percent of the employee’s
net income (disposable earnings).

e Disposable earnings are the wages left after taking out taxes and mandatory fees.

e Tax deductions include FICA, income taxes, Labor and Industries (unemployment
insurance).

e Fees include union dues, and some retirement deductions.

e \Wages of an independent contractor or employee include bonuses, commissions
and draws against earnings.

¢ Tips and gratuities under an employer’s control are
subject to collection action.

e Convert housing, rent and other benefits paid instead of wages to dollar amounts
and count them as part of net wages.

Other States’ Withholding Orders:

e The federal income withholding order may come from Washington or any other
state.

e Follow Washington State law and do not exceed the 50 percent of net withholding
limit.

e |f you receive orders from more than one state telling you to withhold from the
parent’s earnings, call us immediately at: 800-457-6202.

Failure to Withhold:
e DCS holds employers responsible for payment of all child support money required
to be taken from wages.

e Your failure to honor a notice, or deduct and send wages to DCS can result in a
finding of liability for the full child support debt and a fine.



Calculating Payroll:

e The withholding order tells you to withhold a specific amount each pay period
(monthly, semi-monthly, biweekly, or weekly).

Fee for Administrative Set-up:

e Employers can take a onetime fee of $10 from the employee’s wages and can
take $1 from each future paycheck.

Release:

e Do not stop taking payroll deductions until you receive an official written release
from DCS.

Employee Termination:
e Tell DCS immediately when an employee no longer works for you.

e State and federal laws do not allow an employer to end the employment or refuse
to hire an individual because they have a child support order.

e |f found liable in court, the employer can be charged a penalty of double the
employee’s lost wages plus attorney’s fees.

Employee Questions:
e Refer employee inquiries to the DCS Field Office listed on the notice.

Law: 45 CFR 302.32, 45 CFR 303.100, RCW 26.23.060, RCW 26.23.080, RCW
26.23.090, WAC 388-14A-4000




Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

DCS encourages employers to send withheld support money by Electronic Funds
Transfer using Electronic Data Interchange (EFT/EDI).

EFT/EDI transactions are cheaper, faster, and safer to send and receive than paper
checks. DGS offers several free EFT/EDI choices to meet the needs of any size
employer.

Internet: https://secure.dshs.wa.gov/dcsonline/

e DCS Child Support Online Payment Services (DCSOnling), available through
Secure Access Washington (SAW), is secure, providing 128-hit encryption.

e DCSOnline offers “on-line” authorization.

e To make payments, users create their own User ID, password, and register their
bank account.

e You can build an employee data file within the website or upload an existing payroll
file and change it as needed.

e Select payment delivery dates.

e Schedule future payments.

e A single bank debit transaction handles multiple employee payments.

e DCSOnline is flexible and convenient.

Repetitive Automated Clearing House (ACH) Debit:

e Employers authorize DCS to automatically take the payment from their bank
account.

e Deductions happen on the same day(s) each month until the employer tells DCS to
stop.

e Repetitive debit works well for employers with a relatively small, stable work-force,
when employee payment amounts do not change.

ACH Credit

e Funds are transferred to the DCS bank account using an ACH credit transaction
similar to a direct deposit.

e The employee identification and payment information is sent in the form of an EDI
addenda record through the ACH network with the EFT payment.

e Employers should contact their own financial institution to determine its EFT/
EDI capabilities, to seek assistance with formats, standards, and technical
requirements to implement this application, and any costs associated with these
transactions.

e DCS can accept payments in the Corporate Credit or Debit with addenda (CCD+)
and Corporate Trade Exchange (CTX) standardized child support formats.

For more detailed information,
call 800-468-7422 or 360-664-5103

Law: 45 CFR 303.6, RCW 26.23.070



Medical Insurance Enroliment

DCS sends the National Medical Support Notice (NMSN) with an Order to
Withhold Income or by itself.

The NMSN contains two separate sections — Part A and Part B:

Part A contains the following:

e Cover Letter for Part A, Notice to Withhold for Health Care Coverage.
e Part A, Notice to Withhold for Health Care Coverage.

e Employer Response form.

e |nstructions to Employer.

Part B contains the following:

e Cover Letter for Part B, Medical Support Notice to Plan Administrator.
e Washington State Addendum to Box 2 of Plan Administrator Response.
e Part B, Medical Support Notice to Plan Administrator.

e Plan Administrator Response form.

e |nstructions to Plan Administrator.

