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Quick and easy overview of how changes in Washington’s 2011 paternity legislation affect you and your clients.

	Acknowledgment Replaces Affidavit


	The name of the paternity establishment form has been changed from a Paternity Affidavit to Paternity Acknowledgment.  It is now printed on legal size paper.

	Rescission Period for Minors Extended


	Parties can rescind this document by starting a court action within 60 days of its filing with Department of Health (DOH), Center for Health Statistics (CHS).  The new law extends this right for minor parents.  Effective with the new Acknowledgment, a minor parent has the right to rescind up to their 19th birthday.


	Challenge Period Extended from 2 to 4 Years


	When the rescission period ends, the acknowledgment can be challenged in court, but the reasons are limited.  The reasons include fraud, duress, or factual mistake.  The challenge must be initiated in court within four years from the date the acknowledgment is filed with DOH/CHS.


	Challenges filed after child turns 2 years old 


	If the child is more than two years old when the challenge is filed, the child must be made a party to the action.  The court may appoint a guardian ad litem to represent the child’s interests.


	Registered Domestic Partners


	The Washington State legislature changed Washington law to clarify and expand the rights and obligations of registered domestic partners related to parentage. Therefore, the language involving parents in the acknowledgment process was expanded to include domestic partners.
 
NOTE:  The paternity acknowledgment must still be signed by biological parents, a man and a woman.  However, the presumption of parentage that exists for children born during a marriage has been expanded to registered domestic partnerships.


	Other Points of Interest



	DOH will not file a Paternity Affidavit form signed July 22 or later


	DOH will return the Paternity Affidavits (the old forms) if they are signed on or after July 22.  If a hospital or midwife sent in the Affidavit form, DOH will return it to the mother.  If a parent mails in the form, DOH will return it to the sender.
 
It is easy to tell the difference between the old and the new forms since the new version is now legal size.  You must destroy or recycle the old version!  Get the Affidavits out of circulation so that you and/or the parents don’t waste time and energy completing a form that will be rejected.  


	The Paternity Acknowledgment will be accepted by DOH immediately.


	The new Acknowledgments can be used as soon as you receive them.


	Oral and written information must be presented to the parents.


	This requirement has not changed with the new Acknowledgment.  Signing the Acknowledgment comes after the parents have read through the instructions and their rights and responsibilities AND received the same information orally by watching the video, listening to the paternity phone line message, or have the rights and responsibilities explained by a competent person.   
The paternity video and phone line message have been updated with the changes.  If the video is part of your checklist, make sure you show the new DVD.  You are free to load the video to your on-demand closed circuit system.  Please destroy old DVD versions and ALL VHS tapes.


	Spanish Translated Materials
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Spanish versions of the paternity materials will be available in August.   Until then, please use the new English Acknowledgment and provide a translator.  



	Tips

	

	Send any completed Affidavits to DOH/CHS as soon as possible to ensure they get filed well before July 22. 
Important:  As soon as the new materials are received (Acknowledgment, brochures & video), destroy the old versions and use the new.  
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