
DSHS 14-402 (REV. 04/2002) (AC 11/2012) 
COPIES TO:  Parent; Case Record; Public Disclosure Officer 

 
Notice to Parents 

DATE 
      

This form is used per WAC 388-454-0025: The department notifies a child's parent when we approve assistance and the 
child is living with someone other than their parent. 
COMMUNITY SERVICES OFFICE (CSO) 
      

CSO CONTACT PERSON 
      

TELEPHONE 
      

The Washington State Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) has recently approved Temporary Assistance 
for Needy Families (TANF) for your child(ren) listed below: 

              

              

              

State law gives you the right to be notified by the department: 

1. That your child has been approved for TANF benefits (cash and medical coverage) within seven days of the date we 
approve your child's application, unless there is a substantiated claim that you abused or neglected your child. 

2. Of your child's address under the following conditions: 

 a. When you provide a copy of a court order granting you legal custody, visitation rights or residential time and 
submit a sworn statement that the order has not been modified; and 

 b. No court order restricts or limits your right to contact or visit your child or the child's caretaker by imposing 
conditions to protect the child or the caretaker from harm; and 

 c. The department has not found that the caretaker has good cause for refusing to cooperate in child support 
enforcement activities related to your support obligation; and 

 d. You are not involved in a substantiated claim or pending investigation involving abuse or neglect of your child; 
and 

 e. There are no pending proceedings as listed in subsection (2)(a) through (d). 

You may request the child’s address and location: 

1. In person, with photo identification, at a local community services office; 

2. Through an attorney; or 

3. By submitting a notarized request when you reside outside the state of Washington. 

Before giving you the address, the department will tell the caretaker with whom your child is living of your request for 
disclosure.  The caretaker then has 30 days to: 

1. Present information that either stops the department from giving you the address, or limits your right to visit or contact 
your child. 

2. Request for a fair hearing. The Administrative Law Judge will then decide if the department can give you the address. 

DSHS will respond to your request within 35 days. 

Family Reconciliation Services (FRS) are available through the Department of Social and Health Services.  These 
services are designed to strengthen and reconcile families. Please call the FRS/Runaway Youth Information Hotline at 1-
800-486-9612 for information on these services. 

 


