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Purpose: 
 
This policy outlines the Department of Social and Health Services requirements for holidays and 
leave procedures supplementing chapter 357-31 WAC.  
 
Scope: 
 
This policy applies to all of the department’s classified employees not covered by a collective 
bargaining agreement. All provisions of this policy also apply to civil service exempt employees. 
 
Additional Guidance: 
 
Administrative Policy  

• 18.87 DSHS modern and mobile workplace policy 
• 09.16 prevention and control of occupational exposure to bloodborne or other 

potentially infectious materials that may contain bloodborne pathogens 
• 18.85 lactating employees in the workplace 

 
Definitions: 
 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41.06
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-40
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-40
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-46
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31
http://one.dshs.wa.lcl/Policies/Pages/default.aspx
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Classified employee: Employees in Washington general service and Washington management 
service that are subject to the provisions of Revised Code of Washington, chapter 41.06 RCW. 
 
Covered service member: A member of the armed forces, including the National Guard or 
reserves, who is undergoing medical treatment, recuperation, or therapy, is in outpatient status, 
or is on a temporary disability retired list for a serious illness or injury. 
 
Domestic partner: Two adults who meet the requirements for a valid state registered domestic 
partnership under RCW 26.60.030 and who have been issued a certificate of state registered 
domestic partnership by the secretary of state’s office. 
 
Domestic violence: As defined by RCW 26.50.010.  
 
Eligible employee: An employee who has worked for the state for at least twelve  months and at 
least 1,250 hours during the previous twelve month period. Vacation and sick leave, personal 
holiday, compensatory time, or shared leave are not counted toward meeting the 1,250-hour 
eligibility requirement to designate leave under the family medical leave act (FMLA). 
 
Family care emergency: Minor and dependent child emergencies such as the unexpected 
absence of a regular care provider, unexpected closure of child's school, unexpected need to 
pick up child at school earlier than normal; or elder care emergencies such as the unexpected 
absence of a regular care provider or unexpected closure of an assisted living facility. 
 
Family members: Includes parent, stepparent, sibling, parent-in-law, spouse, grandparent, 
grandchild, minor or dependent child, and child. For purposes of domestic violence, sexual 
assault, or stalking, family member also includes a registered domestic partner or a person with 
whom the employee has a dating relationship. 
 
Military salary: The base, specialty, and other pay. Military salary does not include allowances 
such as the basic allowance for housing. 
 
Monthly salary: Includes the base monthly salary, special pay and shift differential (or monthly 
equivalent) for employees. Monthly salary does not include overtime pay, callback pay, standby 
pay, or performance bonuses. 
 
Serious illness or injury: An injury or illness incurred by a covered service member in the line of 
duty while on active duty that may render service member medically unfit to perform the duties 
of the service member’s office, grade, rank, or rating. 
 
Service in the uniformed services: The performance of duty on a voluntary or involuntary basis in 
a uniformed service under competent authority, to include: active duty, active duty for training, 
initial active duty for training, inactive duty training, full-time National Guard duty including 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=26.60.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=26.50.010
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state-ordered active duty, and a period when a person is absent for the purpose of an 
examination to determine the fitness of the person to perform any such duty. 
 
Sexual assault: As defined by RCW 70.125.030.  
 
Shortly deplete: The employee will have forty hours or less of the applicable leave types under 
policy point K.1.d of this policy. The employee is not required to deplete all of their leave and can 
maintain up to forty (40) hours of the applicable leave types in reserves.  
 
Stalking: As defined by RCW 9A.46.110. 
 
Uniformed services: The armed forces, Army National Guard, and Air National Guard of any state, 
territory, commonwealth, possession, or district when engaged in active duty for training, 
inactive duty training, full-time National Guard duty, or state active duty, the commissioned 
corps of the public health service, the Coast Guard, and any other category designated by the 
President of the United States in time of war or national emergency. 
 
Policy: 
 
A. Requesting leave  
 

1. The employee requesting leave must submit a request to their supervisor or designee, 
using the program area’s approved request form or process. 
 

2. If an employee takes unplanned leave, the employee must submit a leave request 
immediately upon return to work. Failure to submit a leave request may result in 
unauthorized leave without pay, which may result in disciplinary action. 
 

3. When considering a request for vacation leave, the supervisor must consider the desires 
of the employee, but may require the leave to be taken at another time based on the 
organization’s business need.   
 

4. The supervisor will deny leave requests when the employee does not have sufficient 
leave to cover the absence.   
 

5. Vacation leave for religious observances may be granted, depending on the department’s 
business need. 
 

6. Vacation and sick leave requests will be charged in one-tenth (1/10) of an hour 
increments. 
 

7. An employee who is approved to receive partial wage replacement for paid family and 
medical leave under title 50 RCW may receive partial wage replacement for paid family 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.125.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9A.46.110
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?Cite=50
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and medical leave, use accrued paid leave, or combine the partial wage replacement for 
paid family and medical leave and use accrued paid leave as a supplemental benefit. 

a. An employee may use accrued paid leave as a supplemental benefit, prior to 
receiving approval for paid family and medical leave under title 50 RCW.   
 

8. If an employee is absent at the end of the pay cycle, the supervisor will submit a leave 
request on behalf of the employee for time and attendance processing.  

 
B. Vacation leave accrual (WAC 357-31-165, WAC 357-31-175) 

 
1. Full time employees accrue leave per (WAC 357-31-165. 

 
Part time employees accrue leave per WAC 357-31-170. 
 

