
 

 

Administrative Policy No. 18.28  

Title:     Compensation 

Applies To:  All Washington General Service (WGS) classified employees who 
are not subject to a Collective Bargaining Agreement. Applies to 
Washington Management Service (WMS) when referenced. 

Information Contact: DSHS Human Resources 

Authorizing Sources:  RCW 38.52 
    RCW 41.06 
    RCW 43.03.125 
    WAC 357-28 
    WAC 357-19 
    WAC 296-126  
    SAAM Manual 
 
Resources:   Step M Q&A for Non-Represented Employees 

Effective Date:  July 1, 2005 

Revised:    April, 30, 2014i Housekeeping 11/17/14 

Approved By:   original signed by David L. Stewart______ 
    Senior Director, DSHS Human Resources 
 
Purpose:  
This policy describes the compensation practices for the department’s Washington General 
Government (WGS) employees subject to WAC 357 and WAC 296-126.  Except where 
specifically stated otherwise, Administrative Policy 18.28 does not apply to positions or 
employees included in the Washington Management Service (WMS).   

Scope: 
All WGS classified employees who are not subject to a Collective Bargaining Agreement. 

Definitions: 

Anniversary date: Unbroken service date plus prior state service, minus leave without pay that 
exceeds fifteen consecutive calendar days as provided in WAC 357-31-345. 

Appointing Authority: An individual lawfully authorized to appoint, transfer, layoff, reduce, 
dismiss, suspend or demote employees. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=38.52
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41.06
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?Cite=43
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-19
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296
http://www.ofm.wa.gov/policy/contents.asp
http://hr.wa.gov/SiteCollectionDocuments/Rules/Step%20M%20QA%20for%20employees.docx
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-126
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-345
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Base Salary: Dollar amount of the salary within the salary range to which the employee is 
entitled, before any deductions, and exclusive of additional compensation of any kind, such as 
premiums. 

Demotion: Movement of an employee from a position in one class to a position in another class 
that has a lower salary range maximum.  

Director:  The state human resources director within the office of financial management.  

Elevation: An employer-initiated action that moves an employee to a position in: (1) A higher 
class in which the employee held permanent status prior to a demotion; or (2) A class in the same 
class series which is between the current class and the class from which the employee demoted. 

Flexible schedule: Alternative to 8-5, 40 hour work week.  

Full-time employee: An employee scheduled to work 40 hours in a workweek. 

Meal period:  Required after an employee works over five consecutive hours in a work day.  

New Employee: An employee that is newly appointed to a Washington State government 
position.   

Overtime eligible employee: An employee who is covered by the overtime provisions of the 
Fair Labor Standards Act. 

Overtime exempt employee: An employee in a position that is exempt from the overtime 
provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act. 

Part-time employee: An employee scheduled to work less than full-time. 

Part-time employment: Is compensated on the basis of the ratio of hours worked to those 
worked in a full-time appointment unless otherwise adjusted per special pay and/or assignment 
pay provisions. 

Periodic Increment Date (PID): The annual date upon which an employee is scheduled to 
move to a higher salary step within the salary range for the current class. 

Premium: Pay added to an employee's base salary on a contingent basis in recognition of special 
requirements, conditions or circumstances associated with the job. 

Promotion: The appointment to a class with a higher salary range maximum that results in a 
salary increase. 

Reassignment: An employer-initiated move of an employee within the same agency from one 
position to another in the same class. 

Rest period: The stoppage of work activities for personal rest and relaxation.  Rest periods are 
considered hours worked. 
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Reversion: The voluntary or involuntary movement of an employee during his or her trial 
service period, to the previous job classification or to a position at or below the previous job 
classification’s salary range for which the employee meets the required skills and abilities.   

Reallocation: The assignment of a position to a different class. 

Reallocation (Upward): The assignment of a position to a class with a higher salary range. 

Reallocation (Downward): The assignment of a position to a class with a lower salary range.   

Transfer: An employee-initiated move from a position to another position within or between 
employers in the same class or a different class with the same salary range. 

Workweek: A fixed regular recurring period of 168 hours beginning at a time determined by the 
appointing authority and continuing for seven consecutive 24-hour periods. The work week may 
begin on any day and at any hour of the day. 

Work schedule: Hours an employee is scheduled to work within the workweek. 

