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CONGRATULATIONS on your decision to adopt. 
By adopting, you have established an emotional, 
social, and legal relationship with your child.

Raising a child can be challenging. In 1971 the 
Washington State Legislature passed the Adoption 
Support Demonstration Act, giving the Department 
of Social and Health Services authority to establish 
an Adoption Support Program to make adoptions 
possible for children with special needs. Later in 
1980, the federal government passed the Adoption 
Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980- PL 96-
272, that provides federal funding for the adoption 
support program.

Children’s Administration provides adoption 
support services by entering into a contract with 
you prior to finalizing the adoption. This contract 
allows the Department of Social and Health Ser-
vices (DSHS) to provide post adoption resources for 
medical, counseling, selected evidence-based thera-
peutic interventions, and if agreed upon, a monthly 
cash payment to assist you in meeting the needs of 
your child.

This booklet will help you find answers to questions 
about the adoption assistance program and identify 
potential community resources that may be avail-
able to assist you in raising your child. Your local 
adoption support program consultant is also avail-
able to answer questions regarding the program’s 
resources.

Introduction

Introduction
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Contacting Adoption Staff
Q:	Who should I contact when I have a question 
about my agreement or services?

A:	Contact persons are available within the three 
regions of the state. The map below indicates the 
cities where the offices are located in each of the 
three regions. You may reach the office responsible 
for your adoption support agreement by calling 
1-800-562-5682. Listen carefully to the recorded 
message. When it asks if you would like to speak to 
your local adoption support program consultant, 
enter the number corresponding to the area where 
you currently reside. If you live outside the state of 
Washington, contact the consultant who assisted 
you with your initial agreement.

Questions and Answers
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The Adoption Support Agreement
Q:	What is the adoption support agreement?

A:	The adoption support agreement is a legal contract between you and the 
Department of Social and Health Services. The agreement identifies the terms and 
conditions that both you and the department must follow for participation in the 
adoption support program.

Q:	When does the agreement become effective?

A:	Unless otherwise stated in the agreement, the contract takes effect the date the 
adoption is finalized.

Q:	What if the child I adopt is over 13 years, does that make a difference in 
support?

A:	If you adopt a child 13 years through 17 years, the child will be considered an 
independent person for Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FASFA). If you 
adopt a child over 16 years through 17 years, the child may be able to continue in 
the extended adoption support program until age 21 if they meet the following 
criteria:
¡	 Participation in High School or High School Equivalency Certificate Program/

GED.
¡	 Attending College or Vocational School Program, or has applied for and can 

demonstrate intention of timely enrollment in secondary education.
¡	 Participating in a job training or activity that assists in removing barriers to 

employment.
¡	 Engaged in employment for eighty hours or more per month.
¡	 A youth is not able to engage in the above eligibility categories due to a docu-

mented medical condition.

In addition, youth in the extended adoption support program may be eligible for 
the Educational Training Voucher Program (ETV). More information on this topic 
is found in the Education Section.
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Q:	When does the agreement end?

A:	The agreement ends when:
¡	 The adoptive child reaches age 18 (unless the child is attending a full time 

education program working toward a high school diploma or High School 
Equivalency Certificate/GED).

¡	 Upon the death of parents or the child.
¡	 You are no longer legally or financially responsible for the child.
¡	 A child who was adopted between ages 16 through 17 no longer meets the 

requirements set forth in the extended adoption support agreement after age 18.

Q:	Will I receive a notice regarding termination of the program before my 
child turns 18?

A:	You may receive a notice advising you that the agreement will end on the 
child’s 18th birthday. It is your responsibility to contact the adoption support 
program at least 90 days before your child’s 18th birthday. Adoption support 
benefits will automatically stop on your child’s 18th birthday unless the program 
hears from you.

Q:	What if my child is 18 and is still a full time high school student or work-
ing full-time toward the completion of a High School Equivalency certificate?

A:	If this is the case, your child may remain on the program if, before the child 
turns 18, the parent requests that adoption support continue and a letter is re-
ceived on school letterhead that states that the child is a full time student and 
provides an expected date of graduation.

Q:	May I ask for a revision of my agreement?

A:	Any time, there is a change in family circumstances or the child’s condition, 
you may ask to revise the agreement by writing to your adoption support program 
consultant. Your consultant will advise you on what pertinent documentation you 
will need to be submit regarding your child’s special needs and the current cir-
cumstances of your family.

