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Updated Student Eligibility to include exemptions for those eligible for work study and expected family 
contribution of $0 during the COVID19 pandemic.  
See below for edited text:  
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Student Status 
Revised July 29, 2019January 15, 2021 

1. Purpose: 
This section explains who is considered a student for the Washington Basic Food Program, which 

students are eligible for Basic Food, and when a client's student status begins and ends. 

WAC 388-482-0005  How does being a student of higher education affect my eligibility for the 
Washington Basic Food Program? 

 Clarifying Information and Worker Responsibilities 

 

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-482-0005
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/esa/eligibility-z-manual-ea-z/student-status#388-482-0005CI
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/esa/eligibility-z-manual-ea-z/student-status#388-482-0005WR


Starting January 16, 2021, Basic Food has been temporarily expanded to the following two 

populations in response to the COVID-19 public health emergency as allowed in the 

Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2021: 

 Students determined eligible to participate in state or federal work study by the 

institution of higher education; or 

 Students with an expected family contribution (EFC) of $0 in the current academic 

year.  

These expansions will continue until 30 days after the federal COVID-19 public health 

emergency is lifted.  

NOTE: 

For more information and guidance, see Student Eligibility Desk Aid. 

NOTE: If a client is determined to be an ineligible student during the Basic Food interview, the 

application should be denied. Do not pend the application to allow the client time to meet student 

eligibility. If the client wants to qualify for Basic Food through meeting student eligibility, the client must 

reapply after their circumstance changes. 

Clarifying Information - WAC 388-482-0005 

1. General Rule:  

An adult who is enrolled and taking at least six credits (half time) in an institution of higher 

education is ineligible to receive Basic Food unless they meet one of the exemptions 

described in this section. 

2. Institutions of Higher Education Including Online Schools:  

An individual is considered enrolled in an institution of higher education if the individual is 

enrolled in a business, technical, trade, or vocational school that normally requires a high 

school diploma or equivalency certificate for enrollment in the curriculum or if the individual 

is enrolled in a regular curriculum at a college or university that offers degree programs 

regardless of whether a high school diploma is required. Institutions of higher education can 

also include online schools (for example: University of Phoenix) and correspondence schools 

as long as the entry criteria or degree program characteristics are met and the student is 

considered attending at least half time. 

Colleges or universities normally require diplomas or certificates but allow exceptions for 

some students who are not high school graduates to enroll in classes. These institutions are 

still considered institutions of higher education. 

NOTE:  

If a client is determined to be an ineligible student during the Basic Food interview, the 

https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/ESA/eaz-manual/Student%20Eligibility%20for%20Basic%20Food%20Deskaid.pdf
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=388-482-0005
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=388-482-0005


application should be denied. Do not pend the application to allow the client time to meet 

student eligibility. If the client wants to qualify for Basic Food through meeting student 

eligibility, the client must reapply after their circumstance changes. 

If a client is determined to be an ineligible student as they meet no exemptions during the 
Basic Food interview, the application should be denied. Do not pend the application to 
allow the client time to begin meeting an exemption. If the client wants to qualify for Basic 
Food through meeting student eligibility, the client must reapply after their circumstance 
changes. 

Example: Patrick is a student of higher education and applies for Basic Food. During the interview, he 

discloses he has a job interview, but hasn’t been hired. Patrick meets no other exemptions. Do not pend 

his application for the results of the job interview. He can reapply once he is meeting the 20 hours a 

week average if he is hired or if he meets another exemption. 

 

NOTE:  

All Washington State public universities, technical, and community colleges consider 6 

credits to be half time. If someone is attending a private college or university, half time status 

must be verified with the school. 

3. Courses not considered higher education:  

A student is not considered enrolled in an institution of higher education if the student attends 

only for the purpose of participating in one of the following programs: 

1. English as a second language (ESL); 

2. High school completion and GED courses including Running Start; 

3. Courses that are not a part of the regular college program; or 

4. A WIA program contracted by a college. 

EXAMPLE: 

Kurt attends a technical college that offers both a two-year degree program and a one-

year certificate program. The degree program requires a high school diploma or GED 

for enrollment, while the certificate program has no such requirements. Kurt is 

enrolled in the one-year certificate program curriculum. Since the certificate-only 

program that he is enrolled in does not require a diploma or GED, Kurt is not 

considered to be enrolled in an institution of higher education. Therefore, Kurt does 

not have to meet student eligibility requirements for Basic Food. 

4. When Student Status Ends:  

Student status ends when the student: 



a. Graduates; 

b. Is suspended or expelled; 

c. Drops out of school; or 

d. Does not intend to register for the next normal school term (excluding summer 

school). 

5. Employed Students:  

Employed students meet the eligibility criteria when they work at least 80 hours each 

month or average 20 hours per week.  It is not necessary that they work 20 hours each week. 

