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RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

 

 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 
 

 

CR-103P (December 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Department of Social and Health Services, Economic Services Administration  

Effective date of rule: 
Permanent Rules 

☒     31 days after filing. 

☐     Other (specify)       (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should 

be stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 

☐ Yes     ☒ No     If Yes, explain:       

Purpose: The department is amending by permanent adoption WAC 388-444-0030, “Are able-bodied adults without 
dependents (ABAWD) subject to additional work requirements and time limits to be eligible for basic food?”. This amendment 
reflects the annual update to Washington’s Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) state plan concerning 
ABAWD time-limits, work requirements, and current United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Food and Nutrition 
Services (FNS) approved waivers for certain geographic areas of Washington state.  

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New:    None 
Repealed: None 
Amended: WAC 388-444-0030  
Suspended: None 

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 74.04.050, RCW 74.04.055, RCW 74.04.057, RCW 74.04.500, RCW 74.04.510, 
RCW 74.08.090, RCW 74.08A.120 

Other authority: Title 7  C.F.R. Part 273.24  

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 19-10-045 on April 29, 2019 (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: None 

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name:      

Address:       

Phone:       

Fax:       

TTY:       

Email:       

Web site:       

Other:       
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Note:   If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category. 

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

Federal statute:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Federal rules or standards:  New      Amended 1 Repealed       

Recently enacted state statutes:  New      Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted on the agency’s own initiative: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted using: 

Negotiated rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Pilot rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Other alternative rule making:  New      Amended 1 Repealed       

 

Date Adopted: August 20, 2019  
 

Name: Katherine I. Vasquez  
 

Title: DSHS Rules Coordinator  

Signature: 

 
 



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 18-02-037, filed 12/22/17, effective 
1/22/18)

WAC 388-444-0030  Are able-bodied adults without dependents 
(ABAWD) subject to additional work requirements and time limits to be 
eligible for basic food?  (1) An able-bodied adult without dependents 
(ABAWD) is a person who:

(a) Is age eighteen through forty-nine;
(b) Is fit for work and not exempted under WAC 388-444-0035; and
(c) Does not receive food assistance in an assistance unit (AU) 

that includes a minor child (we will consider the AU to include a mi-
nor child even if the minor child is not eligible to receive food as-
sistance).

(2) If you are an ABAWD, you must participate in work activities 
under subsection (4) of this section.

(3) Nonexempt ABAWDs who live outside of King County or on the 
Muckleshoot Tribal Reservation may continue to receive food assistance 
until December 31, ((2018)) 2019 even if they fail to participate in 
work-related activities.

(4) A nonexempt ABAWD is not eligible to receive food assistance 
for more than three full months (which do not have to be consecutive 
months), not including any partial benefit months in a thirty-six 
month period, unless the ABAWD:

(a) Works an average of eighty hours per month, including:
(i) Work in exchange for money;
(ii) Work in exchange for goods or services ("in kind" work);
(iii) Unpaid work that is verified according to department re-

quirements; or
(iv) Any combination of (a)(i) through (iii) of this subsection;
(b) Participates in one of the following work programs and is 

meeting the requirements of that work program:
(i) The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014;
(ii) Section 236 of the Trade Act of 1974;
(iii) A state-approved employment and training program at least 

an average of eighty hours per month; or
(c) Participates in an unpaid work program as provided in WAC 

388-444-0040.
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