It may be helpful to create a family budget and document what resources are going 
directly to the special needs of the child. However, the department cannot require 
receipts from adoptive parents. A monthly subsidy will not cover all the child’s 
needs, but going through the process of determining the expenses associated with 
the child’s special needs will help when talking with agency personnel during the 
modification meeting. (Excerpt from North American Council on Adoptable 
Children).

Adoption Support Agreement Continued...
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Q:	What changes in circumstance require that I immediately notify the 
regional adoption support program consultant?

A:	Notify the regional adoption support program consultant immediately when:
¡	 The child is no longer living in your home
¡	 You are no longer legally responsible for the child
¡	 There is a change in your permanent address
¡	 The child or parent dies
¡	 There is a change in marital status of the parents
¡	 There is a change in legal or physical custody of the child
¡	 The child becomes eligible for another federal program, i.e. Social Security 

benefits, Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits, Veteran’s Administration 
benefits, or Temporary Aid to Need Families (TANF)

Program Benefits
Monthly Cash Payment
Q:	Does the adoption support program cover 
all the costs of raising my child?

A:	As the parent (s), you are financially respon-
sible for the needs of your child. The adoption 
support program should combine with your 
resources to assist you in meeting the 
ordinary and special needs of your child. 
The extent of support needed by you to 
help meet the needs of your child is 
determined through discussion and 
negotiation between you and the 
adoption support program consultant.

Q:	What should I consider when negotiating 
the monthly cash payment?

A:	When you begin to negotiate your child’s 
support agreement, there are three factors that 
can be considered:
¡	 The expenses that address the special needs of 

the child 
¡	 The circumstances of the family 
¡	 The legislative maximums allowed by RCW

The needs of your child pertain to his or her special 
medical, physical, or emotional needs. “Family 
circumstances” have been defined by the federal 
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Children’s Bureau as meaning a family’s ability to incorporate a child’s needs into 
the family circumstances. Income, debt, housing, transportation, space, family 
size, parental occupations, parental health needs, the needs of other family mem-
bers, and any number of other factors are considered. There is no set formula in 
determining monthly cash payments.

It is important to remember that the monthly cash payment may be changed 
through revision of the agreement, if your child’s needs or family‘s circumstances 
change. The monthly cash payment is not negotiated based on anticipated prob-
lems.

In 2012, the Washington State legislature limited the amount of the monthly cash 
payment to 80% of the foster care maintenance expense that a child would receive 
if the child were in foster care. As a result, the negotiated amount may start at $0 
and cannot exceed the 80% maximum.

Monthly Cash Payment
Q:	How is the adoption support monthly cash payment determined? 

A:	The monthly cash payment is determined through a negotiation between the 
adoptive parents and the adoption support consultant for the State of Washington, 
DSHS. The payment combines with the parents’ resources to cover the ordinary 
and special needs of the child projected over an extended period of time and 
should cover anticipated needs.

The agreement considers a variety of family specific factors:
¡	 Size of the family
¡	 Usual living expenses
¡	 Special needs of any family member

Program Benefits Continued...
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¡	 Family income
¡	 Family resources and savings plans
¡	 Medical and hospitalization needs
¡	 Families ability to purchase or receive care
¡	 Any other expenses needed by the child to be adopted

It should be noted that consistency among families in the adoption support 
monthly cash payment is not the goal of the program. Families with the same 
income and similar circumstances will not necessarily agree on identical types or 
amounts of assistance and that it is the uniqueness of each child/family situation 
that determines the monthly cash payment.  

Information found: 42 U.S.C. § 673 (a), 42 U.S.C. § 673 (a) (3), Child Welfare Policy 
Manual 8.2D.4 (Q.1), WAC 388-27-0130, WAC 388-27-0230, and RCW 74.13a.025. 

Q:	What benefits other than a monthly cash payment is provided through the 
adoption support program for each adopted child?

¡	 Medical and Dental benefits through Medicaid
¡	 Pre-authorized counseling assistance
¡	 Evidenced based therapeutic interventions
¡	 Reimbursement up to $1500 per child for adoption expenses

Medical
Q:	What types of services does Washington Apple Health (Medicaid) cover?

