New Hire Reporting

Program Information

Federal and state laws require you to report all newly hired and rehired employees to the Division of Child Support (DCS) within 20 days of hire or rehire, regardless of their age or the numbers of hours worked. A newly hired employee is one who has not worked for you before, one who has returned to work for you after a separation of at least 60 consecutive days, or one who has started working for you  under a new Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). 

DCS recognizes Indian tribal sovereignty. Indian tribes, tribally owned businesses, and Indian owned businesses located on reservations are exempt from new hire reporting requirements. However, voluntarily reporting of new or re-hired employees is appreciated.

If reporting for the first time, only report employees hired since your last quarterly report to Employment Security Department as DCSOnline only accepts reports with a date of hire no more than one year in the past and 90 days in the future. You can find information on how to set up and use a DCSOnline account on our Employer Educational Materials page.

For more information check out the Introduction to New Hire Reporting, watch our video in English orSpanish or browse our  Frequently Asked Questions.


What to Report

When reporting new hires, you will need the following information about your employees and company:

Employee Information:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Social Security Number (SSN)
  • Date of Birth
  • Date of Hire

Employer Information:

  • Business Name
  • Business Address
  • Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)

What if my employee does NOT have a social security number?

Your employee needs to apply for a social security card by downloading and submitting a complete Form SS-5.  Form SS-5 can also be obtained by calling 1-800-772-1213 or by visiting a local Social Security office. These services are free.  For additional information, see the federal Office Of Child Support Enforcement website, New Hire Reporting – Answers to Employer Questions, number 22.   Promptly report the employee as a new hire once they receive their social security card.

 

How to Report New Hires

Although we prefer you to report online, you may fax, mail or call in the information. If you chose to fax, you may send W-4 forms, computer print outs, other lists (except I-9 forms) or use our New Hire Reporting Form (DSHS form 18-463).

While you can call our toll free line anytime, we only have people available to take your report during regular business hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday – Friday.

Online:

Visit Secure Access Washington to report online.

Fax:

800-782-0624

Phone:

800-562-0479

Mail:

New Hire Program
PO Box 9023
Olympia, WA 98507-9023

Out of state employers moving existing employees into Washington State

  • If the employee is working under the same FEIN then you do NOT need to report them as a new hire
  • If the employee is working under a new FEIN, then you need to report them as a new hire

Multi-State Employers

US map

For employers doing business in two or more states you may register with the National New Hire Reporting Program and report all new and rehires to one state.

 

 


Contact Us

Call 1-800-562-0479 Employer Relations Team or email  dcs-ert@dshs.wa.gov with child support questions.