6. Self Employed Students:  

Self-employed students meet the eligibility criteria when: 

0. They work an average of twenty hours each week; and 

1. Earn an amount at least equal to the federal minimum wage for twenty hours a 

week.  The current federal minimum wage can be found 

at https://www.dol.gov/whd/index.htm. 

7. Care for a dependent person in the AU:  

In order for a client to be an eligible student based on their need to provide care for a 

dependent member of the AU, the client must be responsible for more than half of the care. 

Because of this, one child cannot make more than one student eligible for Basic Food. See 

Worker Responsibilities below for recommended interview questions and documentation 

requirements for allowing student eligibility based on dependent care responsibilities when 

both parents live in the household. 

8. Income-in-kind:  

Income-in-kind is not considered payment for work and cannot be used to establish hours of 

workweek. 

EXAMPLE 

Melanie works for the college during her summer break.  Instead of paying her wages, the 

school deducts the income from her fall tuition costs.  We cannot use the value of the work or 

the hours worked when we determine if she is an eligible student. 

9. Work Study:  

Starting January 16, 2021, a student determined “eligible to participate” or participating in 

state or federal work study will be considered an eligible student for basic food.  

https://www.dol.gov/whd/index.htm


This is effective until 30 days after the federal COVID-19 public health emergency ends for 

new applications. For work study to make someone an eligible student, the student must be 

both: 

Approved for work study as part of a financial aid package for the school term; and 

Anticipate participating in a work study job during that time. 

If a work study job is not available or has not begun, the student is still eligible for the 

exemption until they notify us they refused a work study job. See Worker Responsibilities 

below for recommended documentation of "anticipating work study." 

10. Expected family contribution (EFC) of $0 

Starting January 16, 2021, a student with an EFC of $0 is an eligible student for basic food. 

This is effective until 30 days after the federal COVID-19 public health emergency ends for 

new applications. 

  

Worker Responsibilities -  WAC 388-482-0005 

1. Determine if the person attending school is a ‘student’ for purposes of Basic Food:  

If a client attends school, determine if the client meets the definition of “student” for Basic 

Food before looking at whether or not that client is an eligible student.  We don’t consider 

someone to be a student if they are: 

o Under 18; 

o 50 or over; 

o Are physically or mentally unable to work; or 

o In a program that does not require a GED or Diploma and does not offer a degree. 

NOTE:  

If a client claims to be physically or mentally unable to work and the client's statement is 

questionable, verify the claim by: 

5. Proof of permanent disability benefits issued by a public or private source; or 

6. A statement from a qualified professional or their staff. 

2. Evaluate a student’s eligibility for Basic Food:  

0. If you decide that a client meets the definition of a student, review the circumstances to 

decide if the person is an eligible student for Basic Food. 

1. Dependent care – When both parents are in the home:  

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-482-0005


Before allowing student eligibility based on dependent care responsibilities when 

both parents live in the household, determine why the other parent cannot care for the 

child in place of the student parent. Ask the following questions during the interview: 

1. Is the non-student parent employed? 

2. If not employed or not working full time, why can’t this parent care for the 

child in the absence of the student parent? 

3. Is the non-student parent disabled and not able to provide adequate care for 

the child? 

NOTE:  

All responses to these questions must be documented in the case and/or the worker must 

thoroughly document why it was decided to allow or not allow student eligibility based on 

dependent care responsibilities 

EXAMPLE: 

A student and her spouse have a 4 year old child.  The non-student parent is not employed 

but is actively looking for work.  The student parent cares for the child about 60% of the 

time. In this case the worker documents that since the non-student parent is actively looking 

for work by filing job applications and attending interviews the student parent needs to care 

for the child more than half the time to allow for the other parent’s job search activities.  The 

student is eligible for Basic Food. 

3. Determining Student Income  

Student income must be evaluated and verified for all students, even if the student does not 

have to meet student eligibility criteria. 

EXAMPLE:  

Mark is a student at Western Washington University, attending half-time.  He is 53 years old 

and does not have to meet student eligibility requirements.  You must determine if he 

receives any countable or exempt student income. 

o Unearned:  

Payments for the educational assistance of an AU member enrolled at a recognized 

institution of post-secondary education, school for the handicapped, vocational 

program or a program that provides for completion of a secondary school diploma or 

GED. 

o Earned:  



Work study program wages are earnings from a program operated by a post-

secondary school in which the student works and earns money during the year. 

