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RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

 

 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 
 

      

CR-103P (December 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Department of Social and Health Services, Economic Services Administration 

Effective date of rule: 
Permanent Rules 

☒     31 days after filing. 

☐     Other (specify)       (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should 

be stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 

☐ Yes     ☒ No     If Yes, explain:       

Purpose: The department is adopting amendments to WAC 388-482 0005, “How does being a student of higher education 
affect my eligibility for the Washington basic food program?” These amendments are necessary to align WAC with federal 
rules regarding student eligibility and remove language regarding the temporary expansion of student eligibility for food 
assistance during the Public Health Emergency which ended May 11, 2023. 

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New:    None 
Repealed: None 
Amended: WAC 388-482-0005 
Suspended: None 

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 43.20A.760, 74.04.500, 74.04.510, 74.08A.120 

Other authority: 7 CFR 273.5(b)  

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 25-16-109 on August 6, 2025 (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: None 

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name:       

Address:       

Phone:       

Fax:       

TTY:       

Email:       

Web site:       

Other:       
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Note:   If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category. 

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

Federal statute:  New      Amended 1 Repealed       

Federal rules or standards:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Recently enacted state statutes:  New      Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted on the agency’s own initiative: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted using: 

Negotiated rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Pilot rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Other alternative rule making:  New      Amended 1 Repealed       

 

Date Adopted: September 19, 2025 

 

Name: Katherine I. Vasquez 
 

Title: DSHS Rules Coordinator 

Signature:  

 



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 21-17-093, filed 8/13/21, effective 
9/13/21)

WAC 388-482-0005  How does being a student of higher education 
affect my eligibility for the Washington basic food program?  (1) If 
you are enrolled at least half-time in an institution of higher educa-
tion, you are ineligible for basic food unless you qualify for an ex-
emption in subsection (4) of this section.

(2) You are considered a student of higher education for basic 
food purposes if you are:

(a) Enrolled in an institution of higher education at least half-
time as defined by the institution; and

(b) Enrolled in coursework considered to be higher education.
(3) An institution of higher education is:
(a) Any educational institution that requires a high school di-

ploma or high school equivalency certificate;
(b) A business, trade, or vocational school that requires a high 

school diploma or high school equivalency; or
(c) A two-year or four-year college or university that offers a 

degree but does not require a high school diploma or high school 
equivalency.

(4) If you are a student of higher education, you must also meet 
at least one of the following exemptions to be eligible for basic 
food:

(a) You are age ((seventeen)) 17 or younger;
(b) You are age ((fifty)) 50 or older;
(c) You are physically or mentally ((unable)) unfit to work while 

attending school (we determine if you are unable to work);
(d) You have paid employment and work an average of at least 

((twenty)) 20 hours per week each month;
(e) You are self-employed, work, and earn at least the amount you 

would earn working an average of ((twenty)) 20 hours per week at the 
federal minimum wage each month; or

(f) You ((were)) are participating in a state or federal work 
study program during the regular school year.

(i) To qualify under this exemption, you must:
(A) Have approval for work study at the time of application for 

basic food;
(B) Have work study that is approved for the school term; and
(C) Anticipate actually working during that time.
(ii) The work study exemption begins:
(A) The month in which the school term starts; or
(B) The month work study is approved, whichever is later.
(iii) Once begun, the work study exemption shall continue until:
(A) The end of the month in which the school term ends; or
(B) We find out you refused a work study assignment.
(((g) Starting January 16, 2021, you are determined eligible to 

participate in state or federal work study by your institution of 
higher education during the regular school year. Requirements under 
subsections (4)(f)(i)-(iii) of this section are suspended until the 
COVID-19 federal public health emergency ends as described under sub-
section (5) of this section.

(h))) (g) You are responsible for ((more than half)) the care of 
a dependent person in your assistance unit (AU) who is age five or 
younger;
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(((i))) (h) You are responsible for ((more than half)) the care 
of a dependent person in your AU who is between age six and ((eleven)) 
11, if we have determined that there ((is not)) isn't adequate child 
care available during the school year to allow you to:

(i) Attend class and satisfy the ((twenty)) 20-hour work require-
ment; or

(ii) Take part in a work study program.
(((j)))(i) You are a single parent who is a full time student 

that is responsible for the care of your natural, step, or adopted 
child who is ((eleven)) 11 or younger;

(((k))) (j) You are an adult who has the parental responsibility 
of a child who is age ((eleven)) 11 or younger if none of the follow-
ing people live in the home:

(i) The child's parents; or
(ii) Your spouse.
(((l))) (k) You participate in the WorkFirst program under WAC 

388-310-0200;
(((m))) (l) You receive TANF or SFA benefits;
(((n))) (m) You attend an institution of higher education 

through:
(i) The Workforce Investment Act (WIA);
(ii) The basic food employment and training program under chapter 

388-444 WAC;
(iii) An approved state or local employment and training program; 

or
(iv) Section 236 of the Trade Act of 1974.
(((o) Starting January 16, 2021, you have an expected family con-

tribution (EFC) of zero dollars in the current academic year as deter-
mined by part F of Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965.

(5) The conditions in subsection (4)(g) and (o) of this section 
will continue as follows:

(a) For initial applications, until thirty days after the COV-
ID-19 federal public health emergency ends.

(b) For recertifications, no earlier than your first recertifica-
tion thirty days after COVID-19 federal public health emergency ends.

(6))) (5) If you are a student of higher education, your status 
as a student:

(a) Begins the first day of the school term; and
(b) Continues through vacations. This includes the summer break 

if you plan to return to school for the next term.
(((7))) (6) We do not consider you a student of higher education 

if you:
(a) Graduate;
(b) Are suspended or expelled;
(c) Drop out; or
(d) Do not intend to register for the next normal school term 

other than summer school.
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