
Page 1 of 3 

 
PROPOSED RULE MAKING 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 
 

 

CR-102 (October 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.320) 

Do NOT use for expedited rule making 

Agency: Department of Social and Health Services, Children’s Administration  

☒ Original Notice 

☐ Supplemental Notice to WSR       

☐ Continuance of WSR       

☒ Preproposal Statement of Inquiry was filed as WSR 17-16-168 ; or 

☐ Expedited Rule Making--Proposed notice was filed as WSR      ; or 

☐ Proposal is exempt under RCW 34.05.310(4) or 34.05.330(1); or 

☐ Proposal is exempt under RCW      . 

Title of rule and other identifying information: (describe subject) The department is proposing to amend WAC 388-25-
0506 “Who is eligible for extended foster care?”, WAC 388-25-0528 “How does a youth agree to participate in the extended 
foster care program?”, and WAC 388-25-0534 “If an extended foster care participant loses his or her eligibility before he or 
she turns nineteen, can he or she reapply for extended foster care?”.   

Hearing location(s):   

Date: Time: Location: (be specific) Comment: 

November 21, 2017 10:00 a.m. Office Building 2  
DSHS Headquarters 
1115 Washington 
Olympia, WA  98504 

 

Public parking at 11th and Jefferson. A map is available at: 
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sesa/rules-and-policies-assistance-
unit/driving-directions-office-bldg-2 

 

Date of intended adoption: Not earlier than November 22, 2017 (Note:  This is NOT the effective date) 

Submit written comments to: 

Name: DSHS Rules Coordinator 

Address: PO Box 45850 
Olympia, WA 98504 

 
Email: DSHSRPAURulesCoordinator@dshs.wa.gov 

Fax: 360-664-6185 

Other:       

By (date) 5:00 pm November 21, 2017 

Assistance for persons with disabilities: 

Contact Jeff Kildahl, DSHS Rules Consultant 

Phone: 360-664-6092 

Fax: 360-664-6185 

TTY: 711 Relay Service 

Email: Kildaja@dshs.wa.gov 

Other:       

By (date) November 7, 2017 

Purpose of the proposal and its anticipated effects, including any changes in existing rules: The department is 
proposing to amend these rules because the Washington state legislature modified RCW 74.13.031 to raise the age limit for 
youth to re-enroll into the Extended Foster Care (EFC) program.  The age limit has been raised from 19 years old to 21 years 
old. 
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Reasons supporting proposal: To align with recent changes in legislation. 

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 13.34.145, RCW 13.34.267, RCW 74.13.020, RCW 74.13.031, RCW 43.88C.010, 
RCW 74.13.107, RCW 43.131.416, RCW 13.34.030 

Statute being implemented: RCW 13.34.145 

Is rule necessary because of a: 

Federal Law? ☐  Yes ☒  No 

Federal Court Decision? ☐  Yes ☒  No 

State Court Decision? ☐  Yes ☒  No 

If yes, CITATION:       

Agency comments or recommendations, if any, as to statutory language, implementation, enforcement, and fiscal 
matters:       

Name of proponent: (person or organization) Department of Social and Health Services  ☐ Private 

☐ Public 

☒ Governmental 

Name of agency personnel responsible for: 

Name Office Location Phone 

Drafting:    Sherrie Flores PO Box 45710, Olympia, WA 98504 360-902-8332 

Implementation:  Sherrie Flores PO Box 45710, Olympia, WA 98504 360-902-8332 

Enforcement:  Sherrie Flores PO Box 45710, Olympia, WA 98504 360-902-8332 

Is a school district fiscal impact statement required under RCW 28A.305.135? ☐  Yes ☒  No 

If yes, insert statement here: 
      

The public may obtain a copy of the school district fiscal impact statement by contacting: 

Name:       

Address:       

Phone:       

Fax:       

TTY:       

Email:       

Other:       

Is a cost-benefit analysis required under RCW 34.05.328? 

☐  Yes: A preliminary cost-benefit analysis may be obtained by contacting: 

Name:       

Address:       

Phone:       

Fax:       

TTY:       

Email:       

Other:       

☒  No:  Please explain: CBA is not required under RCW 34.05.328 (5)(b)(iii),  Rules adopted by reference without 

material change to ensure the WACs are consistent with federal requirements. The rule content is dictated by statute. 
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Regulatory Fairness Act Cost Considerations for a Small Business Economic Impact Statement: 

This rule proposal, or portions of the proposal, may be exempt from requirements of the Regulatory Fairness Act (see 
chapter 19.85 RCW). Please check the box for any applicable exemption(s): 

☐  This rule proposal, or portions of the proposal, is exempt under RCW 19.85.061 because this rule making is being 

adopted solely to conform and/or comply with federal statute or regulations. Please cite the specific federal statute or 
regulation this rule is being adopted to conform or comply with, and describe the consequences to the state if the rule is not 
adopted. 
Citation and description:       

☐  This rule proposal, or portions of the proposal, is exempt because the agency has completed the pilot rule process 

defined by RCW 34.05.313 before filing the notice of this proposed rule. 

☐  This rule proposal, or portions of the proposal, is exempt under the provisions of RCW 15.65.570(2) because it was 

adopted by a referendum. 