Federally funded work study is non-countable income, whereas state-funded work 

study is countable income. 

o Income-in-kind:  

Income-in-kind is not considered payment for work and cannot be used to establish 

hours of work week. 

o Educational income:  

All educational income excluded under WAC 388-450-0035  is excluded and not 

counted in the eligibility or benefit determination.  This includes, but is not limited 

to: 

 Basic Educational Opportunity Grant (BEOG) 

 Pell Grant 

 Federal Supplement Education Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) 

 State Student Incentive Grant (SSIG) 

 Federal Direct Student Loan Program (FDSLP) 

 Guaranteed Student Loans (GSL) 

 Federal Family Education Loan Program (FFELP), includes Federal Direct 

Stafford Loan, Unsubsidized Stafford Loan, Consolidated Loan, PLUS 

Program 

 Federal Airlines Loan Program 

 Bureau of Indian Affairs Adult Education, Higher Education, GED, Job 

Training and Technical School Programs 

 Federal Work Study Programs 

 TRIO Grants such as Upward Bound, Robert E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate 

Achievement, Student Support Services 

 Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship 

 College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP) 

 High School Equivalency Program (HEP) 

 National Early Intervention Scholarship and Partnership Program 

 HOPE Scholarship 

 Educational assistance received through the Montgomery GI Bill 

NOTE:  

http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-450-0035


Some of the educational assistance sources named above (except funding from Title 

IV –HEA and BIA education assistance) will have funds not used for attendance 

costs that must be counted as unearned income.  Make sure you refer back to WAC 

388-450-0035  for specific rules about when you can exclude the entire educational 

assistance amount. 

o Veteran's Administration Educational Assistance (including Montgomery GI 

Bill):  

Subtract all attendance costs allowed in sub-sections (2) (a) and (b) of WAC 388-

450-0035  from the student's educational assistance.  Budget the amount left as 

unearned income to the AU.  Average this income over the period of time the VA 

states the assistance covers. 

NOTE:  

Exclusions apply only to monies from an educational source and not to educational 

payments made from income available to the AU such as earnings, contributions 

from parents, TANF, etc.  All educational assistance income must be verified. 

See WAC 388-450-0035  to determine how a client’s educational income may impact 

their benefits. 

o Resources:  

Educational income is not counted as a resource during the period of time the income 

is expected to cover (usually the school term). 

EXAMPLE  

Jake received a GSL of $5,000 for the school term of September 1 through May 24. 

He put the money into a savings account to use as needed during the school months. 

The $5,000 is excluded as a resource until it is no longer considered income (May 

25). 

o Case Documentation:  

Document in a case record how you determined that a student was eligible for Basic 

Food along with how you verified that the student is eligible for benefits.  The 

verification may be obtained from the student, source, or school. Examples of 

verification are: 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-450-0035
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-450-0035
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=388-450-0035
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=388-450-0035
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-450-0035


 Responsibility for child: Student's statement he/she is responsible for the 

child if there is an age appropriate child in the household. His/her explanation 

about the availability of adequate child care should be written and is 

acceptable, unless questionable. If questionable, further clarification is 

needed. For example, if the non-student parent in a two parent household is 

not employed, but the student claims to provide more than half the care for a 

child in the home, further inquiry and documentation is warranted to explain 

why the non-student parent does not provide the majority of care. 

 Physical or mental impairment: If the disability is evident to the worker, no 

further verification is required. If not, verification may consist of temporary 

or permanent disability payments (paid because the individual is unable to 

work) from governmental or private sources (SSA, SSI, etc.), or a statement 

from the individual's physician or licensed or certified psychologist that the 

individual is unable to work. 

 School status: Statement from the student that he/she is enrolled at least half 

time is acceptable unless questionable. If questionable, verification is required 

(examples; awards letter, statement from school regarding number of credit 

hours student is attending and how many credit hours are needed for at least 

half-time, etc.).  Some schools may indicate the student is attending "part 

time."  This must be clarified, as this does not mean "less than half time." 

 “Eligible to participate” in Anticipating Work Study: During the COVID-

19 public health emergency, a school may determine a student is “eligible” to 

participate in work study without being awarded work study as part of their 

financial aid. A student's statement that they can reasonably expect or foresee 

being assigned a work study job is acceptable. The client still needs to 

provide proof they are approved work study as defined by the institution of 

higher education. A student can provide proof they have been awarded work 

study or notice from the school that they were deemed "eligible." 

 Income eligibility: Work Study, TRA/TAA, and WIA may be verified by the 

student (awards letters, copies of checks, etc.), school (financial aid officer), 

or source (Job Services). TANF may be verified via ACES. 

 On-the-job Training: Documentation from the employer that the individual 

is attending school as part of the employee's training. 

 BFET enrollment: Basic Food applicants accepted for enrollment in an 

institution of higher education through the Basic Food Employment and 

Training program will provide a letter from the school (BFET partner college) 

indicating the student is enrolled in an approved program of study and will be 

accepted into the BFET program contingent upon DSHS approval of Basic 

Food benefits.  See WAC 388-444-0015  for more information about BFET. 

 

https://www.dshs.wa.gov/esa/community-partnership-program/colleges-alphabet
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=388-444-0015