Policy: 

A. Compensation Administration 
1. The appointing authority must ensure their pay practices for employees covered by 

this policy are in accord with federal and state law, and approved DSHS practices and 
procedures described in this policy. 

2. Compensation for General Government employees may not exceed the salary range 
for the assigned classification as described in the compensation plan unless 
authorized in this policy. 

3. Compensation policies for WMS are in Administrative Policy 18.58 unless 
specifically referenced here. 

4. The appointing authority may adjust an employee’s base salary range to address 
issues related to documented recruitment, retention or other business related reason, 
such as equity, alignment or competitive market conditions. The appointing authority 
must provide a written justification for the salary adjustment which will be included 
in the payroll file. (WAC 357-28-090) 
 

B. Periodic Increment Date 
1. An employee’s increment date is determined as specified in WAC 357-28-055, WAC 

357-28-060. 
2. The appointing authority, in consultation with HRD, may adjust the timing and 

amount of regularly scheduled increases by resetting the periodic increment date 
based on the nature of the work or training requirements as long as the employee 
receives a minimum two-step increase annually until their salary reaches Step L or 
Step T (Step T is for nursing employees). Step M and Step U is achieved 6 years after 
being appointed to Step L or Step T. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-055
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-060
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Examples of changes in the nature of work might include but are not limited to, 
increased duties and responsibilities assignment of “lead” responsibilities, special 
projects, changes in reporting relationship, etc. An example of changes based on 
meeting/completing training requirements might include, but are not limited to 
completing training that results in certification, registration, or licensure, as required 
by the appointing authority or designee. 
 

C. Hours of Work 
1. The Appointing Authority or designee must designate the workweek and work 

schedule for each employee in the employee’s appointment letter or schedule change 
notice. The workweek for fulltime employees is 40 hours in a 168 hour period. The 
standard workweek begins at 12:00 a.m. Sunday and ends at 11:59 p.m. Saturday. 
The standard work schedule is 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

2. The appointing authority may assign or reassign any employee or group of employees 
to a flex-time schedule as described in WAC 357-28-252.  

3. Employees may request assignment to a flex-time schedule and the supervisor may 
grant or deny such assignment.  (WAC 357-28-235) 

4. The flex schedule must be provided to the employee(s) in writing.  The flex schedule 
must not exceed 40 hours in a workweek; example a 9/80 schedule would begin at 
noon on the employee’s eight hour day and end at 11:59 a.m. the following week.  
The employee would have one day off every other week. 

5. The appointing authority may change an overtime eligible employee’s assigned hours 
under the circumstances described in WAC 357-28-252. 

6. The appointing authority or designee may assign work hours outside of regularly 
scheduled shifts. 

7. Paid holidays during the employee’s regular work schedule are considered time 
worked. (WAC 357-28-200) 

8. Leave (paid and unpaid) is not counted as time worked. (WAC 357-28-265) 
 

D. Meal Period 
1. Employees shall be allowed a meal period of at least 30 minutes, which begins no less 

than two hours nor more than five hours from the beginning of the shift.  Meal 
periods are not considered time worked.   During meal periods the employee will be 
free from work. 

2. No employee shall be required to work more than five consecutive hours without a 
meal period. 

3. Employees working three or more hours longer than a normal work day shall be 
allowed at least one 30-minute meal period prior to or during the overtime period. 

4. Meal periods shall be considered work time when the employee is required by the 
employer to remain on duty on the premises or at a prescribed work site in the interest 
of the employer. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-252
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-235
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-252
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-265
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5. The supervisor must make every effort to provide an employee with an uninterrupted 
meal period. 

6. The appointing authority or designee may allow an employee to waive a meal period 
when a request is submitted in writing. 
 

E. Rest Period (WAC 296-126-092) 
1. Employees shall be allowed a rest period of not less than 15 minutes, on the 

employer's time, for each four hours of working time. 
2. Rest periods shall be scheduled as near as possible to the midpoint of the work period. 

No employee shall be required to work more than three hours without a rest period. 
3. Where the nature of the work allows employees to take intermittent rest periods (mini 

breaks) equivalent to 15 minutes for each four hours worked, scheduled rest periods 
are not required. 

4. Rest periods may not be added to the meal period to extend the meal period. 
5. Meal periods and rest periods may not be combined to shorten the scheduled work 

day.   
6. Supervisors must ensure employees are permitted meal and rest periods. 