☒  This rule proposal, or portions of the proposal, is exempt under RCW 19.85.025(3). Check all that apply: 

☐ RCW 34.05.310 (4)(b) ☒ RCW 34.05.310 (4)(e) 

 (Internal government operations)  (Dictated by statute) 

☐ RCW 34.05.310 (4)(c) ☐ RCW 34.05.310 (4)(f) 

 (Incorporation by reference)  (Set or adjust fees) 

☐ RCW 34.05.310 (4)(d) ☐ RCW 34.05.310 (4)(g) 

 (Correct or clarify language)  ((i) Relating to agency hearings; or (ii) process 

   requirements for applying to an agency for a license 
or permit) 

☐  This rule proposal, or portions of the proposal, is exempt under RCW      . 

Explanation of exemptions, if necessary:       

COMPLETE THIS SECTION ONLY IF NO EXEMPTION APPLIES 

If the proposed rule is not exempt, does it impose more-than-minor costs (as defined by RCW 19.85.020(2)) on businesses? 

 

☐  No  Briefly summarize the agency’s analysis showing how costs were calculated.       

☐  Yes Calculations show the rule proposal likely imposes more-than-minor cost to businesses, and a small business 

economic impact statement is required. Insert statement here: 
      

 

The public may obtain a copy of the small business economic impact statement or the detailed cost calculations by 
contacting: 

Name:       

Address:       

Phone:       

Fax:       

TTY:       

Email:       

Other:       

 
Date: October 12, 2017 

 

Name: Katherine I. Vasquez  
 

Title: DSHS Rules Coordinator 

Signature: 

 

 



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 16-14-065, filed 6/30/16, effective 
7/31/16)

WAC 388-25-0506  Who is eligible for extended foster care?  (1) 
To be eligible for the extended foster care program, a youth, on his 
or her eighteenth birthday must be dependent under chapter 13.34 RCW, 
placed in foster care as defined in WAC 388-25-0508 by CA, and:

(a) Enrolled in school as described in WAC 388-25-0512 ((in a 
high school or high school equivalency program));

(b) ((Enrolled as described in WAC 388-25-0512 in a post-secon­
dary academic or vocational education program;

(c))) Have applied for ((and)), or can demonstrate intent to 
timely enroll in a post-secondary academic or vocational education 
program ((())as described in WAC 388-25-0514(())); ((or

(d))) (c) Participating in a program or activity designed to pro­
mote employment or remove barriers to employment as described in WAC 
388-25-0515;

(((e))) (d) Engaged in employment for eighty hours or more per 
month; ((or

(f))) (e) Unable to engage in subsection (1)(a) through (((e))) 
(d) of this section due a documented medical condition((.)) as descri­
bed in WAC 388-25-0519; or

(((2) Have)) (f) Did not enroll in the extended foster care pro­
gram and; 

(i) Had their dependency dismissed on their eighteenth birthday 
((as the youth did not meet any of the criteria found in subsections 
(1)(a) through (f) of this section, or did not agree to participate in 
the program and the youth));

(ii) Is requesting to ((participate)) enroll in the extended fos­
ter care program through a voluntary placement agreement (VPA) prior 
to reaching the age of nineteen((.)); and

(iii) Meets one of the criteria found in subsections (1)(a) 
through (e) of this section.

(2) If the youth was in the extended foster care program but then 
unenrolled or lost their eligibility, the youth may reenroll in the 
extended foster care program through a VPA one time before the age of 
twenty-one. The youth must meet one of the criteria in subsections 
(1)(a) through (((f))) (e) when requesting to ((participate)) reenroll 
in the extended foster care program.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 16-06-044, filed 2/24/16, effective 
3/26/16)

WAC 388-25-0528  How does a youth agree to participate in the ex­
tended foster care program?  (1) An eligible dependent youth can agree 
to participate by:

(a) Signing an extended foster care agreement; or
(b) For developmentally disabled youth, remaining in the foster 

care placement and continuing in an appropriate educational program.
(2) An eligible nondependent youth who did not elect to partici­

pate in the program on their eighteenth birthday can agree to partici­
pate by:
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(a) Signing a voluntary placement agreement (VPA) before reaching 
age nineteen; or

(b) Establishing a nonminor dependency before reaching age nine­
teen if the department denied entry into the program.

(3) An eligible nondependent youth requesting to reenter the pro­
gram may agree to participate by signing a VPA prior to reaching age 
twenty-one as long as the youth has not previously entered into a VPA 
for extended foster care services.

(4) In order to continue receiving extended foster care services 
after entering into a ((voluntary placement agreement)) VPA with the 
department, the youth must agree to the entry of an order of dependen­
cy within one hundred eighty days of the date that the youth is placed 
in foster care pursuant to a ((voluntary placement agreement)) VPA.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 14-13-051, filed 6/12/14, effective 
7/13/14)

WAC 388-25-0534  If an extended foster care participant loses his 
or her eligibility before he or she turns ((nineteen)) twenty-one, 
((can)) may he or she reapply for extended foster care?  (1) Yes. If a 
youth was ((receiving)) receiving extended foster care ((services)) 
services and lost eligibility, he or she may reapply as long as the 
youth:

(((1) The youth)) (a) Has not turned ((nineteen)) twenty-one; 
((and

(2) The youth)) (b) Meets one of the conditions for eligibility 
in WAC ((388-25-0506)) 388-25-0506(1)(a) through (e); and

(((3) The youth)) (c) Has not entered into a prior voluntary 
placement agreement with the department for the purposes of partici­
pating in the extended foster care program.

(2) Youth may reenter the extended foster care program one time 
between the ages of eighteen to twenty-one.
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