2. Full time general government employees who take leave without pay or are subject to 
temporary layoff during the month, accrue leave per WAC 357-31-175. 

 
C. Vacation leave (WAC 357-31-175, WAC 357-31-180, WAC 357-31-195, WAC 357-31-200, 

WAC 357-31-205, WAC 357-31-210, WAC 357-31-215, WAC 357-31-220, WAC 357-31-225) 
 

1. Annual leave must be earned before it may be used (WAC 351-31-195). 
 

2. An employee’s request to use vacation leave must be approved under the following 
conditions (WAC 357-31-200): 

a. As a result of the employee’s serious health condition; 
b. To care for a spouse, registered domestic partner, parent, parent-in-law, or 

grandparent of the employee who has a serious health condition or an emergency 
health condition; 

c. To care for a minor or dependent child with a health condition that requires 
treatment or supervision; 

d. For parental leave as provided in WAC 357-31-460; 
e. When the employee or the employee's family member, as defined in  chapter 

357-01 WAC, is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking as defined 
in RCW 49.76.020;or 

f. Per WAC 357-31-373, for an employee to be with a spouse or registered domestic 
partner who is a member of the armed forces of the United States, National 
Guard, or reserves after the military spouse or registered domestic partner has 
been notified of an impending call or order to active duty, before deployment, or 
when the military spouse or registered domestic partner is on leave from 
deployment. 

g. When requested as a supplemental benefit while receiving a partial wage 
replacement for paid family and medical leave under title 50A RCW per WAC 357-
31-248. 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?Cite=50
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-165
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-175
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-165
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-170
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-175
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-175
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-180
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-195
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-205
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-210
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-215
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-220
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-225
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-195
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-460
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-01
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-01
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.76.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-373
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=357-31-248
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=357-31-248
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The appointing authority or designee may require verification of the reasons for 
vacation leave for the conditions described in this section, per WAC 357-31- 730. 

 
3. Requests for vacation leave must be submitted in advance with the exception of 

requests: 
a. To respond to family care emergencies or emergency health condition as 

provided in WAC 357-31-200; or 
b. When the employee is a victim or has a family member as defined in chapter 

357- 01 WAC, who is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking as 
defined in RCW 49.76.020.  
 

When advance notice cannot be given because of an emergency or unforeseen 
circumstance due to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking, the employee or the 
employee’s designee must give notice to the department no later than the end of the 
first day that the employee takes such leave. 
 

4. When considering requests for vacation leave, the department must consider the needs 
of the employee but may require that leave be taken when it least interferes with the 
department’s operational needs (WAC 357-31-205). 
 

5. An employee may accumulate a maximum of thirty working days (240 hours) of vacation 
leave. There are two exceptions in which vacation leave may be accumulated above the  
thirty working days (240 hours) maximum (WAC 357-31-215). 

a. If the department denies an employee’s request for vacation leave, and the 
employee is close to the maximum vacation leave (240 hours), the department 
must grant an extension for each month that the department defers the 
employee's request for vacation leave.  

i. The department must justify the extension with a statement of necessity. 
b. As an alternative, employees may also accumulate vacation leave in excess of the 

maximum vacation leave (240 hours) as follows: 
i. An employee may accumulate the vacation leave between the time thirty 

days is accrued and their next anniversary date. Leave accumulated above 
the maximum vacation leave (240 hours) must be used by the next 
anniversary date.  

ii. A statement of necessity, as described in subsection (1) of this section, can 
only defer leave that the employee has not accrued as of the date of the 
statement of necessity. Any accrued leave in excess of 240 hours as of the 
date of the statement of necessity cannot be deferred regardless of 
circumstances. 

 
Example: 
 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-730
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-01
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-01
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.76.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-205
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-215
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On June 15th, an employee is assigned to work on a special project. The assignment is 
expected to last six months. Due to an ambitious timeline and strict deadlines, the 
employee is not able to take any vacation leave during that time. 
 

• On June 15th, the employee's vacation leave balance is two hundred sixty 
hours. 

• The employee accrues ten hours monthly. 
• The employee's anniversary date is October 16th. 

 
Since the employee cannot use leave from June 15th through December 15th the 
employee files a statement of necessity asking to defer the leave accrued during this 
time. This deferred leave will not be lost as long as the employee uses the deferred 
hours by their next anniversary date (October 16th of the following year). 
 
The statement of necessity does not cover the employee’s twenty hours of excess 
vacation leave from June 15th. 

 
6. Requests for approval to accumulate leave in excess of 240 hours must be submitted by 

the appointing authority or designee to the senior director of human resources and 
include the following (WAC 357-31-220): 

a. The date on which the statement of necessity was authorized; 
b. Justification for denial of the employee's leave request; 
c. Date upon which the employee will resume leave usage; 
d. The employee's total leave balance on their anniversary date; 
e. The employee's accrual rate; and 
f. The employee's leave balance at the time of the request. 
 

D. Unauthorized leave (WAC 357-31-105) 
 

1. Unauthorized absence will be treated as unauthorized leave without pay and may be 
grounds for separation (WAC 357-46-210), or discipline (chapter 357-40 WAC).  