 
F. Overtime (OT) Designation 

1. The Classification and Compensation Unit (CCU) will assign an OT designation to 
each position (WAC 357-28-240). 

2. Appointment letters must inform employees of the OT designation on their position. 
3. Employees will be notified if the OT designation is changed. 
4. The CCU will seek the approval from State Human Resources Director before 

changing the OT designation of a position from OT eligible to OT exempt (WAC 
357-28-245). 
 

G. Overtime (OT ) Administration 
1. An OT eligible employee must be paid for all of the time considered to be hours 

worked; all time that is hours worked must be counted when determining OT hours 
worked.  The amount of OT pay due an employee will be determined once the total 
hours worked each workweek is known. Hours worked over 40 in a workweek will 
qualify for OT. 

2. OT must be pre-approved by a supervisor.  The appointing authority or designee must 
ensure OT eligible employees are not permitted to work over 40 hours in a work 
week without compensation. 

3. Part-time employees will not receive overtime until they exceed 40 hours in a 
workweek.  Compensation for holidays will be determined as described in WAC 357-
31-020. 

4. OT worked by an overtime-eligible employee must be compensated at a rate of one 
and one-half times the employee’s regular rate for the following conditions. WACs  
357-28-255  357-28-260 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-126
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-240
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-245
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-255
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-260
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a. Work on a scheduled day off when assigned by the appointing authority or 
designee. 

b. When an overtime-eligible employee experiences a schedule change   which 
causes an overlap in workweeks and requires work in excess of forty hours 
in either the previous or current workweek, the employee must receive 
overtime compensation. 

c. Supervision of offenders assigned to assist in forest fire suppression and   
other emergent incidents, subject to the approval of the State Human 
Resources Director. 

d. Work on a designated holiday as listed in chapter WAC 357-31.  Employees 
receive premium pay at the OT rate for all hours worked on the holiday.  

 
OT-exempt employees are expected to work as many hours as necessary to   
accomplish their assignments or to fulfill their responsibilities.  OT exempt 
employees may be required to work specific hours as deemed appropriate by the 
supervisor.  The salary paid to OT exempt employees is full compensation for all 
hours worked.  OT-exempt employees do not qualify for overtime. 
 

H. Compensatory Time 
1. An overtime-eligible employee must receive monetary payment as compensation for 

overtime worked.  With the mutual agreement of the appointing authority/designee 
and the employee, compensatory time off at one and one-half times the overtime 
hours worked may be granted in lieu of pay.  (WAC 357-28-275)  Compensatory time 
must be used in accordance with Administrative Policy 18.31 and WAC 357-28-280 

2. Compensatory time must be paid in cash in the following conditions: (WAC 357-28-
285) 

a. The accumulation of unused compensatory time of any amount that exceeds 
two hundred forty hours (240), or four hundred eighty hours (480) for 
employees engaged in public safety or emergency response activity, must be 
paid in cash at the regular rate earned by the employee at the time the 
employee receives such payment. 

b. Upon termination of employment, an employee must be paid for unused 
compensatory time in accordance with applicable state and federal law.  
 

I. Time and Attendance Reporting 
1. Employees will complete the approved time and attendance form, sign the form and 

provide it to the supervisor for review, approval, and processing.  Missed rest periods 
may result in overtime pay if they accumulate at the end of a pay period when all 
work hours exceed 40 hours in a work week.    
 

J. Salary Setting- WGS 
1. Entry Salary: 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-275
http://asd.dshs.wa.gov/rpau/documents/Admin-Policy/18-31.htm
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-280
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-285
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-285
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a. The appointing authority may offer to new employees as a starting salary 
step A-D of the assigned salary range.   

b. Salary setting must be based on the presence of one or more years of 
relevant experience. 

c. Employees appointed at step A will receive a periodic increment increase 
six months after appointment. 

2. Employees appointed at step B-D will receive a periodic increment increase 12 
months after appointment and annually thereafter.  

3. Requests to appoint a new employee above step D must be justified in writing to the 
Appointing Authority from the hiring manager. Appointing Authority will follow 
administration process for approving above Step D. 

