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sign a paternity acknowledgment at a county vital records office, a hospital,
or a DCS office. Signing the paternity acknowledgment is voluntary, and
the signatures on the form must be notarized. If you file the paternity
acknowledgment on your own, DOH requires a filing fee, but DCS may pay
the filing fee if you bring or send the form to DCS. DCS staff may notarize
your signatures if you have proper identification.

If you need help getting or completing a paternity acknowledgment form,
call DCS at 1-800-442-KIDS (5437) or see the back of the Establish
Paternity for Your Child’s Sake brochure for the phone number of a DCS
office near you.

Note: This brochure does not advise you of all the rights and responsibilities
of signing the paternity acknowledgment. Please call 1-800-356-0463 for
more information, or contact an attorney.
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Who qualifies for the voluntary paternity
testing program?
You may be able to get a no-cost genetic test if all of the following are true:

e The mother was unmarried at the time of the child’s birth, and the child
was not born within 300 days of the termination of the marriage.

e The child is less than two years old.
e The child was born in Washington.
e There is no father named on the child’s birth certificate.

e Paternity has not already been acknowledged or established legally for
the child by a court.

e Both the mother and possible father are at least 18 years old.

Both the mother and possible father are considering whether to sign a
voluntary paternity acknowledgment.

e Both the mother and possible father agree to participate in the program.

What is a paternity test?

A paternity test is a scientific test to identify whether a man is or is not
the biological father of a child. Genetic samples from the mother, possible
father, and the child are tested by a genetic testing laboratory, and the
laboratory issues a report on the results of the genetic testing.

For the test, genetic samples are collected by swirling separate long cotton
swabs around the inside of the mouth of each person tested.

Why does the Division of Child Support (DCS) offer free
voluntary genetic testing?

Under the law, unmarried mothers and possible fathers may sign a paternity
acknowledgment to establish paternity for a child. When unmarried parents
choose to sign an acknowledgment of paternity to establish paternity of
their child without first having genetic testing to confirm fatherhood, they
may have later doubts. By offering genetic testing to unmarried parents
who are interested in establishing paternity, DCS helps parents settle the
question of the child’s biological father early in the child’s life.

For more information about voluntary paternity acknowledgments in
Washington State, please refer to the Paternity Acknowledgment form, the
Establish Paternity for Your Child’s Sake brochure (DSHS 22-586),
the paternity video which is available at every DCS office, or the information
line at 1-800-356-0463. You may also wish to consult with an attorney.

If I request voluntary genetic testing, will DCS
automatically open a case to collect child support?

No. A request for no-cost voluntary genetic testing or signing a paternity
acknowledgment does not cause DCS to automatically open up a case for child
support enforcement. DCS opens a case for child support enforcement only if
the child goes on public assistance, or if the custodial or noncustodial parent of
the child applies for child support enforcement services. To ask DCS to provide
child support enforcement services for your child, call DCS at 1-800-442-
KIDS (5437) or go to the DCS website at www.dshs.wa.gov/dcs/.

If the child does go on public assistance, or a custodial or noncustodial parent
of the child applies for child support enforcement services, DCS may stop
paternity testing through the voluntary genetic testing process and refer your
case to the Prosecuting Attorney’s office to establish paternity in court.

There may be other situations when DCS transfers a case to the Prosecutor for
paternity establishment. If a man is excluded as the father by genetic testing,
DCS refers the case to the Prosecutor. If more than one man is identified as a
possible father, DCS refers the mother and child to the Prosecutor for paternity
establishment. If your case is referred to the Prosecutor for court action, you
may be required to pay some costs.

How do I apply for a no-cost voluntary

genetic test?

Both the mother and the possible father must agree to be tested. Complete
the postage-paid application form on this brochure, tear it off, fold it, and malil
it to DCS. Once your application is received, DCS will check your child’s birth
information with birth records filed with the Washington State Department

of Health. A representative from DCS will contact one of you to review your
application.

If you qualify for services, DCS will schedule you for testing. DCS will send you
a letter telling you the time and place for your test. The mother, possible father,
and child must all go to the testing location for the test. Proper identification is
required, including photo identification for the adults.

Will I receive the test result?
Yes. The lab sends a report to both the mother and the possible father.

Who can see my application information and my genetic
test results?

DCS and its partners, including Prosecuting Attorneys and courts, and the
other tested party may see this information.
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Date of Birth

Possible Father’s Name

First

Home Phone

day year

month

Last

Middle

Cell Phone

Apt. #

Address

)

Email Address:

Zip Code

State

City

Date of Birth

Mother’s Name

First

Home Phone

day year

month

Last

Middle

Cell Phone

Apt. #

Address (if same as the possible father’s, write “same”)

)

Email Address:

Zip Code

State

City

Date of Birth

Child’s Name

First

day year

month

Last

Middle

Name of hospital where the child was born:

Man

Mother

Whom should we call if we need to ask questions?

By signing below, | agree that | have read this booklet. | knowingly and voluntarily acknowledge that the Division of Child Support and its partners may use application information,

interview information, all genetic testing paperwork including the chain of custody, any genetic samples taken to be used in a subsequent paternity action, and genetic test
results. | understand that if a paternity case is referred to court, | may be responsible for paying genetic testing costs if the court requires it or if a re-test is required by the Court

Laboratories do genetic testing during daytime hours Monday through Friday.
and/or Prosecuting Attorney.

Please refer us for a voluntary no-cost genetic test.

Date

Mother’s Signature

Date

Possible Father’s Signature

For staff use only

Notes:

Referral Number:

4

Detach this form, fold and seal for return mail

A



