Advisory Committee

The volunteer Advisory Committee provides input to DSHS LTC on its duties per Chapter 388-03 WAC, Rules and Regulations for the Certification of DSHS Spoken Language Interpreters and Translators.

Advisory Committee Members:

  1. Cynthia E. Roat, MPH, National Consultant on Language Access in Health Care, representing the general public. cindy.roat@alumni.williams.edu

  2. Katherine Templet, Interpreter Services Program Manager, representing the Health Care Authority. katherine.templet@hca.wa.gov

  3. Antoinette Sanfilippo, Contract Specialist, representing the Department of Enterprise Services. Antoinette.sanfilippo@des.wa.gov

  4. Karen Jost, Health Services Analysis Program Manager, representing the Department of Labor and Industries. karen.jost@lni.wa.gov

  5. Stacy Winokur, representing the Department of Children, Youth, and Families. stacy.winokur@dcyf.wa.gov

  6. Huan Nguyen, Economic Services Administration, LEP Program Manager, representing the Department of Social and Health Services. nguyehc@dshs.wa.gov

  7. Leroy Mould, Freelance Interpreter, representing interpreters and WFSE/AFSCME. lmouldinterp@comcast.net

  8. Larysa House, Freelance Interpreter, representing interpreters and WFSE/AFSCME. lyalya555@hotmail.com

  9. Milena Calderari-Waldron, Interpreter, representing interpreters and WFSE/AFSCME. milenacw@live.com

  10. Yvonne Simpson, Medical Interpreter Supervisor, Harborview Medical Center - Interpreter Services. simpsony@uw.edu

  11. Rod Palmquist, representing WFSE/AFSCME. RodP@wfse.org

  12. Ubah Warsame, Somali Health Board, representing refugee advocacy organizations. ubahW1@gmail.com

  13. Yukie, representing refugee/immigrant advocacy organization.

  14. Ruiqin Miao, Program Manager, representing the Language Testing and Certification program. ruiqin.miao@dshs.wa.gov

  15. Kathleen Prieto, Administrative Assistant, representing the Language Testing and Certification program. kathleen.prieto@dshs.wa.gov

Subcommittees:

  • Decertification Request Review Committee (DRRC)

    • Karen Jost, Katherine Templet, Larysa House, Leroy Mould, Rod Palmquist, Huan Nguyen, Ubah Warsame, Ruiqin Miao

  • Professional Development Committee (PDC)

    • Cynthia Roat, Milena Calderari-Waldron, Larysa House, Jodi McBride

  • Languages of Lesser Diffusion Committee (LLDC)

    • Yvonne Simpson, Ubah Warsame, Katherine Templet

Advisory Committee Charter

Meeting Minutes