 
E. Sick leave (WAC 357-31-115, WAC 357-31-120, WAC 357-31-125, WAC 357-31-130 

WAC 357-31-135, WAC 357-31-140, WAC 357-31-145, WAC 357-31-150, WAC 357-31-155, 
WAC 357-31-160) 

 
1. Sick leave must be accrued before an employee may use it. (WAC 357-31-140) 

 
2. Supervisors must allow the use of accrued sick leave under the following circumstances: 

a. Due to and during mental or physical illness, disability, injury, or health condition 
that has incapacitated the employee from performing required duties; 

b. The employee is exposed to a contagious disease and their presence at work 
would jeopardize the health of others; 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-220
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-105
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-46-210
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-40
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-115
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-125
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-145
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-155
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-160
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-140
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i. Employees will contribute to a healthy workplace, including not knowingly 
exposing co-workers and the public to conditions that would jeopardize 
their health or the health of others. The department may direct 
employees to use sick leave when employees self-report a contagious 
health condition. 

c. When the employee’s duty station has been closed by order of a public official for 
any health related reason, or when an employee’s child’s school or place of care 
has been closed for such reason.; 

d. To care for a spouse, secretary of state registered domestic partner, parent, parent-
in-law, or grandparent of the employee with a mental or physical illness, injury or 
health condition; care of a family member who needs medical diagnosis, care or 
treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury or health condition; or care for a 
family member who needs preventive medical care; 
e. For family care emergencies such as minor or dependent child emergencies or 

elder care emergencies. (WAC 357-31-290, 295, 300, and 305); 
f. For personal health care appointments; 
g. For family members’ health care appointments when the presence of the 

employee is required, if arranged in advance with the supervisor or designee; 
h. When an employee is required to be absent from work to care for members of 

the employee’s household or relatives of the employee or relatives of the 
employee’s spouse or registered domestic partner who experience an illness or 
injury;   

i. Up to five days of accumulated sick leave must be approved for each 
occurrence. The supervisor or designee may approve additional days. 

ii. For purposes of this subsection, "relatives" is limited to spouse, registered 
domestic partner, child, grandchild, grandparent, or parent.  

i. If the employee or a member of the employee’s family is a victim of domestic 
violence, sexual assault, or stalking. The supervisor or designee may require 
verification (WAC 357-31-730); or 

j. For the employee to be with a spouse or registered domestic partner who is a 
member of the Armed Forces of the United States, National Guard, or reserves 
and: 

i. The military spouse or registered domestic partner has been notified of an 
impending call or order to active duty; 

ii. Before the military spouse or registered domestic partner is deployed; 
iii. The military spouse or registered domestic partner is on leave from 

deployment. 
k. When requested as a supplemental benefit while receiving a partial wage 

replacement for paid family and medical leave under title 50A RCW per WAC 
357-31-248. Leave taken under this subsection may be subject to verification that 
the employee is approved to receive benefits for paid family and medical leave 
under title 50A RCW.  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-290
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-295
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-300
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-305
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-730
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=357-31-248
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=357-31-248
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A
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l. When an employee requests to use sick leave for the purpose of parental leave 
to bond with a newborn, adoptive, or foster child for a period of up to eighteen 
weeks. Sick leave for this purpose must be taken during the first year following 
the child’s birth or placement.  

 
3. The appointing authority or designee may require medical verification of the reason for 

sick leave use per WAC 296-128-660.   
a. An employee returning to work after any sick leave absence may be required to 

provide written certification from their health care provider to certify that the 
employee is able to return to work and perform the essential functions of the job 
with or without reasonable accommodation.  

i. The certification must not require that the information provided explain 
the nature of the health condition.  

ii. If any health information is provided, the department must treat such 
information in a confidential manner consistent with applicable privacy 
laws. 

b. If sick leave abuse is suspected, the appointing authority or designee may require 
a written medical certificate for any sick leave absence.  

 
4. For anticipated absences, such as medical appointments, the employee must submit a 

request for leave using the program’s approved form or process before the anticipated 
absence. 

a. If a request cannot be submitted prior to the absence, an employee must 
promptly notify their supervisor on the first day of sick leave and each day 
thereafter, unless there is mutual agreement to do otherwise. 

b. Upon returning to work after using unanticipated sick leave, the employee must 
immediately submit a leave request. Failure to do so may result in unauthorized 
leave without pay and may result in disciplinary action. 

 
5. If the employee is on vacation leave the appointing authority or designee may allow the 

employee to use accrued sick leave in place of vacation leave if one or more of the 
factors listed in C.1., above occurs. 

 
6. An employee may be denied the use of compensatory time or vacation leave for sick 

leave purposes if the employee has documented attendance problems. 
 

F. Bereavement leave (WAC 357-31-250) 
 

1. If an employee’s family or household member dies, the employee is authorized to use up 
to three days of paid bereavement leave for condolence or bereavement.  

 
2. If additional leave is required beyond the three days of paid bereavement leave, the 

appointing authority or designee may allow the employee to use accrued compensatory 

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-128-660
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-250
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time, sick leave, vacation leave, personal holiday, or leave without pay for bereavement 
purposes.  

 
3. The appointing authority or designee may require verification of the request for 

bereavement leave. 
 

G. Military leave (WAC 357-31-360, WAC 357-31-370, WAC 357-31-373) 
 
1. Employees must be granted military leave with pay not to exceed twenty one working 

days during each year, beginning October 1st and ending the following September 30th, 
in order to report for required military duty, training duty in the Washington National 
Guard or the Army, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard, or Marine Corps reserves of the United 
States or any organized reserve or armed forces of the United States, or to report for 
drills including those in the National Guard under Title 10 U.S.C., or state active status. 
The employee is charged military leave only for the days that the employee is scheduled 
to work. 

a. Military leave with pay is in addition to any vacation and sick leave to which an 
employee is entitled and does not reduce benefits, performance ratings, 
privileges, or pay. 

b. During paid military leave, the employee must receive the normal base salary. 
c. Employees required to appear during working hours for a physical examination to 

determine physical fitness for military service must receive full pay for the time 
required to complete the examination. 

