
 

Upper Limit on Current Support 

Percentage 
limit on 
current 
support 

State 

Yes No 

If yes, how much Legal authority (statute or rule) for 
guidelines  

Comments 

Alabama  X  Rule 32, Alabama Rules of Judicial 
Administration 

 

Alaska  X  Alaska Civil Rule 90.3 All awards are computed as %  of gross 
w/ no ceiling % 

Arizona  X  Administrative Order No. 2004-29 Awards computed based on “combined 
adjusted gross” 

Arkansas X  32% Arkansas Supreme Court 
Administrative Order number 10 

Percentages are used when the income 
level exceed the chart. 32% is the 
percentage for 6 children 

California  X  California Family Code sections 4050-
4076 

 

Colorado  X  Colorado Statutes 14-10-115 “shared physical custody” results in 
multiplying the basic support obligation 
by 1.5 because of a resulting duplication 
in certain costs. 

Connecticut  X  Connecticut General Statutes 46b-
215a 

 

Delaware X  50%   

District of 
Columbia 

 X  D.C. Code Ann. 16-916.1 Guidelines effective 4/1/2007 

Florida X  55% Florida Statutes 61.30 Florida limitation is 55% of gross 
income. 

Georgia  X  Georgia Code 19-6-15 Guidelines effective 1/1/2007 
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Hawaii X  Primary support plus 
30% of SOLA 
income 

Hawaii Revised Statutes 576D-7 30% is for 3 or more children 
SOLA income = gross income less self-
support reserve 

Idaho X  35% at $10,000 per 
year of guidelines 
income 

Idaho Rules of Civil Procedure 6(c)6  35% is for 5 children at $10,000 annual 
income. Each succeeding $10,000 
increment is assessed at a lower 
percentage resulting in a reduction of 
awards at higher incomes to below 35% 

Illinois  X  750 ILCS 5/505  

Indiana X  50%  Indiana Rules of Court See guideline 2  

Iowa  X  Iowa Code 598.21(4) and Title I, 
chapter 9 of Iowa Court Rules  

Residential credit is available 
 
Present guidelines effective 11/1/2004 

Kansas  X  Kansas court rules, Admin order 180 Residential credit (parenting time 
adjustment) is available 

Kentucky  X  Kentucky Revised Statutes 403.211 
and 212 

 

Louisiana  X  Louisiana Revised Statutes 9:315  

Maine  X  Maine Statutes title 19-A, chapter 63 
sections 2001 through 2011 

 

Maryland  X  Maryland Family Law Code Ann. 
Section 12-201 through 12-204 

 

Massachusetts  X  By order of the Administrative Office 
of the Trial court 

Effective 2/15/2006 
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Michigan  X  Michigan Supreme Court Order 2003-
22, Michigan 
Child Support Formula Manual 
(MCSF) 

Effective 10/1/2004 
 
You need a calculator 

Minnesota  X  Minnesota Statutes Annotated 
518A.26 et seq. 

 

Mississippi  X  Mississippi code 43-19-101  

Missouri  X  Missouri Supreme Court Order of July 
1, 2005 regarding Civil Procedure 
Form Number 14 

 

Montana  X  Administrative Rules of Montana, 
Title 37, chapter 62, subchapter 1. 

 

Nebraska X  For net combined 
incomes above 
$15K/mo, limit is 
support at $15K 
amount plus 10% of 
net income above 
$15K for 1,2,or 3, 
12% for 4, 13% for 5 
an 14% for 6 

Nebraska Court Rules Economic table amended effective 
7/1/2007 

Nevada X  Presumptive 
maximum amounts of 
support fixed by 
statute NRS 
125B.070(2) 

Nevada Revised Statutes 125B.070 
and 080. 

Presumptive maximum amounts 
amended in 2003 
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New 
Hampshire 

X  NHS 458-C 3 
Amounts are set at a 
percentage of 
combined net, 
effectively 
establishing an upper 
percentage limit 
when the CP income 
is zero 

New Hampshire Statutes chapter 458-
C, sections 1 through 7 

 

New Jersey  X  New Jersey Rules of court, Rule 5:6A 
appendix 9 

 

New Mexico  X  New Mexico Statutes 40-4-11.1 
through 11.6 

 

New York  X  New York Domestic Relations Law 
240(1-b) 

 

North 
Carolina 

 X  North Carolina court rules Effective 10/1/2006 

North Dakota  X  North Dakota Statutes Chapter 75-02-
04.1 

 

Ohio  X  Ohio Revised Code Title 31, chapter 
3119 

 

Oklahoma  X  Oklahoma Statutes, title 43 Sections 
118 through 120  

 

Oregon  X  Oregon Administrative Rules  137-
050-0320 through 137-050-0490 

 

Pennsylvania  X  Pennsylvania Code 1910.16  
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Rhode Island  X  Administrative Order 2002-03 and 
associated conversion table and 
worksheets 

 

South 
Carolina 

 X  South Carolina Soc. Serv. Reg 114-
4710 to 4750 

 

South Dakota  X  South Dakota Laws chapter 27-7 
sections 6.2 through 6.12 

 

Tennessee  X  Tennessee Admin. Rules Chapter 
1240-2-4 .01 through.09 

 

Texas  X  Texas Family Code Sections chapter 
154 subchapter C (Section 154.121 
through 154.113  

 

Utah  X  Utah Code 78-45-7 through 78-45-
7.18 

By statute no upper limit on base 
support but if base plus medical or base 
plus child care exceed 50% of obligor’s 
adjusted gross, presumption of 
correctness of base amount is rebutted. 
78-45-7.18 

Vermont  X  Vermont Statutes title 15, chapter 11, 
section 654 and rules  

 

Virginia  X  Virginia Statutes 20-108.2   

Washington X  45% of net income. 
RCW 26.19.065 

Chapter 26.19 RCW  

West Virginia 

 

 X  West Virginia code 48-13  
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Wisconsin  X  Administrative rule DWD 40  

 