4. A non-represented nurse may be initially appointed to Step U if the nurse has 26 
years of experience. 

5. Longevity Step: 
a. Step M is a longevity Step. An employee cannot be appointed to Step M 

upon initial hire or progress to Step M upon promotion. (WAC 357-28-082) 
 

K. Promotion (WAC 357-28-110)  
1. Employees promoted to a position in a salary range less than six ranges above the 

pre-promotion range will receive a minimum two step increase not to exceed Step L. 
2. The appointing authority may grant up to two additional steps if:  

a. Significant increases in duties and responsibilities, as documented by the 
employer, warrant greater compensation. 

b. The increase is necessary for internal salary alignment, retention of the 
employee, or other documented business needs, OR 

c. The increase is necessary to bring the employee to the minimum of the 
salary range for the position. 

3. Employees promoted to a position in a salary range six or more ranges above the pre-
promotion range will receive a four step increase upon promotion, not to exceed the 
top of the salary range. 

4. When an employee promotes to a permanent position while in a nonpermanent 
appointment, salary will be determined in accordance with WAC 357-28-110.  
 

L. Reallocation 
1. Employees in positions reallocated to a different class will have their salary affected 

as follows:  
a. Reallocation - Higher salary range 

The employee’s salary will be set in accordance with WAC 357-28-115. 
b. Reallocation – Same or lower salary range 

The employee’s salary will be set in accordance with WAC 357-28-120.   

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-082
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-115
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-120
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2. The appointing authority may approve salaries above the employee’s previous base 
salary if it is above Step L of the new salary range as permitted in WAC 357-28-120. 
Under no circumstance may an employee’s salary exceed their previous base salary.  
 

M. Transfer (WAC 357-28-140) 
1. The employee keeps their current base salary, unless their current base salary was Y-

rated, then their salary will be set at the top step (Step L) of the salary range for the 
new position.  

 
N. Reassignment 

1. The employee keeps the same base salary as specified in WACs 357-28-145,    357-
19-177. 
 

O. Appointment due to layoff action (WAC 357-28-135) 
1. The base salary of an employee appointed to a position due to a layoff action must be 

determined as follows: 
a. An employee who accepts a layoff option to a different position with the same 

salary range keeps the same base salary. 

b. An employee who accepts a demotion in lieu of layoff or accepts a layoff 
option to a position with a lower salary range maximum must be placed within 
the new range at a salary equal to the employee's previous base salary. If the 
previous base salary exceeds the new range, the employee's base salary must 
be set equal to step L of the new salary range. If the employee's previous base 
salary was at step M of the salary range the employee must be placed at step 
M of the new salary range. 

c. An employee who is appointed from a layoff list to a position with the same 
salary range from which they were laid off will be placed within the salary 
range at a salary equal to the employee’s previous base salary.  The employee 
will receive any general wage adjustments (cost of living) that occurred 
during the time they were laid off. 

d. Employees who are appointed from an internal layoff list to a position with a 
lower salary range than the position from which they were laid off will be paid 
an amount equal to the salary they were receiving at the time they were laid 
off, provided it is within the salary range of the new position.  In those cases 
where the employee’s prior salary exceeds the maximum amount of the salary 
range for the new position, the employee will be compensated at the 
maximum salary of the new salary range. 

P. Demotion 
1. For reasons other than in lieu of layoff or reallocation downward of position (WAC 

357-28-155) 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-145
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-19-177
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-19-177
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-155
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a. The employee will retain their base salary unless their base salary exceeds 
Step M of the lower classification.  If the employee’s previous base salary 
was at step M of the salary range the employee must be placed at step M of 
the new salary range. 
 

Q. Reversion  (WAC 357-28-150) 
1. The employee’s base salary is set at the step the employee would be at if he/she had 

not left the position.  If the employee is returned to a class with the same salary range 
maximum, the employee’s base salary will be retained. 

2. When an employee is reverted following a voluntary demotion, the employee will be 
returned to a vacant position for which the employee satisfies the skills and abilities, 
which is allocated to a class that has the same or lower salary range maximum as the 
class from which the employee is reverting.  

a. If the employee is returned to a class where permanent status was attained 
the base salary will be determined as specified in WAC 357-28-160.   

b. If the employee is returned to a new class at the same range the base salary 
will be retained if it falls within the range. The employee’s base salary may 
not exceed the salary range maximum. 

3. If the employee is returned to a new class with a lower salary range maximum, the 
employee will retain their current base salary unless their current base salary exceeds 
the new range maximum.  In this case, the employee's base salary will then be set at 
Step L. 
 