 
2. Employees who are not yet in the military may use paid miscellaneous leave for this 

purpose. Employees who are already in the military may use paid military leave as 
described in this section. An employee who is currently in the military may use paid 
miscellaneous leave for this purpose if they do not have paid military leave available. 
 

3. No adjustments are made to the seniority date, leave accrual rate, periodic increment 
date, performance ratings, privileges, or pay while an employee is on paid military leave 
or a military leave of absence without pay. 

 
H. Inclement weather (WAC 357-31-255) 
 

1. When the department’s secretary or designee determines inclement weather conditions 
exist, refer to DSHS Administrative Policy 09.16 Emergency Closures and Suspension of 
Operations. Department employees are responsible for arranging how they travel to and 
from work.  

 
2. If a work location remains fully operational but an employee is unable to report to work 

or remain at work because of severe inclement weather or conditions caused by severe 
inclement weather, the employee's leave will be charged in the following order: 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-360
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-370
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-373
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-255
http://asd.dshs.wa.gov/RPAU/documents/Admin-Policy/18-32.doc
http://asd.dshs.wa.gov/RPAU/documents/Admin-Policy/18-32.doc
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a. Any earned compensatory time or previously accumulated exchange time; 
b. Any accrued vacation leave; 
c. Any accrued sick leave, up to a maximum of three (3) days in any calendar year; 
d. Leave without pay. 

 
3. The paid leave types are used in the order listed within subsection 2, and each type of 

paid leave is exhausted before using another type of leave. Employees are permitted to 
use leave without pay rather than vacation or sick leave.  
 

4. Employees at the special commitment center will be granted up to 2 hours of paid time 
for severe inclement weather. 
 

5. When severe inclement weather prevents an employee in official travel status from 
returning to their official duty station or residence, the employee remains in official travel 
status. The employee must notify their supervisor of the inability to return from travel 
status.  Travel costs are reimbursed per department and office of financial management 
(OFM) travel policies. 
 

6. Appointing authorities are delegated authority to authorize reimbursement of costs for 
lodging and per diem for employees who are asked to remain close to their work site 
during severe inclement weather.  
 

7. The local administrator or designee may allow employees to use options listed in the 
DSHS Modern and Mobile Workplace Policy 18.87 during inclement weather. 

 
I. Leave without pay (WAC 357-31-327, WAC 357-31-330, WAC 357-31-335,  

 WAC 357-31-340) 
 

1. Leave without pay is limited to twelve months in any consecutive five year period, except 
for: 

a. Compensable work-related injury or illness;  
b. Educational leave; 
c. Government service; 
d. Military leave;  
e. Seasonal career employment leave; 
f. Leave for a serious health condition taken under the provision of the Family and 

Medical Leave Act (FMLA); 
g. Leave taken voluntarily to reduce the effect of a layoff;  
h. Leave authorized in advance by an appointing authority or designee as part of a 

plan to reasonably accommodate a person with a disability; or 
i. When an employee is approved to receive benefits for approved paid family and 

medical leave under title 50A RCW and qualifies for employment protection per 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-327
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-330
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-335
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-340
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A
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RCW 50A.35.010, an employee must remain on leave without pay or use accrued 
leave as a supplemental benefit while receiving a partial wage replacement.  

 
2. The appointing authority or designee may require verification supporting the request for 

leave without pay. 
 

3. Leave without pay, in excess of 15 consecutive workdays, affects an employee’s 
probationary and trial service period (WAC 357-31-355), anniversary date, unbroken 
service date, periodic increment date, and seniority date (WAC 357-31-345 and 347). 
 

4. Leave without pay must be granted for (WAC 357-31-327): 
a. An employee who is a volunteer firefighter called to duty to respond to a fire, 

natural disaster, or medical emergency;  
b. An employee or the employee's family member who is a victim of domestic 

violence, sexual assault, or stalking; 
c. An employee to be with a spouse or registered domestic partner who is a 

member of the armed forces of the United States National Guard or reserves, 
after the military spouse or registered domestic partner has been notified of an 
impending call or order to active duty, before deployment, or when the military 
spouse or registered domestic partner is on leave from deployment; or 

d. An employee requests a day off for a reason of faith or conscience, or to 
participate in an organized activity with a religious denomination, church, or 
religious organization per WAC 357-31-052. 

e. An employee who is on approved paid family and medical leave under title 50A 
RCW. Leave taken under this subsection may be subject to verification that the 
employee is approved to receive benefits for paid family and medical leave under 
title 50A RCW, and qualifies for employment protection per RCW 50A.35.010. 

 
5. Leave without pay may be granted for: 

a. Any reason that leave with pay may be granted, when meeting the conditions for 
leave with pay; 

b. Educational leave; 
c. Leave for government service in the public interest; 
d. Military leave of absence; 
e. Parental leave; 
f. Family care emergency;  
g. Bereavement or condolence; 
h. Absence due to inclement weather;  
i. Serious health condition of an eligible employee's child, spouse, registered 

domestic partner, or parent;  
j. Leave taken voluntarily to reduce the effect of an employer's layoff; 
k. Leave that is authorized in advance by the appointing authority or designee as 

part of a plan to reasonably accommodate a person with a disability; or 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A.35.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-355
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-345
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-347
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-327
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-052
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A.35.010
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l. Employees receiving time loss compensation. 
 

