

Transforming lives

	Administrative Policy No. 18.28
Subject:	Compensation
Information Contact:	Human Resources Division
Authorizing Source:	Chapter 38.52 RCW Emergency Management Chapter 41.06 RCW State Civil Service Law RCW 43.03.125 Relocation Compensation for Domiciliary Moves Chapter 357-28 WAC Compensation Chapter 357-19 WAC Appointment and Reemployment Chapter 296-126 WAC Standards of Protection State Administrative and Accounting Manual (SAAM) Manual
Effective Date:	July 1, 2005
Revised:	November 17, 2023 <sup>01 Housekeeping 2/26/24</sup>
Approved By:	Original signed by Wendy Long Senior Director, Human Resources Division

#### Purpose

This policy describes the compensation practices for the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) Washington general government (WGS) employees subject to <u>Title 357 WAC</u> and <u>Chapter 296-126 WAC</u>. Except where specifically stated otherwise, this policy, administrative policy 18.28 compensation, does not apply to positions or employees included in the Washington management service (WMS).

#### Scope

All WGS classified employees who are not subject to a <u>collective bargaining agreement</u> (CBA).

#### **Additional Guidance**

Administrative policy 9.11 emergency management Administrative policy 18.31 holidays and leave Administrative policy 18.58 Washington management services Administrative policy 18.82 bilingual/multilingual employees – assignment pay Administrative policy 19.60.01 relocation reimbursement

<u>Step M Q&A for Non-Represented Employees</u> Form 03-503 DSHS relocation authorization.

#### Definitions

**Anniversary date:** For WGS employees, the anniversary date is the unbroken service date plus prior state service. The anniversary date is used to determine when vacation leave over two hundred forty hours is lost and for computing the rate of vacation leave accrual beginning with the fifth year of total state employment. <u>WAC 357-01-023</u>

**Appointing authority:** An individual lawfully authorized to appoint, transfer, layoff, reduce, dismiss, suspend, or demote employees. <u>WAC 357-01-025</u>

**Base salary:** Dollar amount of the salary within the salary range to which the employee is entitled, before any deductions, and exclusive of additional compensation of any kind, such as premiums.

**Demotion:** Movement of an employee from a position in one class to a position in another class that has a lower salary range maximum.

Director: The state human resources director within the Office of Financial Management.

**Elevation:** An employer-initiated action that moves an employee to a position in: (1) A higher class in which the employee held permanent status prior to a demotion; or (2) A class in the same class series that is between the current class and the class from which the employee demoted.

**Flexible schedule:** An alternative work schedule that deviates from the standard 8 am to 5 pm, 40-hour work week.

Full-time employee: An employee scheduled to work 40 hours in a work week.

**Meal period:** A required period of at least 30 minutes which commences no less than 2 hours nor more than 5 hours from the beginning of a shift lasting more than 5 consecutive hours.

**New employee:** An employee that is newly appointed to a Washington state government position.

**Overtime eligible employee:** An employee who is covered by one or both of the overtime provisions of the <u>Department of Labor and Industries minimum wage requirements and labor</u> <u>standards</u> and <u>Fair Labor Standards Act</u>.

**Overtime exempt employee:** An employee in a position that is exempt from the overtime provisions of one or both of the <u>Department of Labor and Industries minimum wage</u> requirements and labor standards and <u>Fair Labor Standards Act</u>.

Part-time employee: An employee scheduled to work less than full-time.

**Part-time employment:** Is compensated based on the ratio of hours worked to those worked in a full-time appointment unless otherwise adjusted per special pay and/or assignment pay

### provisions.

**Periodic increment date (PID):** The annual date upon which an employee is scheduled to move to a higher salary step within the salary range for the current class.

**Premium:** Pay added to an employee's base salary on a contingent basis in recognition of special requirements, conditions, or circumstances associated with the job.

**Promotion:** The appointment to a class with a higher salary range maximum that results in a salary increase.

**Reassignment:** An employer-initiated move of an employee within the same agency from one position to another in the same class.

**Rest period:** The stoppage of work activities for personal rest and relaxation. Rest periods are considered hours worked.