R. Elevation (WAC 357-28-160) 
1. The employee’s salary will be set as described in the rules governing promotion. 

 
S. In-Training Appointment- Salary and Work Period Designation 

1. The salary and overtime status of an employee in an in-training appointment will be 
determined as specified in WAC 357-19-260  
 

T. Washington Management Service to Washington General Service 
1. WMS Employee Appointed to WGS position. A WMS permanent employee may 

accept a non-permanent appointment in WGS. 
a. WMS Employee Appointed to WGS position. A WMS permanent employee 

may accept a non-permanent appointment in WGS. 
b. If the salary maximum for the WGS position is lower than the salary 

standard for the WMS position the employee will maintain their salary if it 
falls within the range of the lower class; if the employee’s salary is above 
the maximum, the employee’s salary will be reset to the maximum of the 
range. 

c. If the salary standard for the employee’s WMS position and the salary 
maximum of the WGS position are the same, the employee’s salary will not 
change. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-160
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-160
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-19-260
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2. Return from Acting WMS appointment WAC 357-19-353. Upon return to a 
permanent WGS position in the same class or salary range, the employee’s pre-
appointment salary will be reinstated if it is within the salary range.  If the pre-
appointment salary exceeds the range, the employee’s salary will be set at the salary 
range maximum. 

3. Conversion of position from WMS to WGS. The employee’s base salary at time of 
conversion will not be less than the base salary of the permanent WMS position held 
at the time of conversion. 

4. See Administrative Policy 18.58 (H) for additional policies pertaining to 
compensation for WMS employees. 
 

U. Return to Classified Service from Exempt 
1. The employee’s base salary will not be less than the employee’s previous base salary 

in classified service, adjusted according to any changes to salary range that occurred 
while the employee was in exempt service. 

2. If the employee was at Step L at the time they accepted the exempt appointment and 
they are returned to Step L of the same pay range, time spent in exempt service will 
count towards the six years to qualify for Step M. 
 

V. Conversion of position from exempt service to Classified Service 
1. The employee’s base salary will be set in accordance with WAC 357-28-165. 

 
W. Premium Pay 

Additional pay is added to an employee’s base salary on a contingency basis in 
recognition of special requirements, conditions, or circumstances associated with the job.  
Premium pay may be authorized as long as the circumstances it is based on are in effect. 
1. Additional compensation for recruitment/ or retention WAC 357-28-090, 357-28-095, 

357-28-100. 
a. The appointing authority may authorize additional pay to support the 

recruitment or retention of the incumbent or candidate for a specific 
position.   

b. At the discretion of the appointing authority up to a fifteen percent premium 
may be added to the employee's base salary for positions designated as hard 
to fill or paid on a lump sum basis. An employee may not receive more than 
fifteen percent of his/her annual base salary over a twelve month period 
under the provisions of this section.  The adjustment may not exceed the 
employee’s current salary range (WAC357-28-090).  Following are 
examples of recruitment and retention issues where appointing authorities 
may consider granting  a pay increase of up to fifteen (15%) percent: 
(1) Recruitment efforts for hard to fill positions which results in a 

minimal number of qualified applicants; 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-19-353
http://asd.dshs.wa.gov/rpau/documents/Admin-Policy/18-58.htm
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-165
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-095
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-090
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(2) A turnover rate during a two year period that averages greater 
than 15% (excluding employees’ who took a non-permanent 
appointment).  

 
c. In advance of authorizing a lump sum recruitment or retention payment, 

appointing authorities must establish expressly in writing the justification 
for a lump sum. The conditions must include a specified period of 
employment or continued employment. Any lump sum payment under this 
section must only be made after services have been rendered in accordance 
with conditions established by the employer and become part of the 
incumbent's annual compensation for work performed prior to receipt of any 
funds. 

Any additional pay granted under this section is a premium that is not part 
of base salary. The premium is to be used only as long as the circumstances 
it is based on are in effect. 

d. Written justification for the additional pay will be submitted to HRD and 
maintained in the employee’s payroll file. 

e. State Human Resources Director approval is needed to grant additional pay 
to support recruitment or retention of an incumbent or candidate for a 
position under the conditions specified in WAC 357-28-100.  Approval must 
be obtained before the salary offer is made and accepted by the incumbent 
or candidate.  The Classification and Compensation Unit will submit 
requests to State Human Resources for approval and notify the appointing 
authority or designee of their decision. 