6. Employees returning from authorized leave without pay must be employed in the same 
position or a similar position in the same class and in the same geographical area, 
provided the return to employment does not conflict with layoff rules. 

 
J. Miscellaneous paid leave 

 
1. Jury duty (WAC 357-31-315) 

a. An employee must be granted a leave of absence with pay when required to 
report for jury duty service. The appointing authority or designee may require 
documentation or verification of jury duty service. 

b. Employees are allowed to keep any compensation they receive for serving as a 
member of a jury in addition to their regular pay. 

c. The department must grant a leave of absence with pay for the employee to 
respond to a subpoena when: 

i. The employee is subpoenaed on the employer’s behalf; or 
ii. The subpoena is for a legal proceeding that is unrelated to the employee’s 

personal or financial matters. 
 

2. Exam interview/civil duty (WAC 357-31-325, WAC 357-31-326) 
a. Leave with pay must be granted to an employee: 

i. To allow an employee to receive assessment from the employee 
assistance program;  

ii. When an employee is scheduled to take an examination or participate in 
an interview for a position with a state employer during scheduled work 
hours; or 

iii. When an employee is required to appear during working hours for a 
physical examination to determine physical fitness for military service. 

b. Appointing authority’s may limit the number of occurrences or the total amount 
of paid leave that is granted to an employee to participate in an interview or take 
an examination during scheduled work hours. 

c. Appointing authorities may deny an employee's request to participate in an 
interview or take an examination during scheduled work hours based upon 
operational necessity. 

d. The department may grant leave with pay for an employee to perform civil duties 
as a volunteer including but not limited to firefighting, search and rescue efforts, 
or donating blood. 

 
K. Shared leave (WAC 357-31-380, WAC 357-31-390, WAC 357-31-395,  
 WAC 357-31-400) 

 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-315
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-325
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-326
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-380
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-390
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-395
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-400
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1. An employee may be eligible to receive shared leave if the appointing authority or 
designee determines that the employee meets the following criteria:  

a. The employee:  
i. Suffers from, or has a relative or household member suffering from, an 

illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition that is 
extraordinary or severe nature; 

ii. Has been called to service in the uniformed services; 
iii. Has the needed skills to assist in responding to a state of emergency 

declared anywhere within the United States by the federal or any state 
government or its aftermath, and volunteers their services to either a 
governmental agency or a nonprofit organization engaged in humanitarian 
relief in the devastated area. The governmental agency or nonprofit 
organization accepts the employee’s offer of volunteer services; 

iv. Is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking; 
v. Is a current member of the uniformed services or is a veteran as defined 

under RCW 41.04.005, and is attending medical appointments or 
treatments for a service connected injury or disability;  

vi. Is the spouse of a current member of the uniformed services or a veteran 
as defined under RCW 41.04.005, who is attending medical appointments 
or treatments for a current member or veteran, for a service connected 
injury or disability and requires assistance while attending appointments 
or treatments; 

vii. Needs the time for parental leave as defined in WAC 357-31-395 (3); or 
viii. Is sick or temporarily disabled because of a pregnancy disability as defined 

in WAC 357-31-395 (4). 
b. The illness, injury, impairment, condition, call to service, emergency volunteer 

service, or consequences of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking has 
caused, or is likely to cause the employee to either: 

i. Go on leave without pay status; or 
ii. Terminate state employment. 

c. The employee’s absence and the use of shared leave are justified. 
d. The employee depleted, or will shortly deplete their compensatory time, personal 

holiday, accrued vacation leave, and accrued sick leave (WAC 357-31-435).  
 

2. The employee has abided by the departments rules regarding: 
a. Sick leave use;  
b. Military service;  

 
3. The appointing authority or designee may permit an employee to receive shared leave 

under this section as a result of the 2019 Coronavirus (COVID-19). 
a. Shared leave may be authorized until the expiration of proclamation 20-05 that 

will be provided by the governor per RCW 41.04.665. 
 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41.04.005
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41.04.005
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-395
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-395
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-435
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4. The appointing authority or designee determines the amount of leave, if any, that an 
employee may receive.  

a. The department may not prevent an employee from using shared leave 
intermittently or on non-consecutive days. 

b. An employee must not receive more than 522 days of shared leave during total 
state employment. The department’s secretary or designee may authorize leave 
in excess of 522 days in extraordinary circumstances for an employee qualifying 
for shared leave because they are suffering from illness, injury, impairment, or 
physical or mental condition, that is of an extraordinary or severe nature.  

c. A nonpermanent employee who is eligible to use accrued leave or a personal 
holiday may not use shared leave beyond the expected end date of the 
appointment.  

d. An employee receiving industrial insurance wage replacement benefits may not 
receive greater than twenty five percent (25%) of their base salary from the 
receipt of share leave under this section.  

 
5. The appointing authority or designee is encouraged to consider other methods of 

accommodating the employee’s needs. Other methods include modified duty, modified 
hours, flex-time, or special assignments in place of shared leave.  
 