A:	Washington Apple Health Core Connections is the Medicaid program that 
covers the services listed below for adoption support families: 
¡	 Community Mental Health Centers
¡	 Dental
¡	 Doctors/Providers
¡	 Emergency Room
¡	 EPSDT (checkups and preventative care for children up to age 21)
¡	 Eyeglasses and eye exams
¡	 Home health services
¡	 Interpreter services for medical care
¡	 Medical equipment and supplies
¡	 Prescriptions
¡	 Psychiatric services
¡	 Surgery
¡	 Transportation 
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Some services have limitations. For more information, check with your medical 
provider or contact the Health Care Authority Customer Service center 1-800-
562-3022, extension 15480.

Q:	How do I get medical services through Washington Apple Health/Medic-
aid?

A:	Once the adoption has been finalized and you have updated your child’s name 
with the Social Security Administration, you can contact the Foster Care Medical 
Team (FCMT) at 1-800-562-3022 ext. 15480 to request your child’s updated 
ProviderOne coverage and card, or contact your adoption support consultant.

In Washington, adoption support families may receive their coverage through the 
managed care plan through Coordinated Care of Washington- Apple Health 
Coordinated Care (CCW-AHCC). You will receive information from that provider 
if this is how the medical service will be provided to your family.

Q:	Why do I need a Provider One Services card?

A:	This is your child’s medical ID card that confirms that your child is on medical 
assistance thru Medicaid. It tells doctors and other medical providers what 
medical services the child is eligible for, and it tells them Health Care Authority 
(HCA) Medical Assistance will pay for these services. You will need to show the 
card every time you obtain medical care or mental health services and when you 
pick up prescription medicines for your child.

Q:	Does the card have an expiration date?

A:	The ProviderOne card does not have an expiration date. It is not a guarantee of 
coverage, but is useful for keeping track of your child’s ProviderOne number.

Program Benefits Continued...
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Q:	What if there are mistakes on the Provider One Services card?

A:	Check your child’s card carefully to make sure everything on the card is 
correct. If anything on the card is wrong or needs to be changed, call your Adop-
tion Support Program Consultant.

Q:	What if I lose my child’s Provider One Services card?

A:	If you lose your card, call the Foster Care Medical Team at 1-800-562-3022, 
Ext. 15480 or the Adoption Support Program Consultant.

Q:	Can my child receive private insurance and Washington Apple Health/
Medicaid?

A:	You are encouraged to enroll your child on your personal insurance. Your 
personal insurance is primary and Washington Apple Health/Medicaid is second-
ary. Please let the FCMT know if you have other health insurance. Call 1-800-562-
3022, Ext. 15134. HCA will verify your primary insurance.

More Information about Medicaid:
Dental Care
In some counties finding a dentist can be difficult. If you need help finding a 
dentist or transportation to the dentist, call the Medical Assistance helpline for a 
list of dentists in your area who take Washington Apple Health. If you are receiv-
ing services through CCW-AHCC, the program will assist you in locating a 
dentist.

ABCD – Dental care for babies and young 
children 
Access to Baby and Child Dentistry (ABCD) 
is a dental program for young children up to 
six years old. Information available at http://
abcd-dental-org.

Getting Medications
You will not have co-pays for prescriptions 
covered by Washington Apple Health. 
You may incur a cost for medications 
that are not covered by Washington 
Apple Health. Your pharmacist 
can tell you if a medication is 
covered.
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Eye Exams and Eyeglasses
Yearly eye exams are included in the coverage as are eyeglasses and replacement 
glasses. If there is a medical issue, your child between 6 and 20 years may be able 
to get exams more often.

Mental Health Services
It is important to note that services for your child’s mental health needs are 
covered through both ProviderOne and Coordinated Care of Washington- Apple 
Health Coordinated Care. Please contact your primary coverage provider to assist 
with this need.

Q:	Is it common for a child to need mental health services?

A:	Statistics from the U.S. Center for Disease Control and Prevention show that 
up to 1 out of 5 children in the U. S. experience a mental disorder in a given year, 
and the number seems to be growing. 

Q:	What if your child needs to see a mental health professional after adop-
tion?

