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RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

 

 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 
 

 

CR-103P (August 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Department of Social and Health Services, Developmental Disabilities Administration   

Effective date of rule: 
Permanent Rules 

☒     31 days after filing. 

☐     Other (specify)       (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should 

be stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 

☐ Yes     ☒ No     If Yes, explain:       

Purpose: The department is amending WAC 388-823-0025 and WAC 388-823-0050 in order to simplify the application 
process for potential clients including children receiving foster care and dependents of military service members, align 
requirements with the Health Care Authority’s rules under Title 182 WAC, amend who can request a DDA eligibility 
determination, and clarify who is considered a Washington state resident.   

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New:    None 
Repealed: None 
Amended: WAC 388-823-0025, WAC 388-823-0050   
Suspended: None 

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 71A.12.030   

Other authority: RCW 74.04.815   

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 18-12-110  on June 6, 2018  (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: None.  

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name: Chantelle Diaz   

Address: P.O. Box 45310, Olympia, WA 98504-5310   

Phone: 360-407-1589   

Fax: 360-407-0955   

TTY:       

Email: Chantelle.Diaz@dshs.wa.gov   

Web site:       

Other:       
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Note:   If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category. 

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

Federal statute:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Federal rules or standards:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Recently enacted state statutes:  New      Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted in the agency’s own initiative: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 

New        Amended 2 Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted using: 

Negotiated rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Pilot rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Other alternative rule making:  New      Amended 2 Repealed       

 

Date adopted: August 3, 2018   Signature: 

        

Name: Cheryl Strange    

Title: DSHS Secretary    

 



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 14-12-046, filed 5/29/14, effective 
7/1/14)

WAC 388-823-0025  Who ((can)) may apply for a DDA eligibility de­
termination?  (1) You ((must be a resident of the state of Washington, 
as described in WAC 388-823-0050, to)) may apply for ((an)) a DDA eli­
gibility determination on your own behalf.

(2) ((The following individuals can apply)) A person may submit 
an application for a DDA eligibility determination on your behalf if 
the person is:

(a) ((If a court has not appointed the child as his own decision 
maker, a parent or legal representative must apply on behalf of a 
child under the age of eighteen years)) Delegated to consent to rou­
tine medical care for you under WAC 388-148-1560;

(b) ((If there is a legal guardian of an applicant age eighteen 
years or older, the legal guardian must apply on behalf of the adult 
applicant; or

(c) If there is no legal guardian of an adult applicant age 
eighteen years or older, the adult applicant can apply on his/her own 
behalf)) Your parent if you are under eighteen;

(c) Your caretaker relative under WAC 182-500-0020;
(d) Your spouse;
(e) Your authorized representative under WAC 182-503-0130; or
(f) Applying for you because a medical condition prevents you 

from applying on your own behalf.
(3) ((A request for eligibility determination requires the signa­

ture of the applicant or their legal representative. With the consent 
of the applicant, any person, agency, or advocate may assist with the 
application process)) If you or your legal representative request it, 
DDA will withdraw your eligibility application or terminate your eli­
gibility.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 14-12-046, filed 5/29/14, effective 
7/1/14)

WAC 388-823-0050  ((For DDA eligibility, who is considered to be 
a resident of the state of)) Do I have to be considered a  Washington 
state resident to be eligible for DDA?  (1) You must ((live in the 
state of)) be considered a Washington state resident to ((apply or 
continue to be a client of)) be eligible for DDA. If ((you are a child 
under the age of eighteen, your primary custodian or legal guardian 
must also live in the state of)) DDA does not consider you a Washing­
ton state resident, you are not eligible for DDA and DDA will deny or 
terminate your eligibility. ((Proof that you live in the state of 
Washington may include documentation such as a lease agreement, school 
records, or mail addressed to you. Such documentation will not be con­
sidered proof of residency if you have been denied medicaid or other 
benefits due to failure to meet residency requirements under WAC 
388-468-0005.))

(2) ((DDA will not process your request for determination of eli­
gibility or will terminate your eligibility if you do not live in the 
state of)) You are considered a Washington state resident if you:
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(a) Meet residency requirements under WAC 182-503-0520 or 
182-503-0525; or

(b) Are a dependent of a military service member and legal resi­
dent under RCW 74.04.815.

(3) If DDA learns that you are not a Washington state resident, 
DDA must terminate your eligibility.

(4) You must inform your DDA case resource manager when your ad­
dress changes.

(5) If DDA receives returned mail from you with no forwarding ad­
dress, DDA will try to verify you are a Washington state resident by 
trying to contact you or anyone identified by you to receive notices.

(6) If DDA cannot contact you or verify you are a Washington 
state resident, DDA must terminate your eligibility.

(7) If your eligibility was terminated because DDA could not con­
tact you, DDA will restore your eligibility if you:

(a) Verify your continuous Washington state residency;
(b) Request your eligibility be restored; and
(c) Were determined eligible on or after June 1, 2005.

[ 2 ] SHS-4673.5


	WSR 18-17-028
	SHS-4673.5Final

