What are the requirements to become certified?

Certification has three steps:

1.  Apply and be accepted as a possible training applicant;

2.  Successfully complete a 40-hour approved training; and

3.  Pass the state exam.

Upon passing the test, you will receive a letter confirming you have met these requirements. 

Many employers also require that you become licensed by the Department of Health as an Agency Affiliated Counselor after being hired. Your employer or the Department of Health can provide information about this process. This license is only required for those who provide Medicaid-billable services.