**Reversion:** The voluntary or involuntary movement of an employee during their trial service period, to the previous job classification or to a position at or below the previous job classification's salary range for which the employee meets the required skills and abilities.

Reallocation: The assignment of a position to a different class.

**Reallocation (upward):** The assignment of a position to a class with a higher salary range.

**Reallocation (downward):** The assignment of a position to a class with a lower salary range.

**Split range:** A salary range in the compensation plan that includes steps above and below the salary threshold designated in the <u>Labor and Industries minimum wage requirements and labor standards</u>. An employee whose duties meet the duties test and salary is below the salary threshold is overtime-eligible.

**Transfer:** An employee-initiated move from one position to another position within or between employers in the same class or a different class with the same salary range.

**Workweek:** A fixed regular recurring period of 168 hours beginning at a time determined by the appointing authority and continuing for seven consecutive 24-hour periods. The work week may begin on any day and at any hour of the day.

Work schedule: Hours an employee is scheduled to work within the workweek.

Policy

## A. Administration's responsibilities:

1. The appointing authority must ensure their pay practices for employees covered by this policy are in accord with federal and state law, and approved DSHS practices and procedures described in this policy.

- Compensation for general government employees may not exceed the salary range maximum for the assigned classification as described in <u>WAC 357-28-020</u> unless authorized in this policy.
- 3. Compensation policies for WMS are in administrative policy 18.58 unless specifically referenced here.
- 4. The appointing authority may adjust an employee's base salary up to step M within the salary range to address issues related to documented recruitment, retention, or other business-related reason, such as equity, alignment, or competitive market conditions. The appointing authority must provide a written justification for the salary adjustment which will be included in the payroll file (<u>WAC 357-28-090</u>).

### B. Periodic increment date

- 1. An employee's increment date is determined as specified in <u>WAC 357-28-055 and</u> <u>WAC 357-28-060.</u>
- 2. The appointing authority, in consultation with Human Resources Division (HRD), may adjust the timing and amount of regularly scheduled increases by resetting the periodic increment date based on changes in the nature of the work or training requirements as long as the employee receives a minimum two-step increase annually until their salary reaches Step L or Step T (Step T is for nursing employees). Step M and Step U are achieved 6 years after being appointed to Step L or Step T. Examples of changes in the nature in work might include but are not limited to, increased duties and responsibilities assignment of "lead" responsibilities, special projects, changes in reporting relationship, etc. An example of changes based on meeting/completing training requirements might include but are not limited to completing training that results in certification, registration, or licensure, as required by the appointing authority or designee.
- 3. The appointing authority may adjust an employee's base salary up to step M within the salary range to address issues related to documented recruitment, retention, or other business-related reason, such as equity, alignment, or competitive market conditions. The appointing authority must provide a written justification for the salary adjustment which will be included in the payroll file (<u>WAC 357-28-090</u>).

## C. Hours of work

 The appointing authority or designee must designate the workweek and work schedule for each employee in the employee's appointment letter or schedule change notice. The workweek for full-time employees is 40 hours in a 168 hour period. The standard workweek begins at 12:00 a.m. Sunday and ends at 11:59 p.m.

Saturday. The standard work schedule is 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

- 2. The appointing authority may assign or reassign any employee or group of employees to a flex-time schedule as described in <u>WAC 357-28-230.</u>
- 3. Employees may request assignment to a flex-time schedule and the supervisor may grant or deny such assignment (WAC 357-28-235).
- 4. The flex schedule must be provided to the employee(s) in writing. The flex schedule must not exceed 40 hours in a workweek; example a 9/80 schedule would begin at noon on the employee's 8 hour day and end at 11:59 a.m. the following week. The employee would have one day off every other week.
- 5. The appointing authority may change an overtime eligible employee's assigned hours under the circumstances described in <u>WAC 357-28-252</u>.
- 6. The appointing authority or designee may assign work hours outside of regularly scheduled shifts.
- 7. Paid holidays during the employee's regular work schedule are considered hours worked (WAC 357-28-200).
- 8. Leave (paid and unpaid) is not counted as time worked (WAC 357-28-265).