A:	When you open your heart and your home by adopting a child, you will experi-
ence unique joys and challenges as you raise your child. Although mental health 
services may not be needed until years after the adoption has taken place, at some 
point your child may need to see a mental health professional due to emotional, 
behavioral or developmental challenges. You may notice that issues surface as your 
child grows up, especially during the teen years. It is often helpful to sort out 
which issues are common to all children, and which issues are related more 
specifically to children who were adopted. Often, post-adoption mental health 
services are covered by your primary insurance, Medicaid (ProviderOne in Wash-
ington), or as a preauthorized service through the adoption support program. 

Q:	When should you find a mental health provider for your child?

A:	Talk to your child’s health care professional if you have concerns about the way 
your child behaves at home, in school, or with friends. Timely help from a skilled 
counselor or therapist can address an initial problem before it becomes more 
serious. For example, you may seek mental health services because your child has:
¡	 a marked drop in grades at school
¡	 been worried and anxious about things
¡	 trouble falling asleep, is waking up frequently, or is having frequent nightmares
¡	 been sad, moody or angry
¡	 poor self-esteem
¡	 been unable to cope with daily problems
¡	 started abusing drugs or alcohol
¡	 started hurting himself /herself
¡	 strange thoughts or unusual behaviors

Program Benefits Continued...
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Q:	How can you find a mental health professional for your child?

A:	Discuss your concerns with your child’s doctor, who can offer perspective and 
evaluate your child to rule out any medical conditions. Most doctors have working 
relationships with mental health specialists such as child psychologists or clinical 
social workers, so they may be able to refer you to a mental health provider in your 
area for the help your child needs. Also, you can ask friends, family, or clergy 
about qualified professionals they recommend. If needed, your health insurance 
company can give you a list of the mental health providers in their network.

Q: How should you choose a mental health professional for your child?

A: There are many different types of treatment approaches and professionals 
offering mental health services, but it is important to choose a professional who 
knows the unique issues facing adoptive families, works well with your child, and 
involves you in therapy. Typically, such a professional will fall into one of several 
professional categories: 
¡	 Psychiatrist – A medical doctor with special training in the diagnosis and 

treatment of mental and emotional illnesses. A psychiatrist can prescribe 
medication, but often they do not counsel patients.

¡	 Child/Adolescent Psychiatrist – A medical doctor with special training in the 
diagnosis and treatment of emotional and behavioral problems in children. 
Child and Adolescent psychiatrists can also prescribe medication; however, they 
may not provide psychotherapy.

¡	 Psychiatric or Mental Health Nurse Practitioner – A registered nurse practitio-
ner with a graduate degree and specialized training in the diagnosis and treat-
ment of mental and emotional illness. 
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In addition, your Primary Care Physician, Physician’s Assistant or Nurse Practitio-
ner (depending on your state) are often qualified to provide medication. 

The following mental health professionals can provide psychological assessments 
and therapy; however, cannot generally prescribe medications (although some 
states will allow it):
¡	 Clinical Psychologist – A psychologist with a doctoral degree in psychology 

from an accredited/designated program in psychology. Psychologists are trained 
to make diagnoses and provide individual and group therapy. 

The following mental health professionals can provide counseling; however, 
cannot prescribe medication:
¡	 Clinical Social Worker – A counselor with a master’s degree in social work from 

an accredited graduate program. Trained to make diagnoses, provide individual 
and group counseling, and provide case management and advocacy; usually 
found in the hospital setting.

¡	 Licensed Professional Counselor – A counselor with a master’s degree in 
psychology, counseling or a related field. Trained to diagnose and provide 
individual and group counseling.

¡	 Mental Health Counselor – A counselor with a master’s degree and several 
years of supervised clinical work experience. Trained to diagnose and provide 
individual and group counseling.

Q: What should you look for when you talk to a mental health professional? 

A: Ask questions related to what you are looking for from a therapist. You may 
want to know how they approach working with patients, their philosophy, if they 
provide reports to you, and who covers for them if they are not available. You may 
ask if they have a specialty, such as family or child counseling, training in trauma, 
grief and loss, attachment, or experience working with adoptive families. You may 
want to give the therapist a brief description of your concerns, and explain your 
family’s situation such as an open adoption, if your child experienced abuse, 
institutionalization, attachment issues, developmental delays, and so on.

While experience and education are important, it’s also important to find a 
counselor your child feels comfortable talking to. Look for one who has the right 
qualifications and experience, the best approach to help your child in the current 
circumstances, and values your involvement and support.