6. Employees may be required to submit documentation to receive approval. The 
appointing authority or designee may require the following types of documentation 
based on the purpose of the shared leave. 

a. Employees seeking shared leave under WAC 357-31-390 (1)(a), the appointing 
authority or designee will require the employee to submit a medical certificate 
from a licensed physician or health care practitioner verifying the severe or 
extraordinary nature and expected duration of the condition before the employer 
approves or disapproves the request. Exception: During a pandemic, the 
appointing authority or designee may waive the requirement for a medical 
certificate. 

b. Employees seeking shared leave under WAC 357-31-390 (1)(b), the appointing 
authority will require the employee to submit a copy of the military orders 
verifying the employee's required absence before the employer approves or 
disapproves the request. 

c. Employees seeking shared leave under WAC 357-31-390 (1)(c), the appointing 
authority will require proof of acceptance of an employee's offer to volunteer for 
either a governmental agency or a nonprofit organization during a declared state 
of emergency. 

d. Employees seeking shared leave under WAC 357-31-390 (1)(d), the appointing 
authority or designee may require that the request be supported by 
documentation. An employee may satisfy the verification requirement by 
providing the employer with one or more of the following: 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-390
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-390
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-390
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-390
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i. A police report indicating that the employee was a victim of domestic 
violence, sexual assault, or stalking;  

ii. A court order protecting or separating the employee from the perpetrator 
of the act of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking;  

iii. Evidence from the court or prosecuting attorney that the employee 
appeared or is scheduled to appear in court in connection with an incident 
of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking; 

iv. An employee's written statement that the employee is a victim of 
domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking; or  

v. Documentation that the employee is a victim of domestic violence, sexual 
assault, or stalking, from any of the following persons from whom the 
employee or employee's family member sought assistance in addressing 
the domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking: An advocate for victims 
of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking; an attorney; a member of 
the clergy; or a medical or other professional. 

e. Employees seeking shared leave under WAC 357-31-390 (1)(e), the appointing 
authority or designee may require that the request be supported by 
documentation. 

f. Employees seeking shared leave under WAC 357-31-390 (1)(f), the appointing 
authority or designee may require that the request be supported by 
documentation. 

g. Employees seeking shared leave under WAC 357-31-390 (1)(g), the appointing 
authority designee may not require the employee to submit a medical certificate 
from a licensed physician or health care practitioner when requesting leave 
pursuant to ESHB 1434 & chapter 41.04 RCW.  

h. Employees seeking shared leave under WAC 357-31-390 (1)(h), the appointing 
authority or designee may not require the employee to submit a medical 
certificate from a licensed physician or health care practitioner when requesting 
leave pursuant to ESHB 1434 & chapter 41.04 RCW.  

 
7. An employee may donate leave to employees in other agencies, institutions of higher 

education, or related higher education boards with approval from heads of both agencies 
(WAC 357-31-410). 

 
8. An employee using shared leave remains classified as a state employee.  If an employee is 

on shared leave during a probationary or trial service period, then the review period is 
extended by the number of calendar days on shared leave (WAC-31-440). 
 

9. The appointing authority or designee may deny a shared leave request, if the request 
does not meet the conditions outlined within the previous subsections. 

a. The appointing authority or designee may deny a shared leave request, if the 
employee has documented attendance issues or leave abuse within the last three 
years. Documentation includes performance evaluations and disciplinary 

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-390
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-390
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-390
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1434&Year=2017&Initiative=False
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41.04
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-390
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1434&Year=2017&Initiative=False
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41.04
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-410
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-440
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documents within the employee’s personnel files, or communication records, 
attendance records, and other documents relevant to performance expectations 
in the supervisors files (WAC 357-31-455). 

b. The appointing authority or designee must notify the employee of any shared 
leave request denial in writing. 

 
L. Family care emergency leave (WAC 357-31-285, WAC 357-31-290, WAC 357-31-295,  

WAC 357-31-300, WAC 357-31-305) 
 
1. Leave under this section must be authorized for a family care emergency to care for the 

employee’s spouse, registered domestic partner, household member, or 
employee’s/spouse’s/registered domestic partner’s minor or dependent child, parent or 
grandparent. 
 
Leave may be authorized to care for other family members, including children over the 
age of 18 who are incapable of self-care. 

 
2. Advance notice is not required for family care emergency leave. However, the employee 

must notify the supervisor at the beginning of the absence. 
 

3. The appointing authority or designee may require the employee to provide verification of 
the need to take leave and that the situation was such that advance notice was not 
possible.  

 
Each calendar year an employee is allowed to use up to three workdays of the following 
leave types for qualifying family care emergencies (WAC 357-31-295): 

a. Compensatory time; 
b. Vacation leave;* 
c. Sick leave per WAC 357-31-130;* 
d. Leave without pay;* 
e. Personal holiday. 

 
*The appointing authority or designee may grant additional leave in excess of three days 
for each category of leave (WAC 357-31-300). 

 
M. Parental leave (WAC 357-31-465, WAC 357-31-470, WAC 357-31-475, WAC 357-31-480, WAC 

357-31-485, WAC 357-31-490, WAC 357-31-495) 
 

1. Parental leave is only available to permanent employees or employees who have worked 
for the state for at least twelve months and worked at least 1250 hours during the 
previous twelve-month period. 
 

2. Employees must be granted  parental leave for purposes of: 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-285
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-290
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-295
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-300
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-305
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-295
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-300
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-465
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-470
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-475
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-480
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-485
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-485
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-490
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-495
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a. The birth and care of a newborn child of the employee;  
b. Placement of a minor or dependent child with the employee for adoption or 

foster care; or 
c. Bonding with a newborn child, or a minor or dependent child during adoption or 

foster care placement. 
 