2. Assignment pay (WACs 357-28-175 357-28-180) 
a. Approved assignment pay (AP) designations are listed in the compensation 

plan.  The duties that qualify for assignment must be included in the position 
description.  Annually the CCU will review the position descriptions to 
assess if the AP designation is still appropriate.  AP for use of multilingual 
skills will be authorized as specified in Administrative Policy 18.82 Dual 
Language Policy.  WMS employees do not qualify for AP. 

b. Appointing authorities will update the PDF and remove the assignment pay 
if the duties the additional pay is based on are removed from the position 
and/or no longer needed. 

3. Call back (WAC 357-28-185) 
a. If an overtime-eligible employee has finished the work shift and has left the 

worksite or is in paid leave status and is called to return to work outside of 
regularly scheduled hours to handle emergency situations which could not 
be anticipated, a minimum of two hours pay must be guaranteed.  Any hours 
actually worked in excess of two hours must be compensated. 

4. Holiday premium (WAC 357-28-200) 
a. Overtime eligible employees who are directed to work on a designated 

holiday as listed in chapter 357-31 WAC must receive their regular rate of 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-175
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-185
http://asd.dshs.wa.gov/rpau/documents/Admin-Policy/18-82.htm
http://asd.dshs.wa.gov/rpau/documents/Admin-Policy/18-82.htm
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-185
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-200
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pay for the holiday. In addition, employees must receive premium pay at the 
overtime rate for all hours worked on the holiday. 

b. The employer may offer compensatory time in lieu of monetary payment. 
c. Overtime-exempt employees do not qualify for holiday premium pay unless 

the employer determines otherwise. 
5. Shift premium (WAC 357-28-190) 

a. Non-represented employees will receive the shift premium rate identified in 
the State Human Resources Compensation Plan.   

6. Standby pay (WAC 357-28-205) 
a. The standby rate for General Government OT eligible employees is seven 

percent of an employee’s base hourly rate WAC 357-28-210.   If the 
appointing authority or designee approves standby for OT exempt 
employees the rate is $25 per day 

7. Supplemental shift premium 
a. The rate for registered nurses and related jobs that require licensure as a 

registered nurse shall be paid as specified in WAC 357-28-195 and the shift 
premium rate specified in the State Human Resources Compensation Plan. 
 

X. Relocation Compensation (WAC 357-28-310) 

1. Payment of moving expenses of a qualified employee hired in a permanent 
position who must move to accept state employment, pursuant to mutual 
agreement with the employee, may be made in advance of such employment.  

a. Relocation compensation will be considered for employees hired in a 
permanent executive level or hard to fill professional position who must 
move to accept state employment.  This payment will not exceed 10% of 
the annual salary. 

b. Prior approval must be granted before the offer of relocation 
compensation is made to a prospective employee. 

c. Relocation compensation payment will not be authorized for transfers 
within the Department 

2. Requests must be submitted in writing to the Chief Financial Officer (CFO). 
a. Request must include the following documentation: 

1. Prior recruiting efforts made to fill the position; 
2. The number of candidates available;  

 
3. Salary differences between the state position and comparable 

positions in the industry or other states; 
4. The distance the applicant needs to move in order to accept state 

employment; 
5. Other related evidence which supports the need to pay moving 

expenses; 
6. The critical nature of the work; and  
7. The financial ability of the program to pay the moving expenses.  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-190
http://www.hr.wa.gov/SiteCollectionDocuments/CompensationAndJobClasses/Comp%20Plan%20Components/ShiftPremiumRates.doc
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-205
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-210
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-195
http://www.hr.wa.gov/SiteCollectionDocuments/CompensationAndJobClasses/Comp%20Plan%20Components/ShiftPremiumRates.doc
http://www.hr.wa.gov/SiteCollectionDocuments/CompensationAndJobClasses/Comp%20Plan%20Components/ShiftPremiumRates.doc
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-310
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b. If approval is received, the payment of expenses must meet the 
requirements in Chapter 60 of the Office of Financial Management, 
SAAM Manual.  No offer or agreement for payment of moving expenses 
is to be made for a new employee in classified service (RCW 41.06) 
prior to certification from an eligible candidate pool, provided through 
the Department of Enterprise Services or other recruiting source. 

c. Payment of moving expenses is a taxable item and payment of such 
must be reported to Financial Services Administration Payroll for tax 
reporting purposes. 