## D. Meal period

- 1. Employees must be allowed a meal period of at least 30 minutes, which begins no less than two hours nor more than five hours from the beginning of the shift. Meal periods are not considered time worked. During meal periods the employee will be free from work.
- 2. Employees must not be required to work more than five consecutive hours without a meal period.
- 3. Employees working three or more hours longer than a normal work day must be allowed at least one 30-minute meal period prior to or during the overtime period.
- 4. Meal periods must be considered work time when the employee is required by the employer to remain on duty on the premises or at a prescribed work site in the interest of the employer.
- 5. The supervisor must make every effort to provide an employee with an uninterrupted meal period.
- 6. The appointing authority or designee may allow an employee to waive a meal period when a request is submitted in writing.

# E. Rest period (<u>WAC 296-126-092</u>)

1. Employees must be allowed a rest period of not less than 15 minutes, on the employer's time, for each 4 hours of working time.

- 2. Rest periods must be scheduled as near as possible to the midpoint of the work period. Employees must not be required to work more than 3 hours without a rest period.
- 3. Where the nature of the work allows employees to take intermittent rest periods (mini breaks) equivalent to 15 minutes for each four hours worked, scheduled rest periods are not required.
- 4. Rest periods may not be added to the meal period to extend the meal period.
- 5. Meal periods and rest periods may not be combined to shorten the scheduled work day.
- 6. Supervisors must ensure employees are permitted meal and rest periods.

## F. Overtime (OT) designation

- 1. The classification and compensation unit (CCU) will assign an OT designation to each position (WAC 357-28-240).
- 2. Appointment letters must inform employees of the OT designation on their position.
- 3. Employees will be notified if the OT designation is changed.
- 4. The CCU will seek the approval from the state human resources director before changing the OT designation of a position from OT eligible to OT exempt (WAC 357-28-245).

## G. Overtime (OT) administration

- An OT eligible employee must be paid for all of the time considered to be hours worked; all time that is hours worked, must be counted when determining OT hours worked. The amount of OT pay due an employee will be determined once the total hours worked each workweek is known. Hours worked over 40 in a workweek will qualify for OT.
- OT must be pre-approved by a supervisor. The appointing authority or designee must ensure OT eligible employees are not permitted to work over 40 hours in a work week without compensation.
- Part-time employees will not receive overtime until they exceed 40 hours in a workweek. Compensation for holidays will be determined as described in <u>WAC 357-</u> <u>31-020.</u>
- OT worked by an overtime-eligible employee must be compensated at a rate of one and one-half times the employee's regular rate for the following conditions: (WACs <u>357-28-255</u> and <u>260</u>)
  - a. When working on a scheduled day off when assigned by the appointing authority or designee.

- b. When an overtime-eligible employee experiences a schedule change which causes an overlap in workweeks and requires work in excess of forty hours in either the previous or current workweek, the employee must receive overtime compensation.
- c. During emergent incidents, subject to the approval of the state human resources director.
- d. Work on a designated holiday as listed in <u>chapter 357-31 WAC</u>. Employees receive premium pay at the OT rate for all hours worked on the holiday.

OT-exempt employees do not qualify for overtime. OT-exempt employees are expected to work as many hours as necessary to accomplish their assignments or to fulfill their responsibilities. OT exempt employees may be required to work specific hours as deemed appropriate by the supervisor. The salary paid to OT exempt employees is full compensation for all hours worked.

## H. Compensatory time

- An overtime-eligible employee must receive monetary payment as compensation for overtime worked. With the mutual agreement of the appointing authority or designee and the employee, compensatory time off at one and one-half times the overtime hours worked may be granted in lieu of pay (WAC 357-28-275). Compensatory time must be used in accordance with <u>administrative policy 18.31</u> <u>holidays and leave</u> and <u>WAC 357-28-280.</u>
- Compensatory time must be paid in cash in the following conditions: (<u>WAC 357-28-285</u>)
  - a. The accumulation of unused compensatory time of any amount that exceeds 240 hours or 480 hours for employees engaged in public safety or emergency response activity, must be paid in cash at the regular rate earned by the employee at the time the employee receives such payment.
  - b. Upon termination of employment, an employee must be paid for unused compensatory time in accordance with applicable state and federal law.

## I. Time and attendance reporting

- Employees will complete a time and attendance record in the time and attendance system (e.g., leave tracker), and provide it to the supervisor for review, approval, and processing. Missed rest periods may result in overtime pay if they accumulate at the end of a pay period when all work hours exceed 40 hours in a work week.
- J. Salary setting- WGS
  - 1. Entry Salary:

- a. The appointing authority may offer to new employees as a starting salary step A-D of the assigned salary range.
- b. Salary setting must be based on the presence of one or more years of relevant experience.
- c. Employees appointed at step A will receive a periodic increment increase six months after appointment.
- 2. An overtime exempt position with a starting salary that falls below the salary threshold may end up with a split range.
- 3. Employees appointed at step B-D will receive a periodic increment increase 12 months after appointment and annually thereafter.
- 4. Requests to appoint a new employee above step D must be justified in writing to the appointing authority from the hiring manager. The appointing authority will follow administration process for approving above step D.
- 5. A non-represented nurse may be initially appointed to Step U if the nurse has 26 years of experience.
- 6. Longevity Step:
  - a. Step M is a longevity Step. An employee cannot be appointed to Step M upon initial hire or progress to Step M upon initial hire (<u>WAC 357-28-082</u>).

# K. Promotion (WAC <u>357-28-110</u>)

- 1. Employees promoted must advance to a step of the range for the new class that is nearest to five percent above their pre-promotional salary, not to exceed Step M.
- 2. The appointing authority may grant a higher increase if:
  - a. Significant increases in duties and responsibilities, as documented by the
    employer, warrant greater compensation;
  - b. The increase is necessary for internal salary alignment, retention of the employee, or other documented business needs; or
  - c. The increase is necessary to bring the employee to the minimum of the salary range for the position.
- 3. When an employee promotes to a permanent position while in a nonpermanent appointment, salary will be determined in accordance with <u>WAC 357-28-110</u>.

# L. Reallocation

- 1. Employees in positions reallocated to a different class will have their salary affected as follows:
  - Reallocation Classification with higher salary range
    The employee's salary will be set in accordance with <u>WAC 357-28-115</u>.
  - b. Reallocation Classification with same or lower salary range

The employee's salary will be set in accordance with <u>WAC 357-28-120.</u>

 The appointing authority may approve salaries above the employee's previous base salary if it is above Step L of the new salary range as permitted in <u>WAC 357-28-120</u>. Under no circumstance may an employee's salary exceed their previous base salary.

### M. Transfer (<u>WAC 357-28-140</u>)

1. The employee keeps their current base salary, unless their current base salary was Yrated, then their salary will be set at the top step (Step L) of the salary range for the new position.

#### N. Reassignment

1. The employee keeps the same base salary as specified in <u>WAC 357-28-145</u> and <u>WAC 357-19-177.</u>

## O. Appointment due to layoff action (WAC 357-28-135)

- The base salary of an employee appointed to a position due to a layoff action must be determined as follows:
  - a. An employee who accepts a layoff option to a different position with the same salary range keeps the same base salary.
  - b. An employee who accepts a demotion in lieu of layoff or accepts a layoff option to a position with a lower salary range maximum must be placed within the new range at a salary equal to the employee's previous base salary. If the previous base salary exceeds the new range, the employee's base salary must be set equal to step M of the new salary range. If the employee's previous base salary was at step M of the salary range the employee must be placed at step M of the new salary range.
    - An employee who is appointed from an internal or statewide layoff list to a position with the same range as the position from which they were laid off will be placed within the salary range at a salary equal to the employee's previous base salary. The employee will receive any general wage adjustments (cost of living) that occurred during the time they were laid off.
  - d. Employees who are appointed from an internal or statewide layoff list to a position with a lower range maximum than the position from which they were laid off will be paid an amount equal to the salary they were receiving at the time they were laid off, provided it is within the salary range of the new position. In those cases where the employee's prior salary exceeds the maximum amount of the salary range for the new position, the employee will be compensated at the maximum salary of the new salary range.

## P. Demotion

- 1. For non-layoff demotions or reallocation downward of position (<u>WAC 357-28-155 (2)</u> and <u>WAC 357-28-084</u>)
  - a. An employee cannot be appointed to step M upon demotion (voluntary or involuntary) unless the employee was at step M of the salary range from which the employee is demoting or the employee was previously at step M in the salary range of the class the employee is demoting to.

# Q. Reversion (<u>WAC 357-28-150</u>)

- 1. The employee's base salary is set at the step the employee would be at if they had not left the position. If the employee is returned to a class with the same salary range maximum, the employee's base salary will be retained.
- 2. When an employee is reverted following a voluntary demotion, the employee will be returned to a vacant position for which the employee satisfies the skills and abilities, which is allocated to a class that has the same or lower salary range maximum as the class from which the employee is reverting.
  - a. If the employee is returned to a class where permanent status was attained the base salary will be determined as specified in <u>WAC 357-28-160</u>.
  - b. If the employee is returned to a new class at the same range the base salary will be retained if it falls within the range. The employee's base salary may not exceed the salary range maximum.
- 3. If the employee is returned to a new class with a lower salary range maximum, the employee will retain their current base salary unless their current base salary exceeds the new range maximum. In this case, the employee's base salary will then be set at Step L.

# R. Elevation (<u>WAC 357-28-160</u>)

1. The employee's salary will be set as described in the rules governing promotion.

# S. In-training appointment-salary and work period designation

1. The salary and overtime status of an employee in an in-training appointment will be determined as specified in <u>WAC 357-19-260.</u>

## T. Washington management service to Washington general service

- 1. WMS employee appointed to WGS position. A WMS permanent employee may accept a non-permanent appointment in WGS.
  - a. If the salary maximum for the WGS position is lower than the salary standard for the WMS position, the employee will maintain their salary if it falls within the range of the lower class; if the employee's salary is above

the maximum, the employee's salary will be reset to the maximum of the range.

- b. If the salary standard for the employee's WMS position and the salary maximum of the WGS position are the same, the employee's salary will not change.
- 2. Return from acting WMS appointment <u>WAC 357-19-353</u>. Upon return to a permanent WGS position in the same class or salary range, the employee's pre-appointment salary will be reinstated if it is within the salary range. If the pre-appointment salary exceeds the range, the employee's salary will be set at the salary range maximum.
- 3. Conversion of position from WMS to WGS. The employee's base salary at time of conversion will not be less than the base salary of the permanent WMS position held at the time of conversion.
- 4. See <u>administrative policy 18.58 Washington management services</u> for additional policies pertaining to compensation for WMS employees.

## U. Return to classified service from exempt

- 1. The employee's base salary will not be less than the employee's previous base salary in classified service, adjusted according to any changes to salary range that occurred while the employee was in exempt service.
- 2. If the employee was at Step L at the time they accepted the exempt appointment and they are returned to Step L of the same pay range, time spent in exempt service will count towards the six years to qualify for Step M.

## V. Conversion of position from exempt service to classified service

1. The employee's base salary will be set in accordance with WAC 357-28-165.

## W. Premium pay

Additional pay is added to an employee's base salary on a contingency basis in recognition of special requirements, conditions, or circumstances associated with the job. Premium pay may be authorized as long as the circumstances it is based on are in effect.

- 1. Additional compensation for recruitment or retention <u>WAC 357-28-090</u>, <u>357-28-095</u>, <u>357-28-100</u>.
  - a. The employer may adjust an employee's base salary up to step M within the salary range to address issues related to recruitment, retention, or other business-related reason, such as equity, alignment, or competitive market conditions. (WAC 357-28-090).

