Home and Community Based Waivers (HCBS)

The Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA) offers five Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Waivers:

  • Basic Plus
  • Children's Intensive In-home Behavioral Supports (CIIBS)
  • Community Protection         
  • Core
  • Individual and Family Services (IFS). 

Each of the five waivers provides an array of services tailored to the specific populations they serve. Waiver services provide additional support when Medicaid state plan services and other supports are not sufficient.  For more information about the waiver program, go to the Services and Information Request form, contact your Case Resource Manager, Social Worker, or regional DDA office.

For detailed information about all DDA services, please visit the Informing Families Website. 

Current Approved Waivers

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services have approved DDA’s five HCBS Waiver Appendix K applications.  Appendix K provide the state flexibility in existing waiver programs.

Waiver Amendments

Draft Waiver Renewals and Amendment

Draft waiver amendment for the Individual and Family Services (IFS), and draft waiver renewals for Basic Plus, Core, Community Protection and Children’s Intensive In-Home Behavioral Support (CIIBS) Waivers are available for public comment January 19, 2022, through February 19, 2022 :

Proposed Changes to the Individual and Family Services, Basic Plus, Core, Community Protection and Children’s Intensive In-Home Behavioral Support waivers effective September 1, 2022:

  • Add Assistive Technology to the Basic Plus, Core, and Community Protection waivers (IFS and CIIBS waivers already include this service);
  • Add damage repairs under Environmental Adaptations to the Core and Community Protection waivers (IFS and CIIBS waivers already provide this service);
  • Add Peer Mentoring and Person-Centered Plan Facilitation to the CIIBS waiver;
  • Increase Specialized Habilitation budget to $6,192 on the Basic Plus waiver (an increase from the $4,000 current limit);
  • Remove the $6,192 Specialized Habilitation budget limit on the Core waiver;
  • Add a performance measure concerning the delivery of information to participants and their families on how to identify and report instances of abuse, neglect, exploitation and unexplained death to all waivers;
  • Increase the number of clients served on all waivers to match legislative-approved capacity increases;
  • Add access to Individualized Technical Assistance for participants receiving Community Inclusion services and increase access to six months for participants on Individual Supported Employment/Group Supported Employment and Community Inclusion;
  • Rename Community Protection to be Adult Community Specialized Services and revise waiver definition language to emphasize the waiver’s role in providing habilitative supports that promote safe inclusion into the community and align waiver supports with state plan benefits available to eligible clients;
  • Remove requirement for obtaining a prior approval for Specialized Equipment and Supplies and Assistive Technology and some vehicle modifications for items under $550;
  • Remove Positive Behavior Support and Consultation from all waivers (community protection PBS&C will phase out over 1 year)  except Adult Community Specialized Services as required by previous agreement with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (behavior support services are available as a state plan service);
  • Replace Positive Behavior Support & Consultation with Specialized Evaluation and Consultation on the Community Protection Waiver.
  • Remove polygraph and plethysmograph providers from the Community Protection waiver.

The proposed changes for the renewals and the amendment will have no negative impacts on participants on the Basic Plus, Core, Community Protection, Children’s Intensive In-Home Behavioral Support and Individual and Family Services waivers.

To view a draft waiver application, click on the bolded name of the waiver amendment above.

Send your comments to DDAWaiverRenewals@dshs.wa.gov during the comment period