Aged, Blind, or Disabled (ABD) Health Care Coverage

What it is:

Health care coverage for aged, blind or disabled individuals.

Who is eligible:

Individuals who are age 65 and over, blind or disabled who meet income and resource requirements.

Income and Resource Requirements:

There are three types of health care coverage offered through the Aged, Blind and Disabled Medical Programs. They are:

  1. Categorically Needy Program (CN); and
  2. Medically Needy Program with no spenddown (MN); and
  3. Medically Needy with spenddown (MN with spenddown).

If you have income at or below the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) income standard, you may be eligible for CN coverage.

If you have income over the SSI income standard, you may be eligible for MN with spenddown.

The programs resource limits are $2,000 for an individual and $3,000 for couples.

Before we compare your income to these standards below we may allow income deductions.

Additional information about aged, blind and disabled programs is available at Health Care Authority website.