- b. The appointing authority may authorize additional pay to support the recruitment or retention of the incumbent or candidate for a specific position (WAC 357-28-095).
- c. At the discretion of the appointing authority up to a 15% premium may be added to the employee's base salary for positions designated as hard to fill or paid on a lump sum basis. An employee may not receive more than fifteen percent of their annual base salary over a 12-month period under the provisions of this section. Following are examples of recruitment and retention issues where appointing authorities may consider granting a pay increase of up to 15%:
  - i. Recruitment efforts for hard to fill positions which results in a minimal number of qualified applicants;
  - A turnover rate during a 2-year period that averages greater than 15% (excluding employees who took a non-permanent appointment).
- d. In advance of authorizing a lump sum recruitment or retention payment, appointing authorities must establish expressly in writing the justification for a lump sum. The conditions must include a specified period of employment or continued employment. Any lump sum payment under this section must only be made after services have been rendered in accordance with conditions established by the employer and become part of the incumbent's annual compensation for work performed prior to receipt of any funds.

Any additional pay granted under this section is a premium that is not part of base salary. The premium is to be used only as long as the circumstances it is based on are in effect.

- e. Written justification for the additional pay will be submitted to HRD and maintained in the employee's payroll file.
- f. State human resources director approval is needed to grant additional pay to support recruitment or retention of an incumbent or candidate for a position under the conditions specified in <u>WAC 357-28-100</u>. Approval must be obtained before the salary offer is made and accepted by the incumbent or candidate. The classification and compensation unit will submit requests to state human resources for approval and notify the appointing authority or designee of their decision.

# 2. Assignment pay (WACs 357-28-175; 357-28-180)

a. Approved assignment pay (AP) designations are listed in the compensation plan. The duties that qualify for assignment must be included in the position description. Annually the CCU will review the position descriptions

> to assess if the AP designation is still appropriate. AP for use of multilingual skills will be authorized as specified <u>in administrative policy 18.82</u> <u>bilingual/multilingual language policy</u>. WMS employees do not qualify for AP.

- b. Appointing authorities will update the PDF and remove the assignment pay if the duties the additional pay is based on are either removed from the position, are no longer needed, or both.
- 3. Call back (WAC 357-28-185)
  - a. If an overtime-eligible employee has finished the work shift and has left the worksite or is in paid leave status and is called to return to work outside of regularly scheduled hours to handle emergency situations which could not be anticipated, a minimum of two hours pay must be guaranteed. Any hours actually worked in excess of two hours must be compensated.
- 4. Holiday premium (<u>WAC 357-28-200</u>)
  - a. Overtime eligible employees who are directed to work on a designated holiday as listed in <u>chapter 357-31 WAC</u> must receive their regular rate of pay for the holiday. In addition, employees must receive premium pay at the overtime rate for all hours worked on the holiday.
  - b. The employer may offer compensatory time in lieu of monetary payment.
  - c. Overtime-exempt employees do not qualify for holiday premium pay unless the employer determines otherwise.
- 5. Shift premium (<u>WAC 357-28-190</u>)
  - a. Non-represented employees will receive the <u>shift premium rate</u> identified in the state human resources compensation plan.
- 6. Standby pay (<u>WAC 357-28-205</u>)
  - a. The standby rate for general government OT eligible employees is seven percent of an employee's base hourly rate <u>WAC 357-28-210</u>. If the appointing authority or designee approves standby for OT exempt employees, the rate is \$25 per day
- 7. Supplemental shift premium
  - a. The rate for registered nurses and related jobs that require licensure as a registered nurse must be paid as specified in <u>WAC 357-28-195</u> and the shift premium rate specified in the state human resources compensation plan.

## X. Relocation compensation (<u>WAC 357-28-310</u>)

1. Payment of moving expenses of a qualified employee, based on <u>administrative</u> <u>policy 19.60.01 relocation reimbursement</u>, hired in a permanent position who must move to accept state employment, pursuant to mutual agreement with the employee, may be made in advance of such employment as outlined in administrative policy 19.60.01.