Q: How will fees be paid when you choose a mental health provider for your 
child?

A: Find out if the mental health professional you choose accepts your primary 
insurance or Medicaid coverage, and ask about their fees. If you do not have 
private insurance, your coverage is limited, or if the therapist does not accept your 
insurance or Medicaid, check to see if your adoption support agreement provides 

Program Benefits Continued...
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for outpatient psychiatric and other counseling. If so, contact your adoption 
support program consultant before you start the service and request a Preauthori-
zation for Services. 

Q: What is the Adoption Support Program’s Preauthorization for Services 
process?

A: When you call the adoption support program consultant and request a preau-
thorization, you will be advised of the state rates, covered services and you will be 
sent the pre-authorization form. You must complete the first section of the form, 
the provider you choose must complete the second section, and the form is re-
turned to the adoption support program consultant for review and approval. A 
copy of the approved form will be sent to you and the provider. Adoption support 
will pay the provider directly. Preauthorization for services includes in-home 
evidenced based practices and individual counseling. 

For the evidenced based practices, you will be sent information regarding the 
therapeutic interventions available for your children according to their age. The 
information will include descriptions of the services, and how to choose a provid-
er. The current services being offered to adoption support families include: Pro-
moting First Relationships, Incredible Years, Parent Child Interaction Therapy, 
Functional Family Therapy, and Triple P, SafeCare, and Family Preservation 
Services.

After completing the evidence based practice service, it may be recommended that 
your family continue with individual counseling. Both processes involve following 
the pre-authorization request process.

Q: What if your child needs a residential treatment program after adoption?

A: Under state law, WAC 388-27-0260, the adoption support program cannot pay 
for residential treatment placements. If you request residential treatment services 
due to:
¡	 Your child’s mental illness, please call your local Regional Support Network 

(RSN);
¡	 Your child’s diagnosis of physical, mental, developmental, cognitive or emotion-

al disability, please call the Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA) to 
determine if your child is eligible for services; or 

¡	 A need other than treatment of mental illness or developmental disabilities, 
please call child welfare services intake at the local office of the Children’s 
Administration (CA).

¡	 During a crisis or severe situation, you can self-refer to the Wrap Around 
Intensive Service (WISe) program operated by the RSN in your area.
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Education
Q:	Are there any educational programs specifically available for my child 
after high school?

A:	The Education and Training Voucher (ETV) Program is available for youth who 
were in foster care and adopted on or after their 16th birthday. ETV offers finan-
cial assistance to eligible foster youth to attend an accredited college, university, 
vocational or technical college. The ETV program helps students with their own 
efforts to secure financial aid to enroll in college. The maximum ETV award is 
$5,000 per academic year.

Awards are unique to each student and are based on the cost of attendance for-
mula established by their college of choice and any unmet need they may have 
within their financial aid award.
¡	 ETV can be used nationwide.
¡	 Youth who participate and receive an ETV payment prior to age 21 can continue 

to receive ETV until age 23.

Application Process
ETV applications are located on the adolescent website www.independence.wa.gov 
or you may request a hard copy by contacting program staff:
¡	 The online application is for first time appliers only.
¡	 The renewal application is for eligible returning applicants.
¡	 The running start/dual credit application is for students who are in high school, 

and have been approved to be in the running start program and are taking 
college level courses.

¡	 The priority application cycle begins January 1 and ends April 30 of each year. 
All applications received after April 30 will be placed on a waiting list and will 
be awarded on a funds available basis. The application cycle will close July 31. 
No applications will be accepted after this date.

¡	 Youth must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) 
each year on or shortly after January 1. Per federal guidelines, youth who were 
adopted on or after their 13th birthday are considered independent for the 
purposes of applying for federal financial aid. However, colleges may require 
additional verification and request confirmation of when the adoption occurred.

¡	 Youth must reapply to the program each year.

