CODE REVISER USE ONLY

TATE OF HASHING

RULE-MAKING ORDER PERMANENT RULE ONLY

CR-103P (December 2017) (Implements RCW 34.05.360)

OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON FILED

DATE: August 13, 2021 TIME: 1:46 PM

WSR 21-17-093

Agency: Department of Social and Health Services, Economic Services Administration

Effective date of rule:

Permanent Rules

 \boxtimes 31 days after filing.

Other (specify) _____ (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be stated below)

Purpose: The department is amending WAC 388-482-0005, How does being a student of higher education affect my eligibility for Washington basic food program? to align rule language with federal regulations related to student eligibility for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) and implement changes to student eligibility for Basic Food as provided in the Consolidated Appropriation Act, 2021 (H.R. 133, Section 702) due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Citation of rules affected by this order:

New: None Repealed: None Amended: 388-482-0005

Suspended: None Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 43.20A.760, RCW 74.04.500, RCW 74.04.510, and RCW 74.08A.120

Other authority: 7 C.F.R. 273.5 and H.R. 133

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making)

Adopted under notice filed as WSR 21-11-046 on May 13, 2021 (date).

Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: The original proposed rule was filed as WSR 20-23-050 on November 11, 2020. A supplemental proposed rule was filed (as adopted above) and amended WAC 388-482-0005 to expand Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) eligibility for higher education students due to the indefinite conditions of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic as provided under Section 702 of the Consolidated Appropriation Act, 2021 (H.R. 133), signed into law on December 27, 2020.

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by contacting:

Name: N/A Address: Phone: Fax: TTY: Email: Web site:

Other:

Note: If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. No descriptive text.						
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. A section may be counted in more than one category.						
The number of sections adopted in order to comply	with:					
Federal statute:	New		Amended		Repealed	
Federal rules or standards:	New		Amended	<u>1</u>	Repealed	
Recently enacted state statutes:	New		Amended		Repealed	
The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity:						
	New		Amended		Repealed	
The number of sections adopted on the agency's own initiative:						
	New		Amended		Repealed	
The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures:						
	New		Amended		Repealed	
The number of sections adopted using:						
Negotiated rule making:	New		Amended		Repealed	
Pilot rule making:	New		Amended		Repealed	
Other alternative rule making:	New		Amended	<u>1</u>	Repealed	
Date Adopted: August 13, 2021	S	ignature:				
Name: Katherine I. Vasquez		N	ha a=	11/	. /	/
Title: DSHS Rules Coordinator		K	fathere	J. Vag	n	

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 20-05-047, filed 2/13/20, effective 3/15/20)

WAC 388-482-0005 How does being a student of higher education affect my eligibility for the Washington basic food program? (1) ((For basic food, we consider you a student of higher education)) If you are enrolled at least half-time in an institution of higher education, you are ineligible for basic food unless you qualify for an exemption in subsection (4) of this section.

(2) You are considered a student of higher education for basic food purposes if you are:

(a) ((Age eighteen through forty-nine;

(b) Physically and mentally able to work (we determine if you are unable to work);

(c)) Enrolled in an institution of higher education at least half-time as defined by the institution; and

((-(d))) <u>(b)</u> Enrolled in coursework considered to be higher education.

(((2))) <u>(3)</u> An institution of higher education is:

(a) Any educational institution that requires a high school diploma or high school equivalency certificate;

(b) A business, trade, or vocational school that requires a high school diploma or high school equivalency; or

(c) A two-year or four-year college or university that offers a degree but does not require a high school diploma or high school equivalency.

(((3))) (4) If you are a student of higher education, you must also meet <u>at least</u> one of the following ((conditions)) <u>exemptions</u> to be eligible for basic food:

(a) You are age seventeen or younger;

(b) You are age fifty or older;

(c) You are physically or mentally unable to work (we determine if you are unable to work);

(d) You have paid employment and work an average of at least twenty hours per week each month;

(((b))) <u>(e)</u> You are self-employed, work, and earn at least the amount you would earn working an average of twenty hours per week at the federal minimum wage each month; or

(((c))) <u>(f)</u> You were participating in a state or federal work study program during the regular school year.

(i) To qualify under this ((condition)) exemption, you must:

(A) Have approval for work study at the time of application for basic food;

(B) Have work study that is approved for the school term; and

(C) Anticipate actually working during that time.

(ii) The work study exemption begins:

(A) The month in which the school term starts; or

(B) The month work study is approved, whichever is later.

(iii) Once begun, the work study exemption shall continue until:

(A) The end of the month in which the school term ends; or

(B) We find out you refused a work study assignment.

(g) Starting January 16, 2021, you are determined eligible to participate in state or federal work study by your institution of higher education during the regular school year. Requirements under subsections (4)(f)(i)-(iii) of this section are suspended until the <u>COVID-19 federal public health emergency ends as described under sub-</u> section (5) of this section.

(((d))) <u>(h)</u> You are responsible for more than half the care of a dependent person in your assistance unit (AU) who is age five or younger;

(((e))) (i) You are responsible for more than half the care of a dependent person in your AU who is between age six and eleven, if we have determined that there is not adequate child care available during the school year to allow you to:

(i) Attend class and satisfy the twenty-hour work requirement; or (ii) Take part in a work study program.

(((f))) <u>(j)</u> You are a single parent responsible for the care of your natural, step, or adopted child who is eleven or younger;

 $((\frac{g}))$ <u>(k)</u> You are an adult who has the parental responsibility of a child who is age eleven or younger if none of the following people live in the home:

(i) The child's parents; or

(ii) Your spouse.

(((h))) <u>(l)</u> You participate in the WorkFirst program under WAC 388-310-0200;

(((i))) <u>(m)</u> You receive TANF or SFA benefits;

(((j))) <u>(n)</u> You attend an institution of higher education through:

(i) The Workforce Investment Act (WIA);

(ii) The basic food employment and training program under chapter 388-444 WAC;

(iii) An approved state or local employment and training program; or

(iv) Section 236 of the Trade Act of 1974.

(o) Starting January 16, 2021, you have an expected family contribution (EFC) of zero dollars in the current academic year as determined by part F of Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965.

(((4))) <u>(5) The conditions in subsection (4)(g) and (o) of this</u> section will continue as follows:

(a) For initial applications, until thirty days after the COV-ID-19 federal public health emergency ends.

(b) For recertifications, no earlier than your first recertification thirty days after COVID-19 federal public health emergency ends.

(6) If you are a student of higher education, your status as a student:

(a) Begins the first day of the school term; and

(b) Continues through vacations. This includes the summer break if you plan to return to school for the next term.

(((5))) (7) We do not consider you a student of higher education if you:

(a) Graduate;

(b) Are suspended or expelled;

(c) Drop out; or

(d) Do not intend to register for the next normal school term other than summer school.