Enrolling both the employee and the children:

e The premium limit shown on the NMSN applies only to the extra cost the
employee pays for the children’s coverage.

e Example:
Employee plus children $ 85 each month
Employee only cost - 33 each month
Cost of children’s coverage $ 52 each month

In this example, the premium limit on the Notice is $60. The cost of adding the
children is $52 ($8 less than the premium limit). The employer must enroll both

the employee and children.

Medical insurance provided through a union:

e Send the entire Part B section to the union’s third party administrator within

20 business days after the date of the Notice.
Insurance benefits handled by a third party:

e Send the entire Part B section to the benefits office within 20 business days

after the date of the Notice.



Employers handling their own enrollments:

e Follow the Part A, “Instructions to Employer” and Part B, “Instructions to Plan
Administrator”.,

e Enroll the children in the employee’s insurance plan or in an insurance plan that is
available within the premium limit stated in the notice.

e Medical insurance enroliment has priority over dental insurance enrollment.

e [f the insurer requires employee enroliment to enroll the children, enroll both the
employee and children.
[See the Unlawful Refusal to Enroll paragraph in the “Instructions to Plan
Administrator”.]

e Withhold the premium from the employee’s wages and forward the premium to the
insurance company.

e Complete the “Plan Administrator Response” form and the “Washington State
Addendum to Box 2 of Plan Administrator Response”.

e Send both forms to DCS within 40 business days after the date of the Notice.

More than one notice for an employee:
e DCS sends a separate NMSN for each child support case an employee may have.
e Add the insurance premiums of all NMSNSs to find the total premium limit.

Do not enroll the children when:

e The children’s portion of the insurance premium exceeds the limit stated on the
Notice(s) or when:

e The children’s portion of the insurance premium plus the amount taken for child
support exceeds 50 percent of the employee’s net disposable earnings.

e Mark Box 5 on the “Employer Response” form, and note the premium amount.

e Return the “Employer Response” form to DCS.



No medical insurance offered:

e Mark Box 2 or 3 on the “Employer Response” form and return the form to DCS
within 20 business days after the date of the Notice.

Removing Children from the Insurance Coverage:

e DCS sends a written Release when the employee is no longer obligated to provide
medical insurance for the children.

¢ The Release means the employer does not have to enroll, or keep the children on the
plan(s), if the employee chooses to drop them from coverage.

e Do not remove the children from the insurance plan(s) unless told to do so by the
employee. The employee may want to keep the children on the insurance plan(s)
voluntarily.

e The employer can remove the children from the insurance plan(s) without a release
when the children no longer meet the eligibility rules of the plan(s).

e Tell DCS when children are removed from coverage or are moved to a new insurance
carrier.

For More Information about Medical Insurance Enforcement

and Enrollment

e \/isit our website https://www.dshs.wa.gov/esa/faq?field_topic_value=childmedical
e See Topic: National Medical Support Notice

e See Topic: Medical Q & A

e (all the DCS field office that sent you the NMSN

Law: 45 CFR 302.80, 45 CFR 303.30, 45 CFR 303.31, 45 CFR 303.32, RCW 26.09.105,
RCW 26.18.180, RCW 26.18.170, RCW 26.23.050(5), WAC 388-14A-3125, WAC 388-
14A-4100 through 4175, RCW 48.01.235




Employer Authorization Agreement
for Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) of Child Support Payments

Written authorization is not needed for Internet www.dcsonline.dshs.wa.gov. Use for ACH Credit Authorization or Repetitive Debit
Authorization

Business Name FEIN Date of first payment (optional)
Contact Person Title Phone
Mailing Address Email Address
City State Zip
EFT Options:
ACH Credit with Addenda
CCD+ CTX

The Washington State Division of Child Support (DCS) is hereby requested to grant authority for the above named business to initiate
ACH CREDIT transactions to the DCS bank account for child support payments.

DCS bank account information will be sent to you upon receipt of this form. **Authorization is NOT granted for DEBIT entries to the
DCS bank account.

Signature Title Date

For Repetitive Debits, complete this section:

ACH Debit (Repetitive-DCS Initiated)
Number of Employees
Date(s) of Payment (Dates of the month — must be numeric)

Attach detailed listing with name, social security number and amount for each employee.

The Washington State Division of Child Support is hereby authorized to initiate debit entries to the bank account identified below, and
the bank is authorized to debit such account. This authority is to remain
in effect until mutual agreement between the Employer and DCS.

Signature Title Date
Bank Name
Branch Address Branch Telephone

ABA Routing Number Account Number (Please attach a voided check for verification.)
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PLACE
STAMP
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DIVISION OF CHILD SUPPORT EFT

PO BOX 9010

OLYMPIA WA 98507-9010

Please fold in half and tape shut. Do not staple.
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