d. The CFO may authorize a lump sum relocation payment, within existing 
resources, whenever per (RCW 43.03.125) 

1. It is reasonably necessary that a person make a domiciliary move 
in accepting a transfer or appointment; or 

2. It is necessary to successfully recruit or retain a qualified candidate 
or employee who will have to make a domiciliary move in order to 
accept the position; or 

3. Inability to fill a lower level position and the filling of the position 
is essential to carrying out the critical work of the department. 

e. If the employee receiving the relocation payment terminates or causes 
termination of his or her employment with the state within one year of 
the date of employment, the State will be entitled to reimbursement for 
the moving costs which have been paid and may withhold such sum as 
necessary from any amounts due the employee. (WAC 43.03.120) 
Termination as a result of layoff or disability separation will not require 
the employee to repay the relocation compensation. 
 

Y. Emergency/Disaster Operations Compensation 
1. Employees dispatched to emergency response duty under an incident command 

system as defined in RCW 38.52.010 will be informed of any temporary 
eligibility to receive overtime compensation. (WAC 357-28-250) 

2. Employees dispatched to emergency response duty under an incident command 
system as defined in RCW 38.52.010 are eligible for holiday premium pay.  
(WAC357-28-200) 

3. Employees who are working in response to an emergency or disaster under Level 
III or Level IV activation as designated by the Washington State Emergency 
Operations Center (SEOC) will be compensated as follows: 

a. Overtime eligible employees  will be paid at one and one-half (1-1/2) 
times the sum of their regular hourly rate for those hours worked in 
excess of forty (40) hours in a workweek as a result of full-time work in 
support of a Washington state-level emergency declared under a 
Governor’s Proclamation; a federally declared disaster that affects 
operations at the employee’s work location; or if the employee is 
deployed to another state under the national Emergency Management 
Assistance Compact (EMAC) or other governmental mutual aid 
arrangement, in response to a disaster there. (Deployments under EMAC 
are 100% federally reimbursable.) 

http://www.ofm.wa.gov/policy/60.htm
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41.06
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.03.125
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.03.120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=38.52.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-250
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=38.52.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-200
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b. OT exempt employees dispatched to emergency response duty under an 
incident command system as defined in RCW 38.52.010 will be eligible 
for temporary emergency/disaster compensation after working 45 hours 
in a workweek in conditions described in Administrative Policy 9.11. 

c. All emergency and disaster overtime compensation will be limited to 
cash payments and no comp time or exchange time may be authorized. 

d. For those hours worked during the activation, one dollar ($1.00) is added 
to an employee’s regular rate in lieu of any other forms of additional 
compensation including, but not limited to, callback, standby, shift 
differential, split shift differential, assignment pay, and/or schedule 
change. 

e. All employees who are expected to remain available for work while not 
on duty during Level III or Level IV activations by the SEOC will 
receive a lump sum of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each 24-hour 
period while on standby or otherwise subject to callback. 

f. Unless otherwise noted in writing, employees will retain their assigned 
workweek while supporting emergency and disaster response or 
recovery operations. However, employees’ assigned work hours may be 
different from their regularly assigned work hours. 

g. The provisions in this section are limited to qualifying work performed 
in: any DSHS office or residential facility or otherwise in support of 
delivery of a DSHS vital service; the State Emergency Operations 
Center; a Joint Field Office; a Joint Information Center; DSHS 
headquarters or regional Emergency Operations Center; a shelter or 
assistance center; or other location as necessary or established in 
response to the emergency or disaster. 

h. Assignments to any state or federal level location, such as those named 
in ‘d’ above, and any deployments under EMAC other governmental 
mutual aid agreement must be coordinated through the DSHS Office of 
Emergency Management so that overall response priorities are addressed 
first. 

i. Any exception to Level III or Level IV activations must be approved by 
the Secretary. 

Z. DSHS is not Participating in the following programs: 
1. Performance recognition pay (WACs 357-28-295, 357-28-300) or 
2. Accelerated or deferred increment increases based on performance. (WAC 357-

28-075)  

 

i Housekeeping – changed “range” to “step” in two instances, K.2 & K.3  
                                                           

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=38.52.010
http://asd.dshs.wa.gov/rpau/documents/Admin-Policy/09-11.doc
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-295
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-300
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-075
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-075
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