
 

 

PROPOSED RULE MAKING 
CR-102 (June 2012) 
 (Implements RCW 34.05.320) 

Do NOT use for expedited rule making 
Agency:  Department of Social and Health Services,  

 Preproposal Statement of Inquiry was filed as WSR: 14-14-119     ; or 

 Expedited Rule Making--Proposed notice was filed as WSR:     ; or 

 Proposal is exempt under RCW 34.05.310(4) or 34.05.330(1). 

 Original Notice 

 Supplemental Notice to WSR:     

 Continuance of WSR: 

Title of rule and other identifying information: (Describe Subject)  
WAC 388-15-089 What happens if the alleged perpetrator does not request CPS to review the founded CPS finding within 
30 days? And WAC 388-15-069 How does CPS Notify the alleged perpetrator of the finding? 

 

Hearing location(s):  

Office Building 2 – Lookout Room 
DSHS Headquarters 
1115 Washington 
Olympia, WA  98504 
Public parking at 11

th
 and Jefferson. A map is available at: 

http://www1.dshs.wa.gov/msa/rpau/RPAU-OB-2directions.html 
 

Submit written comments to: 

Name: DSHS Rules Coordinator 
Address: PO Box 45850 
 Olympia, WA 98504 
e-mail  DSHSRPAURulesCoordinator@dshs.wa.gov 

fax      (360) 664-6185  
by: 5:00 pm on September 23, 2014 

         

Date:  September 23, 2014       Time:   10:00     a.m. Assistance for persons with disabilities:   Contact Jeff 

Kildahl, DSHS Rules Consultant by  September 9, 2014       
TTY (360) 664-6178  or (360) 664-6092 or by email at 
Kildaja@dshs.wa.gov 

Date of intended adoption: Not earlier than September 24, 2014 

(Note:  This is NOT the effective date)  

Purpose of the proposal and its anticipated effects, including any changes in existing rules:  
 

In WAC 388-15-089, CA needs to replace “twenty days” with “thirty days” to accurately reflect the new 30 day appeal 
deadline for CAPTA internal review requests.  This change will better align with the federal requirements.  388-15-085 
and 388-15-093 were already changed to reflect the correct timeframe. 
 
In WAC 388-15-069, CA needs to remove the language stated in 2) “In cases where certified mailing may not be either 
possible or advisable, the CPS social worker may personally deliver or have service the CPS finding notice to the alleged 
perpetrator.  This is being deleted as it is not required per RCW 26.44.100. 
 
 
Reasons supporting proposal:  See above 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Reasons supporting proposal:   

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 26.44.100 Statute being implemented: P.L. 111-320; The CAPTA 
Reauthorization Act of 2010 
 
 

Is rule necessary because of a: 

 Federal Law? 
 Federal Court Decision? 
 State Court Decision? 

If yes, CITATION: 
P.L. 111-320; The CAPTA Reauthorization 
Act of 2010 
 

  Yes 

  Yes 

  Yes 

  No 

  No 
  No 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 

 

DATE 

August 14, 2014 

NAME (type or print) 

Katherine Vasquez 
 

SIGNATURE 

 
 

TITLE 

DSHS Rules Coordinator 

(COMPLETE REVERSE SIDE) 

http://www1.dshs.wa.gov/msa/rpau/RPAU-OB-2directions.html
mailto:Kildaja@dshs.wa.gov


Agency comments or recommendations, if any, as to statutory language, implementation, enforcement, and fiscal 
matters: 
None 
 

 

Name of proponent: (person or organization) Department of Social and Health Services 
 

 Private 

 Public 

 Governmental 

Name of agency personnel responsible for:   

 Name Office Location Phone 

Drafting...............Keli Drake  
DSHS Headquarters, 1115 Washington, Olympia, WA  
98504 

 

(360)902-7871 

Implementation.... Keli Drake DSHS Headquarters, 1115 Washington, Olympia, WA  
98504 
 

(360)902-7871 

Enforcement.......... Keli Drake  
DSHS Headquarters, 1115 Washington, Olympia, WA  
98504 
 

(360)902-7871 

Has a small business economic impact statement been prepared under chapter 19.85 RCW or has a school district 
fiscal impact statement been prepared under section 1, chapter 210, Laws of 2012? 
  
  Yes.  Attach copy of small business economic impact statement or school district fiscal impact statement. 
 
 A copy of the statement may be obtained by contacting: 
   Name:  
   Address:  
    
 
 
 
 Phone: (   ) 

 Fax: (   ) 
 e-mail     

 
  No.  Explain why no statement was prepared.  Rules are adopted without material change and ensure WACs are 
consistent with federal requirements and consistent with RCW 26.44.100. 

Is a cost-benefit analysis required under RCW 34.05.328? 
 
  Yes     A preliminary cost-benefit analysis may be obtained by contacting: 
   Name:  
   Address:  
    
    
    
 Phone:  (   ) 

 fax:        (   ) 
                  e-mail: 
 

  No: Please explain: CBA is not required under RCW 34.05.328 subsection (5)(b) iii.  Rules adopted by reference 
without material change to ensure the WACs are consistent with federal requirements and consistent with RCW 26.44.100.  
The rule content is dictated by statute.   

 



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 02-15-098 and 02-17-045, filed 
7/16/02 and 8/14/02, effective 2/10/03)

WAC 388-15-069  How does CPS notify the alleged perpetrator of 
the finding?  (1) CPS notifies the alleged perpetrator of the finding 
by sending the CPS finding notice via certified mail, return receipt 
requested, to the last known address. CPS must make a reasonable, good 
faith effort to determine the last known address or location of the 
alleged perpetrator.

(((2) In cases where certified mailing may not be either possible 
or advisable, the CPS social worker may personally deliver or have 
served the CPS finding notice to the alleged perpetrator.))

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 02-15-098 and 02-17-045, filed 
7/16/02 and 8/14/02, effective 2/10/03)

WAC 388-15-089  What happens if the alleged perpetrator does not 
request CPS to review the founded CPS finding within ((twenty)) thirty 
days?  (1) If the alleged perpetrator does not submit a written re­
quest within ((twenty)) thirty calendar days for CPS to review the 
founded CPS finding, no further review or challenge of the finding may 
occur.

(2) If the department has exercised reasonable, good faith ef­
forts to provide notice of the CPS finding to the alleged perpetrator, 
the alleged perpetrator shall not have further opportunity to request 
a review of the finding beyond thirty days from the time the notice 
was sent.
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