3. Parental leave must be taken during the first year following the child's birth or placement 
of the minor or dependent child with the employee for adoption or foster care.  

 
4. The employee must submit a written request for parental leave with not less than thirty 

days' notice, except when a child's birth or placement requires leave with less notice.  In 
that circumstance, the employee must provide notice as soon as possible. 

 
5. A request for parental leave request must be granted to the employee for the purpose of 

bonding with their natural newborn, adoptive, or foster child during the first year after 
the child’s birth or placement: 

a. Parental leave may extend up to six months, including time covered by the FMLA;  
b. Leave beyond the period covered by the FMLA may only be denied due to the 

organization’s business needs. 
 

6. If the employee’s parental leave request exceeds the twelve weeks allowed under FMLA, 
the appointing authority or designee must respond to the employee, in writing, within 
ten working days of receiving the request. If the leave is denied, reasons supporting the 
organization’s business needs must be provided to the employee. 

 
7. If a permanent employee is sick or temporarily disabled because of pregnancy or 

childbirth: 
a. A request to use sick leave must be granted;   
b. Pregnancy disability leave, under Washington’s Family Care Act, is in addition to 

the twelve weeks of FMLA leave. 
 

8. Disability leave due to pregnancy and/or childbirth may combine sick leave, vacation 
leave, personal holiday, compensatory time, or leave without pay, at the discretion of the 
employee. 
 

9. The appointing authority or designee may require verification to support the request for 
leave. 
 

10. The department must make arrangements available to lactating employees as 
established in administrative policy 18.85 lactating employees in the workplace.  
 

N. Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA) (WAC 357-31-525, WAC 357-31-530, WAC 357-
31-535, WAC 357-31-540)  

http://one.dshs.wa.lcl/Policies/Administrative/DSHS-AP-18-85.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-525
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-530
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-535
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-535
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-540
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1. The department cannot diminish or withhold benefits provided through state laws and 

civil service rules, when complying with FMLA. 
 

2. An eligible employee must be granted up to, but may not exceed, twelve work weeks of 
absence during a twelve-month period for one or more of the following:  

a. The employee has a serious health condition; 
b. The employee cares for a parent, spouse, minor or dependent child who has a 

serious health condition; 
c. The birth of, and to provide care to, the employee's newborn, adopted, or foster 

child.  (WAC 357-31-460); 
d. Due to a qualifying exigency (as described in the Family and Medical Leave Act of 

1993 and its amendments (29 USC 2601 et seq) and its implementing rules, 29 
CFR Part 825) arising from the fact that the employee's spouse, child of any age, 
or parent is on active duty or is notified of pending call to active duty in the armed 
forces in support of a contingency operation. 

i. This subsection only applies if the spouse, child, or parent of the employee 
is a member of the National Guard or reserves, and certain retired 
members of the regular armed forces and retired reserves. This section 
does not apply if the spouse, child, or parent of the employee is a member 
of the regular armed forces on active duty. 

ii. This section only applies to federal calls to active duty. 
 
3. An eligible employee who is the spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin of a covered 

service member is entitled up to a maximum of twenty-six work weeks of leave during a 
twelve-month period to care for the service member who is suffering from a serious 
illness or injury arising from injuries incurred in the line of duty. The leave described in 
this section is only available during a single twelve-month period. 

a. For purposes of this section, "next of kin" is the nearest blood relative of that 
individual other than the individual's spouse, parent, or child in the following 
order of priority: 

i. Blood relatives who have been granted legal custody of the service 
member; 

ii. Siblings; 
iii. Grandparents; 
iv. Aunts and uncles; 
v. Cousins; 

vi. The service member can designate another blood relative as the "nearest 
blood relative" and that designation takes precedence over the above list. 

b. For purposes of this section, "covered service member" is a member of the armed 
forces, including the National Guard or reserves, who is undergoing medical 
treatment, recuperation, or therapy, is otherwise in outpatient status, or is 
otherwise on a temporary disability retired list for a serious illness or injury. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-460
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c. For purposes of this section, "serious illness or injury" is an injury or illness 
incurred by the covered service member in the line of duty while on active duty in 
the armed forces that may render the service member medically unfit to perform 
the duties of the service member's office, grade, rank, or rating. 

 
4. The human resources division designates absences that meet the FMLA criteria.  Any paid 

or unpaid leave used for an FMLA designated absence must count toward the twelve 
week total FMLA entitlement.   

a. The use of any paid or unpaid leave for a FMLA-qualifying event runs concurrently 
with, not in addition to, the use of the FMLA for that event. Leave taken for a 
work-related illness or injury covered by workers' compensation or assault 
benefits and compensatory time is excluded from the twelve week limit. 

b. The employee may use appropriate accrued paid leave or leave without pay for 
an FMLA absence.  The leave use must comply with civil service rules. 

 
5. An employee may request, and must be granted an intermittent or reduced schedule 

when medically necessary for one or more of the following reasons: 
a. The employee has a serious health condition;  
b. The employee cares for a parent, spouse, registered domestic partner, or minor 

or dependent child who has a serious health condition; 
c. The employee is the spouse, registered domestic partner, son, daughter, parent 

of a child of any age, or next of kin of a covered service member who is suffering 
from a serious illness or injury arising from injuries incurred in the line of duty. 