Eligible Expenses
Once students have received their ETV award they may request assistance with 
the following:
¡	 Tuition: All other forms of financial aid must first be applied toward the tuition
¡	 Books and Supplies

Program Benefits Continued...
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¡	 Housing: Rent deposits, monthly rent payments, and utilities
¡	 Grocery and personal hygiene items
¡	 Transportation: Bus pass, assistance with car insurance, gas, maintenance and 

repairs
¡	 Child Care

Requirements and Continued Participation in the Program
Youth are required to complete the ETV Participation Agreement which outlines 
their responsibilities as an ETV participant. The main requirements include:
¡	 Youth will need to meet their institutions Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) 

Policy by maintaining a 2.0 GPA or better and show they are making progress 
towards a degree or certificate.

¡	 Youth must be enrolled at least half time or more, meaning 6 or more credits.
¡	 Youth must be enrolled in at least one 100 level college course and eligible to 

receive financial aid.
¡	 Youth must submit their class schedule at the beginning of each term and a 

copy of their unofficial transcripts at the end of each term.

For more information, visit our website at: www.independence.wa.gov or contact 
program staff at 1-877-433-8388 or etvwash@dshs.wa.gov.

Adoption Finalization Costs
Q:	How may I receive assistance with adoption finalization costs?

A:	Adoption finalization costs are one-time expenses incurred in order to finalize 
the adoption. They include attorney fees, court filing fees, cost of physicals, and 
home studies fees. To receive reimbursement for these expenses, you must apply 
prior to the adoption being finalized. Maximum reimbursable costs are $1,500 per 
child. Payment is made once the adoption has finalized and is based upon actual 
costs up to the amount specified in the agreement.
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Q:	What is required for proof of payment?

A:	Reimbursement will be made after your adoption support program consultant 
receives the following:
¡	 Signed copy of the adoption decree, and
¡	 Proof that bills listed in the agreement were paid. Verification may include a 

copy of a canceled check or invoice marked “paid” from your attorney, physi-
cian, and/or homestudy provider.

Training
Q:	May I participate in trainings to better understand my child’s special 
needs?

A:	Your family is entitled to participate in all training opportunities available that 
are provided by the Foster Parent Training Unit, Alliance for Child Welfare 
Excellence. Contact your adoption support program consultant for details. CCW- 
AHCC has a number of on-line trainings available for parents.

Additional Information
Q:	Do I have the right to a hearing if I disagree with a decision made by the 
program?

A:	You may request a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) if the 
following decisions were made by the program:
¡	 Your child’s initial eligibility for the adoption support program was denied;
¡	 The program consultant failed to respond with reasonable promptness to a 

written application or request for services;
¡	 A request to change the level of payment or service in the agreement was 

denied;
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¡	 Decision to increase or decrease the level of monthly cash payment was made 
without your consent;

¡	 A request for adoption finalization costs was denied; or
¡	 Your child was terminated from the program and you did not agree.

Q:	How do I request a hearing? 

A:	You will be notified in writing regarding program decisions and informed of 
your right to a hearing, the deadline for requesting a hearing, whether your 
request for hearing must be in writing, where to send the request, and whether 
you may make the request orally. You may also write to the Office of Administra-
tive Hearings (OAH) at:

	 Office of Administrative Hearings 
	 PO Box 42489 
	 Olympia, WA 98504-2489

All OAH offices have toll-free numbers. It is best to call the office closest to your 
location. Please review the website, www.oah.wa.gov, for the Administrative 
Hearings office closest to your location. 

Q:	What happens after I request a hearing?

A:	The Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) schedules a hearing and sends 
out a Notice of Hearing with the date, time, and place of the hearing. Enclosed 
with the notice is important information about the hearing. Pay special attention 
to the enclosed brochure. Read it all. Read it carefully.

Next, the hearing representative from DSHS will contact the person who request-
ed the hearing and any other interested party to discuss the case and try to resolve 
the disagreement. The DSHS representative’s phone number is written on the 
Notice of Hearing. You may initiate contact as well.

If you wish to review your file and make copies of documents that you believe are 
relevant to the hearing, you should call the DSHS representative to arrange a time 
to do this.

Sometimes the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) will schedule a pre-hearingconfer-
ence. These are usually held by phone. If the ALJ schedules a pre-hearing confer-
ence, instructions about what can be expected will be included in the scheduling 
notice.
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Q:	What if I want someone to represent me?

A:	You may hire an attorney at your own expense or you may represent yourself. 
The Northwest Justice Project offers free legal advice to low income people at 
1-888-201-1014 and TTY 1-888-201-9737 (Excerpts from Washington State Office 
of Administrative Hearing website – www.oah.wa.gov). If you wish to be repre-
sented, your representative must be at the hearing.