- a. Relocation compensation will be considered for employees hired in a permanent executive level or hard to fill professional position who must move to accept state employment. This payment will not exceed 10% of the annual salary.
- b. Prior approval must be granted before the offer of relocation compensation is made to a prospective employee.
- c. Relocation compensation payment will not be authorized for transfers within DSHS.
- 2. Requests must be submitted in writing to the chief financial officer (CFO) as outlined in <u>administrative policy 19.60.01</u> on <u>form 03-503 DSHS relocation</u> <u>authorization</u>.
  - a. No offer or agreement for payment of moving expenses is to be made for a new employee in classified service (<u>Chapter 41.06 RCW</u>) prior to certification from an eligible candidate pool, provided through the Department of Enterprise Services or other recruiting source.
  - b. Payment of moving expenses is a taxable item and payment of such must be reported to finance services division payroll for tax reporting purposes.
  - c. The CFO may authorize a lump sum relocation payment, within existing resources, per (<u>RCW 43.03.125)</u> whenever:
    - i. It is reasonably necessary that a person make a domiciliary move in accepting a transfer or appointment;
    - ii. It is necessary to successfully recruit or retain a qualified candidate or employee who will have to make a domiciliary move in order to accept the position; or
    - iii. Inability to fill a lower-level position and the filling of the position is essential to carrying out the critical work of DSHS.
  - d. If the employee receiving the relocation payment terminates or causes termination of his or her employment with the state within one year of the date of employment, the State will be entitled to reimbursement for the moving costs which have been paid and may withhold such sum as necessary from any amounts due the employee. (RCW 43.03.120) Termination as a result of layoff or disability separation will not require the employee to repay the relocation compensation.

# Y. Emergency/disaster operations compensation

 Employees dispatched to emergency response duty under an incident command system as defined in <u>RCW 38.52.010</u> will be informed of any temporary eligibility to receive overtime compensation (<u>WAC 357-28-250</u>).

- Employees dispatched to emergency response duty under an incident command system as defined in RCW <u>38.52.010</u> are eligible for holiday premium pay (<u>WAC</u> <u>357-28-200</u>).
- 3. Employees who are working in response to an emergency or disaster under Level III or Level IV activation as designated by the Washington state emergency operations center (SEOC) will be compensated as follows:
  - a. Overtime eligible employees will be paid at 1-1/2 times the sum of their regular hourly rate for those hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek as a result of full-time work in support of a Washington state-level emergency declared under a governor's proclamation; a federally declared disaster that affects operations at the employee's work location; or if the employee is deployed to another state under the national emergency management assistance compact (EMAC) or other governmental mutual aid arrangement, in response to a disaster there. (Deployments under EMAC are 100% federally reimbursable.)
  - b. OT exempt employees dispatched to emergency response duty under an incident command system as defined in <u>RCW 38.52.010</u> will be eligible for temporary emergency/disaster compensation after working 45 hours in a workweek in conditions described in <u>administrative policy</u> <u>9.11 emergency management</u>.
  - c. All emergency and disaster overtime compensation will be limited to cash payments and no comp time or exchange time may be authorized.
  - d. For those hours worked during the activation, \$1.00 is added to an employee's regular rate in lieu of any other forms of additional compensation including, but not limited to, callback, standby, shift differential, split shift differential, assignment pay, and schedule change.
  - e. All employees who are expected to remain available for work while not on duty during Level III or Level IV activations by the SEOC will receive a lump sum of \$25.00 for each 24-hour period while on standby or otherwise subject to callback.
    - . Unless otherwise noted in writing, employees will retain their assigned work week while supporting emergency and disaster response or recovery operations. However, employees' assigned work hours may be different from their regularly assigned work hours.
  - g. The provisions in this section are limited to qualifying work performed in:
    - i. any DSHS office or residential facility or otherwise in support of delivery of a DSHS vital service;
    - ii. the state emergency operations center;
    - iii. a joint field office; a joint information center;
    - iv. DSHS headquarters or regional emergency operations center;

- v. a shelter or assistance center; or
- vi. other location as necessary or established in response to an emergency or disaster.
- h. Assignments to any state or federal level location, such as those named in 'd' above, and any deployments under EMAC other governmental mutual aid agreement must be coordinated through the DSHS office of emergency management so that overall response priorities are addressed first.
- i. Any exception to Level III or Level IV activations must be approved by the secretary.

<sup>01</sup> Link updates 2024 SharePoint move.