 
6. An employee returning from an absence designated as FMLA must be returned to the 

same or equivalent position held prior to the absence. 
 

7. Existing employer-paid health insurance benefits must continue to be paid by the 
department during an eligible employee’s paid or unpaid leave granted under FMLA. 
 

O. Paid family medical leave (PFML) (Title 192 WAC, title 50A RCW) 
 
1. The Washington Family Leave Act (WAC 357-31-520, chapter 49.78 RCW) sunset on 

December 31, 2019. Effective January 1, 2020, Washington workers who need leave for a 
serious health condition, to care for a family member, to welcome a new child into the 
employee’s family or for a military-related event may apply for paid leave through the 
Employment Security Department (ESD) (WAC 192-500-035, WAC 192-610-005). 
 

2. PFML does not replace FMLA. PFML and FMLA are separate entitlements. The 
department cannot interfere with, restrain or deny an employee’s use of PFML (WAC 
192-570-020, WAC 192-610-075).  
 

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?Cite=50A
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-520
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.78
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-500-035
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-610-005
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-570-020
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-570-020
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-610-075
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Generally, if the employee qualifies for FMLA for a condition that also qualifies under 
PFML, then PFML and FMLA run concurrently.  
 

3. PFML functions as a partial wage replacement insurance program (RCW 50A.05.005). The 
PFML program is administered by ESD. The program is funded by premiums paid by 
employees and employers, which began in January 2019 (RCW 50A.10.030, WAC 192-
510-065). Employees file a weekly claim to receive payments through ESD (WAC 192-
620-010). Payment is based on a percentage of the employee’s weekly earnings, and is 
determined and administered by ESD (WAC 192-630-015, WAC 192-610-051). 
 

4. An employee may use vacation leave, sick leave, personal holiday, compensatory time, or 
holiday pay as a supplemental benefit while the employee is receiving partial wage 
replacement under title 50A RCW.  

 
5. An employee is eligible for PFML, if the employee has worked at least 820 hours for a 

Washington state employer during the qualifying period, experiences a qualifying event 
and can provide proof of identification. ESD determines if an employee, and the 
employee’s application, qualifies for PFML (WAC 192-630-015). 
 

a. Qualifying events (WAC 192-500-080) include: 
i. Bonding with a newborn, adopted, or foster child; 
ii. Recovering from a serious health condition which may include surgery, 

illness, or injury; 
iii. Supporting a family member with a serious medical condition;  
iv. Certain events that are connected to a family member’s active duty 

military service 
b. Family members (WAC 192-610-035) that qualify for PFML include: 

i. Spouses and domestic partners; 
ii. Children (biological, adopted, foster, or stepchild); 
iii. Parents and legal guardians (or spouse’s parents); 
iv. Siblings; 
v. Grandchildren; and 

vi. Grandparents (or spouse’s grandparents). 
 

6. An employee may take up to twelve (12) weeks of PFML within a year. In some instances, 
an employee may qualify for up to sixteen (16) or eighteen (18) weeks a year for 
applicable multiple qualifying events and pregnancy complications. ESD determines the 
total PFML leave entitlement (WAC 192-610-010, WAC 192-610-055). 
 

7. An employee must provide the immediate supervisor with a written notice of a PFML 
absence within 30 days of a foreseeable absence (WAC 192-600-005). Written notice 
includes an e-mail or a written letter. If the PFML absence is unforeseeable, then an 
employee must provide written notice to the immediate supervisor as soon as 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A.05.005
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A.10.030
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-510-065
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-510-065
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-620-010
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-620-010
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-630-015
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-610-051
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-630-015
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-500-080
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-610-035
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-610-010
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-610-055
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-600-005
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practicable (WAC 192-600-010, WAC 192-600-015). The written notice must include the 
planned start date of the PFML absence, the expected duration and frequency of the 
PFML absence, and the intended return to work date (WAC 192-600-020).  
 
Employees should provide a copy of the written notice to human resources, as ESD will 
contact the department to verify this information (WAC 192-610-060). 
 

8. An employee is entitled to job restoration upon returning from a PFML absence, if the 
employee has been employed by the state of Washington for at least twelve (12) months, 
and has worked for the state of Washington for at least 1,250 hours in the twelve (12) 
months immediately preceding the start of the PFML absence. If an employee uses FMLA 
at the same time as PFML, then existing employer-paid health insurance benefits must 
continue to be paid by the department during the paid or unpaid leave granted under 
FMLA. An employee must be returned to the same or equivalent position held prior to 
the absence (WAC 192-700-005).  
 
Job restoration denial is only permissible, if the department can prove that the employee 
would not have otherwise been employed at the time of restoration, or as defined in 
RCW 50A.35.010 (6)(b) (WAC 192-700-010).   

 
P. Uniformed service shared leave pool (WAC 357-31-660) 
 

1. The uniformed service shared leave pool is established to maintain a level of 
compensation and employee benefits consistent with the amount that an employee 
would receive, if the employee remained in active state service.   

a. Participation by eligible employees to receive shared leave is voluntary. 
b. Employees may voluntarily donate their leave to be used by an employee who is 

called to the uniform services. 
 

2. Guidelines for implementing the uniformed service shared leave pool are available for 
additional information and directions. 

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-600-010
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-600-015
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-600-020
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-610-060
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-700-005
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=50A.35.010
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=192-700-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-660
http://hrd.dshs.wa.gov/Top_Toolbar/Guidlines_and_Best_Practices/Guidlines_Best_Practices.htm