Q:	Once the adoption is finalized should I contact the Social Security Admin-
istration?

A:	Yes, when your child is adopted, you must contact the Social Security Adminis-
tration to notify them that the adoption has finalized. The administration will 
update the child’s record with the new identifying information and issue an 
updated card.

Once you have updated the information with the Social Security Administration 
for your child, please notify Medicaid and your adoption support consultant.

Q:	What is an adoption tax credit?

A:	You may be able to take a tax credit for expenses paid to adopt a special needs 
child. Consult with the IRS or your tax adviser to get more in-depth and individu-
alized information.

Q:	Am I required to notify Adoption Support if I move?

A:	Yes, you must notify your adoption support program consultant in writing to 
maintain program services like medical and the monthly cash payment. The US 
Postal Service will not forward your monthly cash payments. If you have direct 
deposit and move without notifying your consultant your monthly cash payment 
may be held until your updated address is received.

When Moving Out of State
Q:	When does coverage for Medicaid begin in my new state?

A:	All children who participate in the adoption support program are eligible for 
medical assistance through Medicaid. If the family resides outside of Washington 
State and is receiving Federal IV-E Adoption Assistance benefits, Medicaid is paid 
by the state of residence. The Federal IV-E determination is noted on your adop-
tion support agreement. If you have questions about this status, please ask your 
consultant when you contact them about the move.

If the child is not eligible for Federal IV-E Adoption Assistance benefits Medicaid 
benefits will be provided directly from Washington State or the state of residence 
if that state has reciprocal Medicaid coverage. Medicaid benefits included in 

Additional Information Continued...



Post Adoption Questions and Answers 19

Washington’s Medicaid Plan but excluded or limited by the resident state’s Medic-
aid Plain remain available through Washington State’s Medicaid program. Upon 
request, Washington State Adoption Support Program staff will facilitate contact 
with the resident state to assist in obtaining Medicaid coverage. Medicaid cover-
age from Washington State will continue until coverage is extended by the resi-
dent state.

TIP: If your child requires monthly medication, make sure that you get enough to 
last through the end of the month.

Community Services/Supports
Q:	How do I find support groups?

A:	Support groups are being developed around the state that serve adoptive, 
guardianship, foster, and kinship caretakers. For information about these groups, 
contact your local Children’s Administration office or the Foster Parent and 
Caregiver Support line at 1-800-301-1868.

Things to remember:

When changing addresses, whether within the state or moving to another state, it 
is important to notify your Adoption Support Program Consultant. If your child is 
turning 18 and is still in school, they may be eligible for an extension. Call your 
Adoption Support Program Consultant for details.
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Online Resources

Website for the Center for Adoption Medicine at the 
University of Washington, our resource for medical and 
developmental issues in adoption and pediatrics. 

www.adoptmed.org/home

Mental Health Services and Information: 
The DSHS Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery 
contracts with 11 Regional Support Networks (RSNs)  to 
administer community mental health programs. Services 
are provided for people who are Medicaid-eligible.

www.dshs.wa.gov/dbhr/mh_information.shtml

A website for parents and children providing activities 
and information for adopted children, giving them a sense 
of belonging to a wider adoption community.

www.adoptionclubhouse.org/

North American Council on Adoptable Children: 
Provides adoption information and services for children in 
the United States foster care system.

www.nacac.org/

National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome 
– Washington State: NOFAS Washington State is a 
source for support and resources for individuals with Fetal 
Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, their caregivers, and commu-
nity providers.

www.nofaswa.org
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Child Welfare Information Gateway: Resources on all 
aspects of domestic and intercountry adoption, including 
adoption from foster care. Includes information for pro-
spective and adoptive parents; information about search-
ing for birth relatives; and resources for professionals on 
recruiting adoptive families, preparing children and youth, 
supporting birth parents, and providing post adoption 
services.

www.childwelfare.gov/adoption/index.cfm

Kinship Care in Washington State offers information on 
social service resources.

www.dshs.wa.gov/kinshipcare

Washington State Medicaid, a resource to locate Pro-
viderOne Medicaid providers in Washington State.

https://fortress.wa.gov/hca/p1findaprovider/
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