Credential Renewal Requirements

Renewal Requirements apply to ALL DSHS credentials (per Washington Administrative Code Section 388-03-160). All DSHS certifications and authorizations expire after four years unless the interpreter / translator submits ALL of the following through LTC Gateway:  

  • 16 general credits - Earned any time in the four-year cycle; 
  • 4  ethics credits - Earned one credit anniversary year of your credential. You must submit your annual ethics credit in LTC Gateway based on anniversary cycle of your credential. You must complete each credit in time. If you miss a credit, you won't be able to make it up. You will be able to access the annual ethics training and quiz directly on your Gateway profile, and the date you take the quiz will be added to your record once completed. Adjustments may be needed to fit your previous earned ethics credits into the new cycle. Contact LTC at and staff will assist with this effort.
  • Signed Code of Conduct - Complete this on your LTC Gateway profile, "Renewals" tab;
  • Background Check Attestation - Complete this on your LTC Gateway profile, "Renewals" tab.
  • Notes:
    • After renewal the 4 year cycle will repeat. No extra earned credits are carried over to the next cycle. All renewal requirements apply to all certification types.
    • Renewal requirements are due on the last day of your four-year cycle. It is your responsibility to complete and submit all CE credits and other requirements listed above by the last day of your credential.
    • Certifications/Authorizations earned prior to 04/06/2015 expired on 4/6/19. 

All renewal requirements must be submitted through the LTC Gateway tracking system. 

  • To look for DSHS approved CE activities, please go to the CE Activity Search page of LTC Gateway. 
  • Changes since July 1, 2020:
    • Providers of in-person activities will issue you a certificate of completion.
    • You will receive credits for any given activity only once within the four-year cycle of your certification. 
    • New Interpreter Orientations (both Medical and Social Services) will no longer be eligible for 1 general credit; all general credits have to be earned by taking CE courses approved by DSHS.

CE Activity Providers

For information on how to apply for approval of providing CE activities to DSHS certified/authorized interpreters and translators, please visit the CE Activity Providers page.

Contact LTC: